We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“Small but nice and clean”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The staff was seriously thorough, friendly, and helpful. We were suprised to find the room is very small. But, I can say it was super clean, modern and new. The location was great, near the wharf and beach and shopping. The hotel and surroundings were very quiet, especially considering the Amtrack is right behind the hotel. We stayed on the non train side. I would recommend this hotel to those who don't require a lot of room. There is no "people" elavator, just for luggage, We enjoyed the exercise of climbing the flight of stairs to our room. We didn't have a car, so staff member Robert went to the store for us. Angelica and Amanda staff members gave us a nice bottle of wine for our anniversary. The entire staff was sooooo nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "non train" side are quieter. Staying on the second floor you are near two ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    179
    62
    37
    6
See reviews for
69
260
31
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

.....one thing: the room is closeby a train line! So, we had a bad surprise by 6h30am when the train passed by, with a loudy horn! We stayed there for just one night, room was clean, small but ok size, good location and good service. But couldn't the receptionist had told us about the train???? Another negative: there is no lift in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eniosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Six of us took the train from San Diego to Santa Barbara so we wanted a hotel near the train station. We couldn't have asked for a better location. Hotel Indigo is literally steps away from the train. (Yes, you can hear the train horn but none of us were bothered by it.) Not only near the train, but the pier is about 2 blocks away as are numerous shops and restaurants. No need for a car if you are staying here.

The rooms are very Euro - small but very stylish and cool. Each of our rooms was near a great outdoor space where we could gather for drinks and enjoy the nice evening air. No honor bar in the rooms but there is a very cute little refrigerated area in the lobby where you can pick up soft drinks, water, sandwiches, yogurt, etc. Aveda products in the rooms too!

Last but not least, this is the only hotel I think I've ever stayed in where every single front desk person was extremely friendly and helpful. They really couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicabahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Rooms are small, but I quite enjoyed my time there and I really love the artsy style of the hotel in general. I recommend staying here. Close to many restaurants and wine tasting areas. It was a quick walk to Red's and I love that place. Red's has tapas and wine/beer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Staffs were great, parking was ok. Room wasnt that big, was small actually, but was ok. The room looks new n clean n very well designed, but most stuffs in the room felt like breaking apart because the are low quality materials. Other than that, was pretty ok. :-)

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was hesitant to book this hotel due to other reviews, but we were in a crunch and it was one of the only hotels that didn't require a two night minimum. So we booked it, and arrived into Santa Barbara at 9:30 am...check in isn't till 3, so we were a bit worried. We went to the front desk where two people were staffed who could not have been more friendly or helpful. While obviously it was way too early to check in, we were able to park our car in their lot (for the $14 fee a day...coming from LA, that is nothing). They then gave us suggestions of where to go/eat etc for the day, along with maps and directions.

The location of this hotel is beyond amazing. If you are looking for a place to stay that will allow you to be within walking distance of literally everything there is to do in Santa Barbara, this is your best bet. The beach is a stone's throw, State street is right there, the Urban Wine Trail begins across State Street one block away, there's a bike rental place right across the street, and the mission is only 2 miles away (a bit longer but we walked it, and there are shuttles). The hotel is brand new so is insanely clean. Some people complained about the small rooms but I found them to be of normal hotel size. Unless you want a suite, then this room is normal by NY or CA standards (in fact is bigger than most NYC hotel rooms). And honestly, there is so much to do in Santa Barbara you won't be in your hotel very much anyway. If you want to be in your hotel longer and enjoy a resort-like atmosphere, then go to one of the resorts. If you want a clean, friendly, comfortable and modern place to stay with an amazing staff and an even better location? Stay here.

The one downside is that it is right next to the train station, and while I only heard one train (early morning), it is RIGHT THERE. They provide ear plugs, but the trains aren't that frequent and the loudness probably depends on which direction your window faces.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachele13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A little concerned upon arrival, as the outside of the hotel looked a bit like a hostel to me...but walked in to check rates for the night and was greeted by a helpful and polite staff. Lobby was clean, got a GREAT last-minute rate. Reminded me of the tiny no-frills, yet hip, hotels I saw in London. We had a room on the second floor right next to one of the hotel balconies, which meant no noise from the neighbors, and a nice balcony to sit on to read the paper. Small room for two people, but very clean and efficient. Modern layout, funky bathroom. Fantastic location for both beach and shopping. $14 for parking, or park on the street behind the building if you are lucky. At checkout, I asked the front desk if the hotel was fully booked, and they said yes, which surprised me, as I would have expected to hear much more guests. Guess we had a polite bunch of folks that night! I would stay here again due to price, location and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front and away from the Amtrak line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Princess_Pomeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Property: Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Address: 121 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, art library, living wall, open air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing