We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookies & More!!!!”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cookies & More!!!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful grounds; helpful, friendly & accommodating staff; yummy breakfast (included); delicious 3pm cookies!!! and quite possibly the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at. Great location; 15 min walk to the pier, shorter for shopping and good eats. I want to go back!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AC972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
AC972,

Sometimes I believe that the true secret to our success is those cookies! This review is going on the wall in our Housekeeping office as they are too often under-appreciated in their efforts. Thank you so much for commenting on how clean the rooms and property were.

Come back soon, we will keep a cookie warm for you...

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    171
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
203
704
40
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

From the first moment we walked into the Spanish Garden we knew were in the right place. Everyone was attentive to our needs, the team was courteous and very helpful. The atmosphere was special along with the courtyard and the rooms were beautiful. Jordan couldn't do enough for us he made certain that we were comfortable and happy. I forgot my Garment bag and Jordan went out of his way to send the bag to my home. We spent ten days in Cali and this place was by far the best place we stayed in, we want to go back just to spend time at the Spanish Garden.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Michael Z,

Good to hear the garment bag made it home safely. Thank you for the review and the compliments. I will let Jordan know how you appreciated his efforts. We will see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is my husband and my favorite hotel of all time. It is beautiful and we had such a great time. We will go back again and again - and thats a lot to say because we have never chosen to go back to the same hotel, we always want to try something new. Our room was great, Santa Barbara was great, and the wine was great!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 222leahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Leah,

Wow, thank you for naming us as your all-time favorite! We really do appreciate the kind words and it is great to see when our efforts are rewarded by satisfied guests.

Happy to have you back...again and again :-)

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I've never encountered a hotel that doesn't offer late check-out, it's something I've only ever used several times but often it's a frequent request and many hotels honor these requests, not the Spanish Garden Inn! Of course I didn't expect to be able to leave late without an additional fee tacked on but keep in mind you're paying $300-$350 per night here, granted Santa Barbara is an expensive area but with rates like that I am appalled late check-out is not offered. Also, be warned check-out is 11 am not noon and 11:30 is considered "late check-out" by this Inn's definitions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrinathiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Katrina,

My sincere apologies for the mis-communication. We do offer late check-out when available and on request for guests. Due to the large size of your group we decided instead to hold one room as a hospitality suite. That room was available for refreshing for members of your group until 4pm.

I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. I have heard from many other members of the group that they found our facilities to be the perfect match for the events.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further. 805-564-4700

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a lovely room at the Spanish Garden Inn for two nights. The room / junior suite was spacious and comfortable. We very much enjoyed the breakfast and in particular the warm quiche which had the best pastry I've tasted for a long time. The underground parking is substantial and convenient.
However, we'd have three areas of dissatisfaction:
Firstly, the location is not very central so one must either take taxis, drive or take a walk which could be unpleasant with a freeway nearby.
Secondly, the offer felt a little stingy considering that this was the most expensive accommodation we had booked out of nine different places on our road trip. Similar hotels offer complimentary early evening wine/snacks, drinking water in the rooms etc. However this one did not include anything similar, and had a mini bar in the room which does not feel in keeping with a luxury environment.
Finally, the bath had a sticky ring around it when we arrived. This was dealt with promptly once we brought it to the management's attention.
Overall we would recommend this hotel if there is a special offer on the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you missed out on some of our offered amenities. In addition to the complimentary breakfast, parking and wifi we offer coffee, tea, lemonade, ice tea, water, cookies, popcorn and a DVD library free of charge to all our guests.

You will definitely have to return for a future visit so that we may impress you with our service, value and location. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly for reservations and I will gladly assist you personally.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We found this small inn to be a charming, comfortable, quiet property with excellent service from every employee we encountered. The location is only a few short blocks from State Street where most of the shopping and restaurants are located. A bit of a long walk to the harbor but not overwhelming. When we checked in we were told that one of our junior suites was upgraded to the Majestic Suite. What a great room. Located at the front of the property with a small balcony with nice views of the Santa Ynez mountains and another "sunning" balcony. Very comfortable and quiet inn. Quaint courtyard and pool area. Great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
BSM57,

So nice to hear you appreciated the upgrade. Our Majestic Suite is definitely our most scenic room, with the 2 balconies. Thank you for the review. Quaint, comfortable and quiet are great words to describe the ambiance of our courtyard areas.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a quietly situated hotel close to the centre of town. Although a modern building it is in an old fashioned style. The staff are extremely friendly, the rooms are not bad but really the facilities are not up to the price. The buffet breakfast is OK but what you would expect at a motel rather than a hotel....there is no restaurant and therefore no room service. Not all rooms are serviced by lifts and the floor finishes to both bedroom and bathroom, a little rustic.
My wife thought it is quirky? That sort of quirky should not cost $300+ per night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
David,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I am glad that you found the service and location to be exceptional. I am sorry to read that you were dissatisfied by the lack of a restaurant. There are so many wonderful dining experiences within blocks of the hotel and guests really enjoy the opportunity to explore these locales.

I would love the opportunity to welcome you back. Feel free to contact me directly for a future booking.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Property: Spanish Garden Inn
Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing