We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why are you in SB?”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel is great - clean, spacious, luxurious, great amenities, private, close enough to State St (the main street in Santa Barbara), very friendly staff, wifi, indoor parking, etc. Nothing negative can really be said about it.

But whether or not you choose to stay here i think really depends on why you're traveling.
If you want the luxury thing, to stay in your hotel room all day, to get a spa treatment, and be all romantic, then this place is for you!

If however you're in SB for any other reason, I'd say spend youre money elsewhere :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sev3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel. Spacious and very nice rooms, pretty courtyard and surroundings, great service. Would definitely stay there again. Note that the hotel does not have a restaurant or bar (but does serve wine and snacks).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daneintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Thank you for your kind words. Can't wait to welcome you back again. We are always looking to improve upon the services we offer and are planning to expand our bar offerings in early 2013.

Thank you again,

Brian Cogswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

pros: one of the few places in SB that include wifi, breakfast and parking in their pricing.
beautiful rooms, tasteful design, comfortable beds, fireplace, AC, clean room & bathroom, soaker tub, flat screen TV, complimentary movie of choice & popcorn! excellent location, quiet & close to shopping/state st, theater, courthouse, restaurants (pacific crepes, upscale seagrass). good impromptu rate ~$200/night

cons: whimpy breakfast and small pool/pool area

minus the two cons, this is exactly what we were looking for in santa barbara. can't wait to go back

Room Tip: upgrade if you can, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nella024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and especially for posting all of those excellent photographs. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are always working to improve our breakfast, this year for example we added a delicious homemade quiche to our offerings. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Our room was great, very spacious. The staff was super friendly, any time we walked in or out of the hotel. We stayed for two nights and never saw housekeeping--they were so stealth!

Molten Brown amenities were fantastic! The location was great, bed was great, courtyard was beautiful. The free underground parking was very convenient. I can't think of anything I'd want changed.

You can't go wrong with this inn if you want to stay in town. It fits right in with everything that is Santa Barbara! We'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Executive king with fireplace is roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4fun71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We pride ourselves on offering personal service with our Guest Service Hosts and Brian is one of our best. Please come back and see us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Gorgeous hotel , Very quiet and private, great location!
Excellent customer service. We mainly dealt with Brian who was so kind and accomodating. He went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was excellent.
I have stayed at numerous hotels througout the United States and Europe,and this was the best experience I have ever had. When we ran into a few issues but Brian was promp to attend to them never letting us down.

Location was walking distance to everything that you would want to do in Santa Barbara. (just a short walk to state street).

The breakfast was delicious and a perfect way to start your day.

We really enjoyed our stay at spanish garden and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooklyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We pride ourselves on offering personal service with our Guest Service Hosts and Brian is one of our best. Please come back and see us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

It is quite surprising to find such an oasis of peace and beauty in downtown SB. The place is just superb, the rooms are quite large, simply but very nicely decorated, the bathroom is very spacious, the beds are excellent . The courtyard is just plain lovely. The hotel is very quite and offers a good service, with free and easy parking just under the hotel. We couldn't have found a better place in SB.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel with large rooms and fantastic customer service. Very expensive but worth it for a treat. Nice pool and lovely Molton Brown toiletries. A five minute walk from the main street where there's a good choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
579 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
882 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
174 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £243 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing