We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lexington,Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Maybe it was just our room, but we found this hotel quite a disappointment. The building itself is charming, and we were ready to be impressed, but our room fell short. We were told we were "upgraded" to a "junior suite" when we checked in. Maybe the regular rooms are better, but the "suite" was a big letdown. It was large, but poorly laid out so that much of the space was wasted, and it was furnished with (to us) no taste whatever. Moreover, while there is a central courtyard, it was chopped up fences so that the entry to our room seemed out of the way and awkward.

Room Tip: not our junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
LexTraveler,

Thank you for the review. I am very sorry to read that you found your room to be so disappointing. Our Junior Suites tend to be our most popular but perhaps a more intimate room would have better suited your expectations for your evening with us.

I would love another opportunity to wow you with the service and product that we have become known for. Should you return to Santa Barbara again, please contact me directly for a conversation and I assure you we could tailor an experience that would exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    167
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
190
682
38
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I arrived on Feb 21st in Santa Barbara, to find this jewel of an Inn in the beautiful downtown core. The Inn has a surprisingly 19th century feel to it, and I was surprised to find out that it was only built 10 years ago! The rooms are accessible by staircase only, so beware those who are challenged by steps. Our room was huge with a very large king bed, writing desk and tub chairs with tables, a gas fireplace and overhead fan, as well as A/C, and a private patio with chairs/tables looking down on the interior courtyard with a running fountain and gardens. The bathroom was large and very well appointed, with toiletries, hair dryer, robes, jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Very peaceful, and a very quiet sleep was had by all. We stayed two nights as we wanted to explore the city, so we had two breakfasts included in our room rate. The breakfasts are set up just off the centre court, so if the weather was warmer you could take your plates outside. There was a large offering of rolls, toast/bagels, croissants, muffins, granola, yogurts, fresh fruit, juices, tea, coffee and always a hot item, such as a fresh quiche. The Inn has a wine hour, of which we did not avail ourselves, as we had early dinners. We walked to dinner one night, and found there were many restaurants within walking distance of the Inn. We would definitely return if we find ourselves in California again.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a main floor room, if you are physically challenged by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Deborah,

It was a pleasure having you with us and we are so happy to hear that you had such a lovely stay. Thank you for the detailed review.

For clarification, we do have some upstairs rooms that are accessible by elevator. And of course we are usually able to accommodate requests for downstairs or upstairs rooms as needed.

Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I can highly recommend the Spanish Garden Inn. The inn is easy to locate and the underground parking is included with your room rate. Wi-fi access is also included, as well as a very lovely breakfast of fruit, baked items! etc. The staff was helpful with information about the area. The main city areas are all walkable, and even the beach is not more than a 20 minute walk. Santa Barbara, and surrounding areas are lovely, with fabulous restaurants, hikes, beaches and architecture.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSP0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and for your review. We do include breakfast, parking and Wifi complimentary with all reservations along with many other smaller amenities. It is our belief that once you have selected and paid your room rate that our financial relationship is more or less concluded. Unlike other hotels who focus their efforts on adding charges to your bill, we are freed up to focus on providing a restful and fun experience for our guests.

It sounds like you really enjoyed Santa Barbara and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The prior reviews are spot on. It is no wonder why it is rated #1 in Santa Barbara. The setting is peaceful and perfectly planned to provide an escape. Loved the Spanish architecture and all the details: hand painted room signage and selection of light fixtures. Appreciated the selection of products. The breakfast was delicious and the spinach quiche did not disappoint. It was such a treat to have mangoes and papaya for breakfast! All the staff exceeds all expectations with friendliness and service.

My only recommendation is to add pillow top mattresses to the beds. Not that the beds were hard but they were not heavenly either. This small adjustment would complete the experience of luxury.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsadiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
mrsadiaz,

The breakfast staff in particular appreciates your kind words in this review. They work very hard daily to provide a quality breakfast for our guests and their praises are often unsung. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Spent the night here in a suite. Lovely room with a fabulous patio overlooking the pool. There is a lovely ambience and terrific staff. Very good breakfast too. Location is excellent with an easy walk to shops, restaurants and culture. Really enjoyed staying here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyAyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
TonyAyk,

Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your overseas trip. It was a pleasure having you in our hotel, even if only for the one night. I will pass on your note to the staff.

Next time you are in the country please look us up!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn for 4 nights during the week. We booked the Majestic Suite for the luxury and also the extra space since we were traveling with our 1 year old who likes to crawl around. It was a great decision. The staff was outstanding overall in every way. The suite itself was beautiful, very spacious, and especially practical for us since on several occasions my wife and I were able to enjoy the sitting room with its fireplace and TV while our child slept in his crib in the bedroom. The only negative was that I found the mattress to be uncomfortable. Overall, the experience was excellent, and we will look forward to returning here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueMorpho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
BlueMorpho,

It was a pleasure meeting your family and we enjoyed having you with us. Your toddler is adorable! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will see you next time.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I needed a quiet place to get away and finish my novel, so my husband booked me into the Spanish Garden Inn on the recommendation of a friend. It's downtown, not near the beach, which was perfect for me, as I could walk to dinner and avoided some of the busier/touristy areas near the beach. The staff was extremely friendly, and the room was beautiful, with a big 4 poster bed, fireplace and balcony. I absolutely loved the bathtub; if you're a bath lover like me, you know how difficult it can be to travel. So many hotels have sub-par bathtubs, but this one was huge and shaped so you can lay back and relax and not have your chin on your chest or knees in the air due to poor design.

The mini bar/fridge was well stocked with sodas, candy, chips, water, etc. The noise level was very low, with only occasional noise when people went up or down the stairs. There is no charge for overnight parking, and the wireless access was free. They have a small morning breakfast downstairs which has yogurt, cereal, quiche, etc. and is very good. Also everything is clean and the value was amazing. The overall vibe is very relaxed and charming, and I would absolutely recommend this hotel, and will be staying again when my next deadline looms!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mongolikescandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
mongolikescandy,

Mongo no go. Mongo impressed....couldn't resist as I love your nickname :-)

Thank you for the thorough review and thanks to your husband and friend for the referral. It is wonderful to hear that we provided you a home for completing your novel. Our deep-soaking tubs are an increasingly rare feature in hotels and one that we are pleased to be able to offer.

We will see you next time!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
3.3 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Property: Spanish Garden Inn
Address: 915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing