We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveller rating
1,189
190
33
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,189
190
33
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiche underground parking state street molton brown products french press three blocks junior suite few blocks separate shower lovely courtyard cookies soaking tub gas fireplace private patio boutique hotel small hotel spanish style
Filter
Updating list...
804 - 809 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Apologies that it has taken a year since we stayed at this fabulous hotel to review it but better late than never! We stayed here for the weekend at the end of our tour of CA sept 12 & spent my birthday here, yes it was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our trip but so worth it! We had a beautiful room with balcony overlooking the pool, the room was very large & comfortable with lovely fire place and seating area & a lovely luxurious bathroom with shower & bathtub with molten brown products. The staff & service was excellent with reception staff going out of their way to ensure you we're enjoying your stay. Breakfast was first class you could eat outside in the courtyard in the sunshine. Santa Barbara is a beautiful place & the hotel is a few blocks easy walk from the Main Street, we were torn between seeing all SB has to offer & spending our time at this beautiful hotel!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Deborah,

Better late than never is absolutely right! Thank you for the fabulous review. I am so glad to hear that we helped to end your tour on a high note.

The dollar is only getting cheaper so should you decide to take advantage and make another foray stateside, please come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great location, great accomodations, but the staff make Spanish Garden Inn truly special. They made outstanding recommendations for food and activities, went out of their way to engage us in conversation, and everyone was cheerful and responsive. Brian is a treasure trove of information on Santa Barbara and its history. I lived in Santa Barbara and came back for a visit. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else for my next trip. Breakfast was better than I thought it would be given the continental set up. Fresh and several things made to order.

Room tip: All the rooms seem to be arranged for privacy and quiet. No. 8 is across from house keeping and the fitness area so a little noiser than the rest.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

CDog007,

I am glad to hear that we were able to help you capitalize on all that Santa Barbara has to offer. The town has great restaurants and activities and we are always excited to share those details with our guests.

Thank you for your review. I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a gem!! The room is beautiful; the fireplace is romantic. Great balcony and amazing coffee and tea in your room. The staff are exceptionally friendly. A little hard to find but once you do you will be extremely happy. Only bummer for us (because I fell and hurt my knee pretty badly) we had a lot of stairs to climb, But to be honest it was totally worth it :)
They serve a continental breakfast but it is a continental breakfast plus!!!!

Room tip: Request bottom floor if you are unable to climb stairs. Look for flags in locating the hotel.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Zina,

Happy 30th to you and thank you for celebrating with us. Sorry about the knee injury, had we known in advance perhaps we could have found you a ground floor room. Your review is appreciated and I will let the staff know how friendly you found them to be.

Hope to see you again next year for your 31st!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our room was immaculate and the overall service great. Due to a last minute travel change we had to make two reservations which resulted in two different rooms. After our first night we knew we would have to change rooms. When we went to the front desk in the morning we were pleasantly surprised to find out they had arranged to clean our new room first and it was ready for us to move in.
A great breakfast is included and the bacon quiche was outstanding.

Room tip: Our room #10 wa very nice with a king bed, deep tub with separate shower and a nice balcony overlooking the pool.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Jim,

Happy Birthday once again, so glad that we could help make your weekend a special one. We do our best to make room moves as smooth and simple as possible and yours was probably our finest effort.

Also, our breakfast quiche is truly homemade and I will let the chef know your compliments.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your next birthday if not sooner.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was a delightful find, which we discovered on Tripadvisor from other reviews. It's pricey, but worth it for a special occasion. The service was very friendly, yet professional. We had a room with a private patio, a sitting room, a large bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. The inner courtyard is a perfect place to enjoy the hearty breakfast that is included in the room rate.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a patio that doesn't abut the pool, in case there are late-night swimmers.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Congratulations on being our 600th review here on TripAdvisor! We are very lucky to have such an active online community among our guests. We are definitely not the lowest priced hotel in town but when you factor in our complimentary breakfast, parking, wifi and other goodies we feel that we offer one of the best deals in Santa Barbara.

Thank you for the kind review. It was a pleasure having you in our Inn.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews