We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & staff. Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This place was perfect for our purposes. It is new ad modern, more of a hip botique type hotel. It however is not going to be for everyone. If you live large, are large or traveling with a kid in your room you might find it too small. We went with our dog and we had everything we needed. It has a small cleverly layed out bathroom in a European style. Also had a nice garden patio on our ground floor room. They have two outdoor patios you can use on the second floor. The place is extremely clean, staff very friendly. This is a prime location, so do not expect big rooms for this price, think cruise ship, with so much within walking distance you won't be in your room much. It is next to the train station, so you could easily take the train there and walk everywhere.

Room Tip: If you have a pet try for ground floor. If a light sleeper try the side towards the ocean, not the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

We chose Indigo hotel due to the pictures from the websites, travellers review and the good location.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were so excited, the hotel looks brand new, hip, modern, very clean. However, when we enter the room, we were shocked at the really small room size. With our luggages and our regular size, we find it really hard to maeuver around the room. I cannot imagine anyone can stay in this room if their body width is more than 80cm. As the doors, the space around the beds, the shower area, is just impossible for anyone to walk around freely. You have to walk sideways. We were travelling with only 2 adult and 1 child (4 years old), and it is very restricted.

When we took shower, you cant believe how small the water is. The hotel is going green, but does not mean that the water flow is outragerously constricted, till when we want to take shower, we have to shower for a really long time to get our hairs & body clean from the soaps & shampoo.

This hotel is suitable for singles/ couples who pack light with small luggage.. No breakfast, no pool.

Dissapointing stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose first floor with balcony as there is no elevator in the hotel if you are travelling with heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank member9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will certainly address the issues that you had with your stay. If you need any further assistance, please contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I frequently travel to SB for business. Anticipating my work commitments in this area, I tried several hotels in the $200 range in SB and this one came out, hands down, my favorite. I have stayed at the Indigo about 5 times over the past few months and here are the reasons why (in no particular order): 1) The rooms are clean, bright, comfortable and very cozy. 2) The hotel’s ambiance, design and decor is modern and one-of-a-kind in SB. 3) The staff is very friendly and helpful in a refreshingly natural manner. 4) The hotel’s location is very practical. It is close to the water front, as well as State Street restaurants and stores. This includes the incredible D'Angelos Cafe (for breakfast) and the amazing SB Farmer's Market (Tuesday night on State Street). 5) Room prices are fair for the location and comfort level of the hotel. For a frequent visitor, prices don't jump around as they do for other hotels in the area. 6) Great coffee in the morning available in the lobby. 7) Even when the hotel is full, there is amazingly little room-to-room noise. One of my biggest hotel peeves is waking to the sound of my neighbor peeing in the bathroom. Not happening here (at least not in the rooms I have stayed in.) 8) The small outdoor patios are charming and a nice place to hang out any time of the day, alone or with friends. 9) The art work in the hotel is whimsical and charming to explore. There is a nice little eclectic art book collection upstairs which is fun to browse. 10) Plenty of easy parking next door to the hotel. 11) Part of the Intercontinental/Indigo/Holiday Inn rewards program.
To address the potential cons of place: 1) Yes, the train is loud, but for the majority of the time, it only passes during waking hours. I view the train as an intrinsic part of this town. 2) Yes, the rooms are small. It's simply a preference one must consider. 3) Yes, the bathrooms are very modern and decidedly un-American. Visitors either enjoy this or dislike this. Again, a matter of preference. 4) In regards to breakfast, the hotel's restaurant is currently under construction. Once it opens (hopefully this year), it will take care of the availability of breakfast and room service. Currently, this is not an option. 5) The gym is very small indeed but sufficient (for me) with a treadmill, elliptical and free weights. In summary, this is a wonderful little gem for people who prefer modern clean lines and naturally friendly staff, a home away from home and a place to remember. Downstairs rooms with patios are a bit bigger but with less of a view. Upstairs rooms are a little smaller with more views. West-facing rooms are sunny in the afternoon but are more exposed to the adjacent train. East-facing rooms are quieter and have sun in the morning. There are subtle differences in the room layouts since this is an old re-furbished building.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karoline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you so much for the great review, we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We hope that you will be back this fall for the opening of our new restaurant, Anchor Woodfire Kitchen and Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here for the Fiesta Days celebration. This place was great. We had a great view for the parade, and we liked that the hotel was on State street but not too close to all the bars and loud noise. This hotel is close to everything! We walked to the beach and to all the restaurants. Very nice. We only needed to use our car once. I know from what we researched the biggest complaint was the size of the rooms, but to us the room size was fine. We had a king bed and it felt very cozy. I know other people have complained about the bathroom being small, but again it worked for us. It was clean and modern and we'd rather have a clean bathroom than an old outdated big one. We love the fact it's right next to the train station, makes us want to plan our next trip right away! And the noise level was not an issue, we only heard the train during the day and it wasn't too bad. Also, another thing great thing to mention is the staff - very friendly! One thing that I really appreciated is during the Parade, hotel staff let some of the housekeeping staff sit outside with other hotel guests to enjoy the parade. I thought that was awesome because it showed that the hotel staff appreciated and valued the housekeepers - since they know without them there would be no clean rooms! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunocean18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We shared your wonderful comments with our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed at the hotel in July! Brilliant location, didn't see another hotel in a better place. 2 min walk to the beach and 6 min walk to the bars and shops. Rooms are small but new, clean, modern and bright with outside space on each floor with a tv so you can sit outside and enjoy the sun. The train line does pass very closely by and the trains are very loud mostly when sounding their horns, this was mostly during the day though so not an issue!!!!

If you are going to Santa Barbara, definitely stay there!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We loved our stay at the Hotel Indigo. Just a very short walk from the train station the Hotel exceeded our expecations. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location was perfect and although the rooms are small, we enjoyed our little courtyard with comfy seats and lots of sun.

We especially liked the upstairs outside lounge area where we invited friends by for a bottle of wine. Overall a great place to stay when visiting Santa Barbara. We picked this hotel based on "Trip Advisor" reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for the non-train station side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I'm really sorry to say that because the staff of the hotel was really nice but this place was really disappointing! The room fee wasn't cheap at all but not even in France I ever saw such a tiny room! And neither me nor my boyfriend are tall! You have no privacy (the bathroom hasn't a real door) and moreover there is passing by the train (don't know how often but it's too often and we really couldn't sleep because of the noise). Sorry guys, we won't come another time - for sure not.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
862 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £133 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, art library, living wall, open air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing