We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIET and Romantic comfort in Santa Barbara”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 December 2009

I love this hotel...(or Inn)...small, cozy and beautiful. This is an excellent way to spend a few days in Santa Barbara. The design is Spanish Mission...the rooms are modern and large (we are in a courtyard double with four poster bed and fireplace)...great! Molten Brown toiletries...fresh made cookies every afternoon (Double chocolate...mmmm!), convenient parking and helpful staff. What more could you want? the breakfast was perfect - serve yourself...limited but excellent choices and a warm welcoming atmosphere. The pool looks great...but, a little too cold for a swim this week...the pool is heated to @75degrees F...but still nippy!

The quiet courtyard w/ fountain is a great place for a coffee in the afternoon (or morning sun) and the staff are very knowledgeable about where to go/eat/shop. If you want to be close to the main action (State Street) but feel you have a private little apartment in the city...stay here! It is a perfect romantic hideaway for weekend escapes OR a great introduction to Santa Barbara for out-of-towners!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2009

The great thing about Inn of the Spanish Garden is the simple fact that you will not be nickel and dimed. Free wifi, free covered parking.... two amenities most all other hotels chose to capitalize on. In fact, as we were leaving on Sunday afternoon, they happily suggested we stay parked in their garage as long as we needed. This is a place people care about. The type of place that employees care about. We were in room 22 this time around. Nestled up in the top right corner of the property overlooking the pool. Too cold to swim, but it looked inviting nonetheless. Key** order the delicious complementary breakfast sent to your room. Super easy, wonderful and breakfast in bed really compliments this place. Book and enjoy. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mh1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

PROS: The front-desk people were great and really helpful with everything we needed.

CONS: We got 2 rooms on the main floor. The room with the king was small and dark. The other room with the 2 queens was much bigger and more spacious.

The pool is miniscule and cold.

The breakfast bagels and breads were previously frozen and tasted like it. (I read other reviews of this place that said the same thing about the bagels). Nothing to write home about.

It's location is about 3 blocks from State street. Not bad, but not that central - there are other hotels that are more central.

Not great for families with small kids. This place is not near any kids activities and there is nothing for kids on site. My kids felt trapped. The closest park is 6 long blocks away. The pool I said is tiny and cold and there is only 3 chairs around it for sitting.

Too expensive for what we got. We love Santa Barbara and will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andrewchurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed at the Spanish Garden in October for our honey moon. We only stayed one night on our way from San Francisco to L.A. because we were catching a cruise the next day. It was beyond our expectations. We stayed in #14 and it was so relaxing. They had a large soaking tub that just totally took the aches away from our long driving day. The electric fireplace was very cozy and the four poster bed was absolutely elegant. You have your own private enclosed porch and although we didn't get to enjoy it, I'm sure it would have been lovely. The room was very spacious and the tiled floors and stucco ceilings gave it a rustic feel. Everything in the room it seemed you could purchase from the lotions to the bed sheets which were 600 count Egyptian cotton(If i remember correctly) The continental breakfast was probably the best I ever had. It was set up so nicely that it didn't feel "Cheap" at all. We felt like we were in a nice restaurant and my husband raved about the quiche they served. It is a little on the expensive side BUT it is well worth it for a very relaxing stay. This was our second day on our 6 day honeymoon and we both felt relaxed enough that if our vacation stopped there it would have been enough.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swan94577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Great place will visit again, Santa Barbara is a beautiful

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brad070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

A hidden gem of a spot. It reminded us of our favorite hotel in Italy. The staff was extraordinary--helped us find many an outstanding restaurant. We met the owners who were welcoming and gave us some interesting places to visit in the area. The room was spacious, quiet and had it all- comfortable bed, fireplace, deep soaking tub and a balcony. The breakfast offered a homemade quiche, muffins, cereal, coffee, juice and could be enjoyed indoors or in the garden patio. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishgirl077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We stayed in a suite with our fourth month old baby. It was our first time traveling with her and the staff -- front desk and housekeeping -- were very attentive to her needs as well as ours. They saw our little girl as a guest with her own needs which we really appreciated. We generally stay at four and five star hotels and we thought the Inn rivaled the Four Seasons in terms of service, cleanliness, and staff consideration (and training). Our room was very clean and the amenities were well maintained and luxurious. Frette sheets, comfortable club chairs in front of the fireplace, large french doors which led out to the balcony, Molton Brown bath products, bath sheets and robes were some of the elegant touches that really made us feel like we were on vacation. We highly recommend this hotel for families, couples, honeymooners and business travelers. It's just that good. We had a wonderful trip, thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peasandapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
572 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,042 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £249 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing