We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spanish Garden Inn
Nearby Hotels
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
US$458
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbor House Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$337
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,307)
Filter reviews
1,307 results
Traveller rating
1,076
179
31
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
179
31
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquicheunderground parkingmolton brown productsstate streetfrench pressthree blocksjunior suiteseparate showerfew blocksbeautiful courtyardgas fireplacecookiesprivate patioboutique hotelyogurtsmall hotelspanish style
Filter
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 1,307 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were really looking forward to our stay at the Spanish Garden inn and did enjoy our stay except for two incidents that will make us never go back again. The hotel is nicely situated and our rooms were very nice. The ambiance is also very nice. The beds were a little uncomfortable, but that is true with many hotels and is really a personal preference.

There were two issues which really soured us on our stay with the hotel.

1. At breakfast, we noticed some people were offered additional items prepared by the kitchen such as smoothies and egg dishes. We were never informed about these items and hardly saw any of the waitresses during breakfast. The breakfast was Okay, but we really felt left out by the staff.

2. The hotel has the most ridiculous soap policy of any hotel we've staid in, including Four Seasons and other upscale hotels. We were provided with a jar of hand soap and lotion in our room. These are usually for guests to use as part of their stay. A sign read that we could purchase the soap and lotion by contacting the staff. In most places, this means that you can purchase additional product at the front desk if you like the soap. The jars were unopened and did not appear to be refillable. At other hotels, this always means the soap and lotion are complimentary. Once we left we were charged the outrageous sum of $55 for the soap and lotion. This was very unexpected and really disturbing. This really soured us on our stay and was a charge we would never expect from an upscale hotel.

If you don't want to be unexpectedly up-charged for normally complimentary items and ignored during meals, please stay away from the Spanish Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the review. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. My apologies for the confusion over certain amenities on property. We do have menus on every table as well as on the buffet which outline the additional offerings at our breakfast.

12 years ago, Spanish Garden Inn was a very early adopter of the environmentally responsible practice of using full size amenities in the room. Though it requires more labor to maintain it dramatically reduces our usage of plastic goods and is becoming an increasingly common practice. I am sorry that the sign in the room confused you. We would have been more than happy to clarify any questions you had during your stay or at check-out.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. We would love to have you back. Please contact me personally should you wish to arrange a future stay.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for four nights in May and thoroughly enjoyed the inn. The front desk staff was very helpful, and our room overlooking the pool, was lovely and roomy with a nice balcony. We also liked the breakfast and appreciated the in room electric kettle and French press since we like to have coffee as soon as we wake up. The other advantage for us is that they have beach cruisers for rent right there. We love cycling and that made is very convenient. I was skeptical about riding such a heavy bike since we normally ride road bikes, but the bikes had three speeds and were fine for the terrain. We rode to UC Santa Barbara one day and rode south the other day. The location of the inn was perfect--a short walk to the restaurants and about a mile and a half to the ocean and very walkable. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor with balconies overlooking the pool are nice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, Director of Sales at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Tinaindenver,
WOW..You covered most of the bases here! Happy to hear you enjoyed the beach cruisers- it's a great way to see Santa Barbara. Sounds like you took advantage of the well thought out bike paths we have here. Our hotel features a special local blend of coffee so the French press is a welcome sight for you morning coffee drinkers! Glad yo liked it.
Looking forward to your next stay with us!
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This Inn is just about perfect! A few blocks off the main street in Santa Barbara is this wonderful place that will spoil you. My husband and I stayed here in between travels from San Diego to Solvang. No way could I say enough about the wonderful staff. We booked a room (#9) which had a nice size balcony overlooking the courtyard. There was a dining table and 2 chairs, and live plants on the balcony. In the courtyard was a fountain, grape vines (with grapes), lemon trees (with lemons), tables and chairs and a fireplace. In the room was a fireplace, in front of which were 2 comfy lounge chairs. Add lovely art work, and a desk, free internet, a soaking tub as well as a walk in shower, bath towels the size of beach blankets and you have - well, you just need to experience it. Breakfast was so good - as were the afternoon cookies. A wine tasting begins at 5 - but you can really begin it when you are ready. Parking is free. It is a short walk to the beach. I don't visit Santa Barbara often, but when I do this will be my place to stay.

Room Tip: Loved room 9. The balcony was overlooking the courtyard from the side, so it was more private than the ones facing directly on. And the balcony is wide enough to move the table and chairs so the face the courtyard - or pull them back for privacy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

TashaLin,

Well, though we appreciate the review very much, I don't think posting it was the best way for you to keep the hotel hidden all for you. :-) Regardless, we are happy to hear that you found your stay to be so terrific. We do look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What an amazing place. From the minute we arrived, we felt we were someplace special. The staff is ready to assist with any request that you make. The continental breakfast (more than what you expect) was delicious and having refreshments available day and night (coffee, tea) was an extra nice touch. Our room overlooked the pool and it was wonderful to sit on the balcony for wine and cheese. Everything was excellent and this hotel provides a great value with elegance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyangel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the review. Your quote "a great value with elegance" is apropos as our in-house motto is to offer California Elegance to all of our guests. I am so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We will look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a few nights in Santa Barbara and this was an amazing treat to stay here. The staff took care of everything- restaurant recommendations, booking us on an amazing wine tour and the breakfast was so tasty. Our room overlooked the pool and it was nice and quiet, very serene. The only recommendation I would have is that perhaps there can be notes left in the upper rooms to remind guests that they should remove heels when walking around on the tile floors. It can be heard through the floor in the suite below. The location is superb, you can walk anywhere on State Street quite easily. Love this place, will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Second floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Lisa,

Thank you for the review and for letting us help you with local suggestions. We love being your concierge and helping to create custom stays tailored to your requests. A lot of guests these days are self-sufficient, using the internet as their concierge which, to be honest, takes some of the fun out of it for us. :-)

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews