We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for the service”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced for the service”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The beds were uncomfortable, we had stomping up stairs all night and the breakfast was more like a La Quinta than anything else. The morning desk clerk was surly. We complained about the stomping and no manager spkoe to us. Will not be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fangredux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Fangredux,

This is completely my fault and I must extend my sincere apologies for letting you down. I was told of your rough night of sleep and was prepared to address the issue with you as you came to check-out. Unfortunately, I was called away from the hotel on another matter that kept me away for the rest of the day. My mistake was in neglecting to give our Guest Service Host instructions for resolving your concerns before I departed.

I did email you the next morning to apologize for missing you and to extend compensation for your inconvenience. If for some reason you did not receive that email please feel free to call me at the hotel and I can outline it for you.

Again, my apologies for the discomfort during your stay and for my delay in reaching out to you.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    167
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
197
696
39
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I visited Santa Barbara for a few days before heading to Ojai. In the past I stayed at the Four Seasons but frankly, didn't want to deal with the drive into Santa Barbara as well as looking for parking. I wanted an "in-town" hotel this time and I was so happy to have found Spanish Garden. My husband and I loved the beautiful courtyard, our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely fireplace and balcony. The bathroom was luxurious too. We enjoyed that we could walk to State Street with all the shops and restaurants we wanted within reach.
The staff did a great job helping us find our way, making restaurant recommendations and the breakfast was very nice. They have a lovely breakfast room off the courtyard. If you wanted special coffees, quiches, etc the waitress was only too happy to accommodate. There was the usual fruit, yogurt, pastry, cereal offerings as well. More than enough to send you out in the morning with a full stomach. The ladies that work the breakfast room were so sweet and so hard working. I don't think I would stay at the Four Seasons again when in Santa Barbara and that is saying something for me since I am a Four Season's junkie! It is simply not worth the hassle to stay at a place not that much different in my opinion. Did I mention that the SGI offered us DVD's and to pop us popcorn if we wanted to relax in our room one night?? Such a friendly staff--and the underground parking was so easy and convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grazipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
grazipat,

Thank you for the review and in particular for calling out the hard working women who serve our breakfast each morning. Its an elaborate breakfast with many offerings and they really are unsung heroes as they work to start everyone's day off right. I will be certain to share your review with them.

I'm so pleased to hear that you have chosen to make us your hotel of choice for future visits to Santa Barbara. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at The Spanish Garden Inn while attending a wedding. It is located one block from State Street and is convenient to walking the downtown area. Mercifully quiet, parking and a lovely breakfast buffet (with cappacunio) included. Decor is Mission style. There's a small pool and some outdoor exercise equipment. It's a little expensive, but the Inn is charging what the market will bear. We've tried a number of places in Santa Barbara and this was the nicest one by far.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnalsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Just to clarify for readers, we are actually 3 blocks from State Street, though admittedly it is a short three blocks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Santa Barbara on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

To say the staff takes care of you here is a gross understatement. They are amazing. From service, baggage handling, to recommending restaurants. And they clearly all enjoy their work, they're all happy!

Rooms
Large
Luxurious
Full of amenities
Quiet
Comfortable

Bathroom
Large
Excellent toiletries selection
Lots of HIGH quality towels
Counter space

Food
Happy hour is great and the selections of wine and other items is great.

Breakfast is very well done, think European offerings, and while it is self-serve you are not ignored.

The location of the Inn is perfect and provides for a quiet location. I will be back.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SoCalNative G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
SoCalNative,

I can tell you that the staff has printed this review and put it up in their break room! Thank you for singling them out for praise as they are truly the key to our success as a hotel.

I am happy to read that you had such a lovely stay with us and I look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very nice hotel, small and intimate with lovely inner courtyard and pool and parking. We had suite overlooking the pool. Chose hotel because of it's Spanish style and town location and were not disappointed. Felt it was a little overpriced but extremely well furnished in Spanish style and well equipped with Molton Brown and cafetiere etc. Offered simple food for room service or to be eaten in courtyard which was excellent and reasonable, as was the wine. Breakfast ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
JuneHerts,

Thank you for the detailed review. Your feedback is appreciated. We are currently revamping our breakfast, adding organic pastries and new items. I trust that on your next visit you will find it to be an excellent complimentary offering.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn this past June. Our room was immaculate and very well appointed. The staff was very helpful with picking restaurants and recommendations for visiting the wine country. Breakfast was delicious and wine after a day of sight seeing was quite welcoming! We also enjoyed the courtyard and the pool area. We loved that it was walking distance to town yet nestled into a quiet residential area. We would definitely stay at this Inn again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool area which was very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
winterbot,

Thank you for the review. June was an unseasonably sunny month this year and I am glad that you were able to take advantage and spend time with us. Your compliments are appreciated and I will be sure to thank the team on your behalf.

We look forward to your next visit to Santa Barbara.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I made a road trip down the California coast to take a well needed break from work, kids.!! The weather couldn't have been better! We get to Santa Barbara and leave it to good ole trip advisor led us to this fantastic hotel. It's just how you would picture SB.. Spanish style decor with a courtyard and private patios in some of the rooms. Wonderful service , friendly staff, clean rooms and great location! We will be coming back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodieoutofwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Foodie,

Your review is much appreciated. I am happy that we were able to take part in your "time-out" from responsibilities. Santa Barbara is a wonderful place for such an occasion.

It's fairly rare that we have availability for a same day reservation so on your future visits be sure to book us in advance. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Property: Spanish Garden Inn
Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing