We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. We stayed in the Majestic Suite and were most pleased with the quality of the two rooms. The decor was lovely and the beds quite comfortable. The hotel offers a quality breakfast with nice choices . The service at this hotel is outstanding. The friendly and helpful staff made our stay quite satisfying.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

ABE2014,

Wonderful Guests! It was a pleasure having you with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn with my 10- and 12-year-old children, never having stayed at a small hotel with children before. I was very pleasantly surprised by how welcoming the staff were and my kids and I loved our stay here. The service was so friendly, helpful, and unpretentious. The room was very spacious, attractive, clean, and well-maintained (although a little dark). We loved the fireplace and balcony, and the bed was possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. My kids were delighted by the daily cookies and lemonade, and the in-room movies. The walk to State Street was very short. However, my kids are not shoppers and we preferred to be down at the beach, the zoo, etc. Bikes are available at the hotel, but not one small enough for my 10-year-old, and biking down to the beach would have been a bit treacherous (fairly narrow city street with lots of cars). Overall, I highly recommend the Spanish Garden Inn for families with older children. Most of the other guests were couples, so I would have been a little self-conscious if my kids had been younger and noisier.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizbowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

lizbowens,

Your review is greatly appreciated. "Friendly, helpful and unpretentious" are absolutely the adjectives we would use to describe the service we try to offer. So nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You have a lovely family and we look forward to a future visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were really looking forward to our stay at the Spanish Garden inn and did enjoy our stay except for two incidents that will make us never go back again. The hotel is nicely situated and our rooms were very nice. The ambiance is also very nice. The beds were a little uncomfortable, but that is true with many hotels and is really a personal preference.

There were two issues which really soured us on our stay with the hotel.

1. At breakfast, we noticed some people were offered additional items prepared by the kitchen such as smoothies and egg dishes. We were never informed about these items and hardly saw any of the waitresses during breakfast. The breakfast was Okay, but we really felt left out by the staff.

2. The hotel has the most ridiculous soap policy of any hotel we've staid in, including Four Seasons and other upscale hotels. We were provided with a jar of hand soap and lotion in our room. These are usually for guests to use as part of their stay. A sign read that we could purchase the soap and lotion by contacting the staff. In most places, this means that you can purchase additional product at the front desk if you like the soap. The jars were unopened and did not appear to be refillable. At other hotels, this always means the soap and lotion are complimentary. Once we left we were charged the outrageous sum of $55 for the soap and lotion. This was very unexpected and really disturbing. This really soured us on our stay and was a charge we would never expect from an upscale hotel.

If you don't want to be unexpectedly up-charged for normally complimentary items and ignored during meals, please stay away from the Spanish Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the review. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. My apologies for the confusion over certain amenities on property. We do have menus on every table as well as on the buffet which outline the additional offerings at our breakfast.

12 years ago, Spanish Garden Inn was a very early adopter of the environmentally responsible practice of using full size amenities in the room. Though it requires more labor to maintain it dramatically reduces our usage of plastic goods and is becoming an increasingly common practice. I am sorry that the sign in the room confused you. We would have been more than happy to clarify any questions you had during your stay or at check-out.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. We would love to have you back. Please contact me personally should you wish to arrange a future stay.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for four nights in May and thoroughly enjoyed the inn. The front desk staff was very helpful, and our room overlooking the pool, was lovely and roomy with a nice balcony. We also liked the breakfast and appreciated the in room electric kettle and French press since we like to have coffee as soon as we wake up. The other advantage for us is that they have beach cruisers for rent right there. We love cycling and that made is very convenient. I was skeptical about riding such a heavy bike since we normally ride road bikes, but the bikes had three speeds and were fine for the terrain. We rode to UC Santa Barbara one day and rode south the other day. The location of the inn was perfect--a short walk to the restaurants and about a mile and a half to the ocean and very walkable. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor with balconies overlooking the pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, Director of Sales at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Tinaindenver,
WOW..You covered most of the bases here! Happy to hear you enjoyed the beach cruisers- it's a great way to see Santa Barbara. Sounds like you took advantage of the well thought out bike paths we have here. Our hotel features a special local blend of coffee so the French press is a welcome sight for you morning coffee drinkers! Glad yo liked it.
Looking forward to your next stay with us!
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This Inn is just about perfect! A few blocks off the main street in Santa Barbara is this wonderful place that will spoil you. My husband and I stayed here in between travels from San Diego to Solvang. No way could I say enough about the wonderful staff. We booked a room (#9) which had a nice size balcony overlooking the courtyard. There was a dining table and 2 chairs, and live plants on the balcony. In the courtyard was a fountain, grape vines (with grapes), lemon trees (with lemons), tables and chairs and a fireplace. In the room was a fireplace, in front of which were 2 comfy lounge chairs. Add lovely art work, and a desk, free internet, a soaking tub as well as a walk in shower, bath towels the size of beach blankets and you have - well, you just need to experience it. Breakfast was so good - as were the afternoon cookies. A wine tasting begins at 5 - but you can really begin it when you are ready. Parking is free. It is a short walk to the beach. I don't visit Santa Barbara often, but when I do this will be my place to stay.

Room Tip: Loved room 9. The balcony was overlooking the courtyard from the side, so it was more private than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

TashaLin,

Well, though we appreciate the review very much, I don't think posting it was the best way for you to keep the hotel hidden all for you. :-) Regardless, we are happy to hear that you found your stay to be so terrific. We do look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What an amazing place. From the minute we arrived, we felt we were someplace special. The staff is ready to assist with any request that you make. The continental breakfast (more than what you expect) was delicious and having refreshments available day and night (coffee, tea) was an extra nice touch. Our room overlooked the pool and it was wonderful to sit on the balcony for wine and cheese. Everything was excellent and this hotel provides a great value with elegance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyangel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the review. Your quote "a great value with elegance" is apropos as our in-house motto is to offer California Elegance to all of our guests. I am so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We will look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a few nights in Santa Barbara and this was an amazing treat to stay here. The staff took care of everything- restaurant recommendations, booking us on an amazing wine tour and the breakfast was so tasty. Our room overlooked the pool and it was nice and quiet, very serene. The only recommendation I would have is that perhaps there can be notes left in the upper rooms to remind guests that they should remove heels when walking around on the tile floors. It can be heard through the floor in the suite below. The location is superb, you can walk anywhere on State Street quite easily. Love this place, will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Lisa,

Thank you for the review and for letting us help you with local suggestions. We love being your concierge and helping to create custom stays tailored to your requests. A lot of guests these days are self-sufficient, using the internet as their concierge which, to be honest, takes some of the fun out of it for us. :-)

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
581 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
897 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
180 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £279 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing