We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like a Queen!”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Treated like a Queen!”
Reviewed 10 February 2010

My spouse took me to the Inn of the Spanish Garden in Santa Barbara for my birthday in December, three days before Christmas. He had taken me the year before and we both fell in love with the understated elegance of the hotel, our room, and the service. We stayed three days on both occasions, long enough that we were calling it home by the time we left.
The second trip was a total surprise and he had reserved the same suite as before. When we arrived we were welcomed back and everyone had birthday wishes for me as well as a card and comlimentary wine in the room when we got their. It was truly like coming home. Our room had a private balcony overlooking the pool and at night the fireplace was a wonderful and romantic treat. I loved the Molten Brown bath products and the soaking tub and the French Press coffee and all of the other detailed considerations that were made for our convenience and pleasure. If you like quality bed linens and towels this is the place for you. We were told that someone would bring a breakfast tray to our room but we preferred going down for the lovely continental buffet breakfast with the home-made quiche and muffins and made-to-order speacialty coffees. I had cappucino and fresh fruit and cereal and loved everything. The desk was very helpful and, even though we are familiar with Santa Barbara and the surrounding area, they gave us printed out directions to the nearby Chumash casino and the Seafood restuarant we had picked for my birthday. They were so friendly and helpful and personable that I almost forgot that they were staff. They treated us like close friends who were visiting and that's exactly how we felt. There were not many children staying when we were there, which was fine with us. We were looking for a quiet, romantic getaway and the Spanish Garden excels at providing that type of environment. Close enough to State Street to walk and far enough away to feel secluded and private. The free underground parking was also nice as parking in Santa Barbara is pretty scarce and most hotels charge guests up to $20.00 per night. All in all this place is well worth the price, considering all you get for your money.
We plan on making this an annual tradition during the holiday/birthday season. We left feeling pampered and speciaI and induldged. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulmateLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    172
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
203
710
40
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

My wife and I were looking for a long weekend escape from the East Coast, and we chose Santa Barbara. We also chose the Inn of the Spanish Garden. Part of our wonderful time in Santa Barbara was this beautiful inn - we would not have enjoyed the city as much if we had stayed in a routine chain hotel. We are extremely picky when it comes to hotels, and we both enjoyed this one.
The rooms were quite spacious and well furnished with pieces you would find at luxury hotels - also with a large bathroom with separate commode and shower. We had a very nice patio that was steps from the (decent) pool but completely enclosed by a wall so we could easily choose private or social. We spent more than one meal sitting in our private patio just enjoying the weather. The staff was friendly, if a little lacking in recommendations and general information about tourist activities. Location-wise, there aren't many bad locations in Santa Barbara - and this one was a short walk or bike ride to everything we wanted to do (we wish we hadn't rented a car but took the train from LAX instead).
However, this is not a place for someone looking for high-touch pampering. Go to the Ritz Carlton for that (we've stayed at those too, and they're great). We think this inn is perfect for a couple or even a family who wants upper-end accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with proximity to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheMakes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

I love this hotel...(or Inn)...small, cozy and beautiful. This is an excellent way to spend a few days in Santa Barbara. The design is Spanish Mission...the rooms are modern and large (we are in a courtyard double with four poster bed and fireplace)...great! Molten Brown toiletries...fresh made cookies every afternoon (Double chocolate...mmmm!), convenient parking and helpful staff. What more could you want? the breakfast was perfect - serve yourself...limited but excellent choices and a warm welcoming atmosphere. The pool looks great...but, a little too cold for a swim this week...the pool is heated to @75degrees F...but still nippy!

The quiet courtyard w/ fountain is a great place for a coffee in the afternoon (or morning sun) and the staff are very knowledgeable about where to go/eat/shop. If you want to be close to the main action (State Street) but feel you have a private little apartment in the city...stay here! It is a perfect romantic hideaway for weekend escapes OR a great introduction to Santa Barbara for out-of-towners!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

The great thing about Inn of the Spanish Garden is the simple fact that you will not be nickel and dimed. Free wifi, free covered parking.... two amenities most all other hotels chose to capitalize on. In fact, as we were leaving on Sunday afternoon, they happily suggested we stay parked in their garage as long as we needed. This is a place people care about. The type of place that employees care about. We were in room 22 this time around. Nestled up in the top right corner of the property overlooking the pool. Too cold to swim, but it looked inviting nonetheless. Key** order the delicious complementary breakfast sent to your room. Super easy, wonderful and breakfast in bed really compliments this place. Book and enjoy. You'll love it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mh1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

PROS: The front-desk people were great and really helpful with everything we needed.

CONS: We got 2 rooms on the main floor. The room with the king was small and dark. The other room with the 2 queens was much bigger and more spacious.

The pool is miniscule and cold.

The breakfast bagels and breads were previously frozen and tasted like it. (I read other reviews of this place that said the same thing about the bagels). Nothing to write home about.

It's location is about 3 blocks from State street. Not bad, but not that central - there are other hotels that are more central.

Not great for families with small kids. This place is not near any kids activities and there is nothing for kids on site. My kids felt trapped. The closest park is 6 long blocks away. The pool I said is tiny and cold and there is only 3 chairs around it for sitting.

Too expensive for what we got. We love Santa Barbara and will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andrewchurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed at the Spanish Garden in October for our honey moon. We only stayed one night on our way from San Francisco to L.A. because we were catching a cruise the next day. It was beyond our expectations. We stayed in #14 and it was so relaxing. They had a large soaking tub that just totally took the aches away from our long driving day. The electric fireplace was very cozy and the four poster bed was absolutely elegant. You have your own private enclosed porch and although we didn't get to enjoy it, I'm sure it would have been lovely. The room was very spacious and the tiled floors and stucco ceilings gave it a rustic feel. Everything in the room it seemed you could purchase from the lotions to the bed sheets which were 600 count Egyptian cotton(If i remember correctly) The continental breakfast was probably the best I ever had. It was set up so nicely that it didn't feel "Cheap" at all. We felt like we were in a nice restaurant and my husband raved about the quiche they served. It is a little on the expensive side BUT it is well worth it for a very relaxing stay. This was our second day on our 6 day honeymoon and we both felt relaxed enough that if our vacation stopped there it would have been enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swan94577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Great place will visit again, Santa Barbara is a beautiful

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
563 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Property: Spanish Garden Inn
Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing