We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty boutique hotel with excellent service”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We visited Santa Barbara as part of our fly-drive honeymoon through California and this hotel was one of the best we stayed in during our trip. Santa Barbara is a very pretty little town and this boutique hotel reflected the relaxed and friendly Californian style we were expecting. Ethan at the front desk was especially helpful with recommendations of restaurants and nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff (they even helped us book our tickets to Hearst Castle and printed off driving instructions of how to get there). Little touches like cookies at the front desk and free rental of DVDs and popcorn made the stay extra special.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0nd0nReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

959 - 965 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

Spent 1 week here and hotel and staff were fantastic. Very nice large room with fireplace. Grounds are very attractive. Breakfast was generous and nicely presented. Staff (Kelly and Tina in particular) were knowledgeable of their city and it's offerings and quick to offer any service. Hotel is quiet--3 blocs east of State Street with easy access to beach, attractions, and State Street. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiecesOfEight_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This is a very clean and beautiful place. The hotel staff is great! We will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I asked a friend for a Santa Barbara recommendation and she gave me the Spanish Garden. What a pleasant surprise...The room we had was spectacular-a combo of Spanish traditional and California chic and convenience. The desk staff could not have been more helpful. Ethan (who I never met) set us up with a spectacular Wine Tour with driver. The other staff members were welcoming and extremely helpful. They sent us to some amazing places to eat. The complimentary breakfast was great. Two of the best quiches I have ever eaten. Fresh fruit and great coffee were in abundance.

The "coup de grace" was the beautiful thank you note that I received a week after my visit. I am framing it. This place is a "must see, must do" if you are visiting Santa Barbara.

It is a little pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bri_nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This is an amazing hotel - a haven of tranquility and stunning surroundings. Great location - easy walk to shops on State street and walking distance to the beach - although about 30 mins. Great rooms and lovely bathrooms. Beautiful courtyard where we sat for breakfast and a glass of wine in the evenings. Very friendly staff - would definitely return if in the area

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjs1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

You'll love this off the beaten path Inn. From the street I wasn't impressed, but just step in and you'll see the reason this was trip advisor's #1 pick in 2009. The staff is wonderful, the rooms great, breakfast great, and the patio was beautiful.
You won't be disappointed here, and the price is right!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabymom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My husband and I spent a very relaxing and enjoyable three days at the Inn of the Spanish Garden and would highly recommend this inn to those who are looking for a place to stay in Santa Barbara that is close to the attractions of State St but located in a quiet neighbourhood. The rooms are generously sized, full of natural light, and quietly luxurious, and the inn has carefully maintained the Spanish Mission decor of its surroundings. We were also very pleased with how the staff resolved an issue we had on the afternoon we checked in. The WiFi internet was not working in our room and after trying unsucessfully to resolve the issue, the staff promptly moved us to another room where the WiFi worked fine, and in fact, the staff upgraded our room as well. Because my husband had to stay in touch with the office during our stay, we very much appreciated the staff's resolution of this issue.
We would be happy to stay here again and highly recommend it to others.


A

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djkriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,092 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
575 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,059 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
849 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £237 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing