We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I really enjoyed this "just off the beaten path" hotel. It was a fairly decent value, by Santa Barbara, standards. The included breakfast was really tasty and fresh, with some delicious options. The rooms were clean and well appointed and quiet. I would go back. It's a bit farther from the main attractions than the usual hotels, but more than made up for it in a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fozzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

fozzetti,

Wow, 217 reviews is a lot! Reading a positive review from such an experienced traveler really validates our efforts here at Spanish Garden Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

I suppose how far we are to the main attractions depends on your definition of main attractions. We are the closest hotel to the restaurants, bars and shopping as well as the museums and Santa Barbara Mission. We are about a 3 minute drive to the beachfront activities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, thank you again.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Apologies that it has taken a year since we stayed at this fabulous hotel to review it but better late than never! We stayed here for the weekend at the end of our tour of CA sept 12 & spent my birthday here, yes it was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our trip but so worth it! We had a beautiful room with balcony overlooking the pool, the room was very large & comfortable with lovely fire place and seating area & a lovely luxurious bathroom with shower & bathtub with molten brown products. The staff & service was excellent with reception staff going out of their way to ensure you we're enjoying your stay. Breakfast was first class you could eat outside in the courtyard in the sunshine. Santa Barbara is a beautiful place & the hotel is a few blocks easy walk from the Main Street, we were torn between seeing all SB has to offer & spending our time at this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Deborah,

Better late than never is absolutely right! Thank you for the fabulous review. I am so glad to hear that we helped to end your tour on a high note.

The dollar is only getting cheaper so should you decide to take advantage and make another foray stateside, please come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great location, great accomodations, but the staff make Spanish Garden Inn truly special. They made outstanding recommendations for food and activities, went out of their way to engage us in conversation, and everyone was cheerful and responsive. Brian is a treasure trove of information on Santa Barbara and its history. I lived in Santa Barbara and came back for a visit. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else for my next trip. Breakfast was better than I thought it would be given the continental set up. Fresh and several things made to order.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be arranged for privacy and quiet. No. 8 is across from house keeping and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

CDog007,

I am glad to hear that we were able to help you capitalize on all that Santa Barbara has to offer. The town has great restaurants and activities and we are always excited to share those details with our guests.

Thank you for your review. I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a gem!! The room is beautiful; the fireplace is romantic. Great balcony and amazing coffee and tea in your room. The staff are exceptionally friendly. A little hard to find but once you do you will be extremely happy. Only bummer for us (because I fell and hurt my knee pretty badly) we had a lot of stairs to climb, But to be honest it was totally worth it :)
They serve a continental breakfast but it is a continental breakfast plus!!!!

Room Tip: Request bottom floor if you are unable to climb stairs. Look for flags in locating the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Zina,

Happy 30th to you and thank you for celebrating with us. Sorry about the knee injury, had we known in advance perhaps we could have found you a ground floor room. Your review is appreciated and I will let the staff know how friendly you found them to be.

Hope to see you again next year for your 31st!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our room was immaculate and the overall service great. Due to a last minute travel change we had to make two reservations which resulted in two different rooms. After our first night we knew we would have to change rooms. When we went to the front desk in the morning we were pleasantly surprised to find out they had arranged to clean our new room first and it was ready for us to move in.
A great breakfast is included and the bacon quiche was outstanding.

Room Tip: Our room #10 wa very nice with a king bed, deep tub with separate shower and a nice balcony overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Jim,

Happy Birthday once again, so glad that we could help make your weekend a special one. We do our best to make room moves as smooth and simple as possible and yours was probably our finest effort.

Also, our breakfast quiche is truly homemade and I will let the chef know your compliments.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your next birthday if not sooner.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was a delightful find, which we discovered on Tripadvisor from other reviews. It's pricey, but worth it for a special occasion. The service was very friendly, yet professional. We had a room with a private patio, a sitting room, a large bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. The inner courtyard is a perfect place to enjoy the hearty breakfast that is included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio that doesn't abut the pool, in case there are late-night swimmers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Congratulations on being our 600th review here on TripAdvisor! We are very lucky to have such an active online community among our guests. We are definitely not the lowest priced hotel in town but when you factor in our complimentary breakfast, parking, wifi and other goodies we feel that we offer one of the best deals in Santa Barbara.

Thank you for the kind review. It was a pleasure having you in our Inn.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn for four nights and loved our visit. The hotel is a hidden jewel that worked out perfectly for us. The service was outstanding.The staff was so friendly and willing to help and always smiling.

Off the lobby is a breakfast room that, in addition to the very nice free breakfast, also had urns of tea, flavored water and lemonade every day-very refreshing after being out all day, especially to have with a yummy cookie always at the reception desk. The large patio with a fountain and the pool area were beautifully landscaped and very lush. We ate our breakfast on the patio everyday and what a relaxing way to start the day!

Our room was spacious with mexican tile floors and a sitting area in front of a fireplace. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable. We were in room 3 and had a balcony over the patio. We loved our location because we were so convenient to the garage(free parking!!), lobby and hitting the street, but I don't think there would be a bad location!! The bathroom was nice with a large soaking tub and separate shower. The towels were fabulous-huge, soft bathsheets. We loved the Molten Brown products and also that they were in normal sized bottles that the hotel just refilled everyday if needed. What an ecological thing to do. Everything was spotless everyday. The only objection we had to the room set up was that there was not an outer door on the bathroom. Less a privacy issue than one of disturbing the other person.

The location has a very residential feel to it. It is located three blocks off State Street and probably a mile from the beach, but we walked everywhere. Even at night walking home after dinner we felt very safe. There is a trolly bus on State Street that goes to the beach, but we enjoyed the walk.I think we took one taxi the entire time we were there.

This is a small hotel which is what we wanted. It is not "surfacely opulent", but very warm, friendly and charming. We loved having free parking in a self park garage and the complimentary breakfast was very substantial-toast, bagels, fruit, yogurt, cereal, scones, quiche, hard boiled eggs, juices, teas and coffee. Also, Wifi was included which is very appreciated. They had wine available late every afternoon, but no bar.

We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missdbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

missdbn,

Thank you for that detailed and glowing review. So pleased to hear that your stay was such a relaxing and happy one. Your descriptions of the amenities and services of the property will, I think, be of great help to anyone researching our property for the first time.

I hope that you are able to stay with us again the next time you are visiting Southern California.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
584 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £281 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing