We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brithday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed the weekend of Sept. 14th, had a wonderful time. Very very clean hotel, the front desk staff was extremely helpful. THANK U Brandon, Dan, Frank and Amanda, u made our stay very enjoyable. The location was perfect, 2 blocks from the beach, and close to everything we enjoyed. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

We shared your excellent comments with the whole staff. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

A few of my girl friends and I stayed the weekend at Hotel Indigo, its in a perfect location.. 2 blocks from the beach and 2 blocks from the downtown shopping area. The hotel was very clean, modernly decorated, very European, even though the rooms were a little small, they were cozy. The hotel served wine in the lobby in the evening, what a great touch! Frank at the front desk was awesome! He suggested restaurants and bars to us and was just overall very friendly. The room even had an outdoor patio which was great! Don't listen to the reviews about the train noise, in the 2 days we were there we only noticed the train pass through a few times during the day, not throughout the night. I couldn't ask for anything more. The room even had an outdoor patio which was great! I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with patio are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We decided to take a mini-vacation in Santa Barbara for the long weekend with the family (2 adults, four-year-old, 11-month-old). We originally booked a king bed, but called the hotel and asked if they had any rooms with 2 doubles available. I thought we'd have to keep calling to check, but as promised, the hotel actually called back when a room opened up! The staff is wonderful and friendly. Our room was facing the train station, but it was actually not that bad. Both of the kids slept through the noise.

CONS:
-Floor was very dirty when we arrived. It's hardwood, so it just needs a good sweep/mop (I appreciated that it was hardwood and not carpeting though!)
-Though we did not mind, the room was very small. I think if we stay there again, I'd try to get the rooms that have a patio for a bit more space.
- Bathroom was adorable and very well thought out, but I really did miss having at least an enclosed shower. The toilet is blocked when someone is taking a shower and then afterwards, the whole room is wet. During one shower, the water started draining out of bathroom and into the room.

PROS:
- One block from the beach, geat food, bike/surrey rental!
- Lots of lovely touches like provided earplugs, wine, coffee, tea and filtered water in the lobby
- The cute communal patios (we liked the one with the big high bed) and the 2nd floor library
- Modern decor - platform beds, great furniture, lots of shelving (no closet)
- ART all over -- lobby, hallways, in each room
- next to the train station -- we thought it would be a noise problem, but it was fine. And my kids loved sitting on the bed and watching the trains go by.
- great prices

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mileena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My friend and I with our two dogs stayed at this hotel in August. It is conveniently located near the train station, Stearns Wharf, and more importantly, the wine tasting rooms. Very clean, we had a pretty small room, but it had a patio, and the bathroom was really rad ! Very European influence. When we checked in they had a goodie package for our dogs. We slept so well in the beds - the mattresses were fabulous - felt like you were in a cocoon! They will be opening a restaurant just next door and have outside seating, I believe by late Fall, so this will be one spectacular venue in which to stay! And if you don't go with your dogs, travel by train, and you can just walk to the hotel from the train station. Have fun !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I took the train from San Luis Obispo for a weekend getaway, we wanted to avoid renting a car, so we needed a place to stay that was within walking distance of the downtown area and beach. We chose to stay at the Hotel Indigo and were pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by clean, nicely styled rooms, thoughtful decor, comfortable beds, helpful and friendly staff and not a bad price to boot! This hotel is not for everyone: large family's, people traveling with lots of stuff or someone looking for a five course room service meal, stay somewhere else. The downtown area, restaurants, shops and the beach are all well within a couple minutes walk, enjoy!

Pros:price, cleanliness, decor, helpful staff, environmental responsibility,
Cons: smaller rooms
Pro & Con: It is very close to the train station

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewsforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My friend and I each have a dog and we stayed three days at the Santa Barbara Hotel Indigo because it is dog friendly. We had a great patio outside of our room and when we checked in, we were each given a "doggie packet" with teats and advice/handouts on dog friendly restaurants in Santa Barbara. A quick walk to the train station provided a small park area and the beach is only a few blocks away. The hotel is very clean and the artwork is a plus as it is displayed throughout the hotel. In the lobby, there are art videos playing nonstop which were fascinating to watch and listen to...
My friend and I slept better then we have ever so when I got back to San Diego, I called the manager and now would like to buy the same mattress. Great stay! I highly recommend it!!!

Room Tip: The rooms with patios are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for your review. We love our pet pals here at the Hotel Indigo, and all the employees love seeing your best friends travel with you. It brightens our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just spent 4 nights at the Hotel Indigo in Santa Barbara.
Charming is the first thing that come to mind.
The size of the room was not a problem and the sound
of the train gave the place atmosphere and character.
The living wall was a favorite of mine it made everything
feel alive. From the cozy reading nook to the outdoor space
this hotel makes you feel welcome and relaxed.
The staff was exceptional both friendly and informative.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.
The location is great easy walk to the beach and pier also not too far
from the shops.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosamund A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
900 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £136 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Amtrak station, MOXI, Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art and colorful murals grace this 41-room, pet-friendly, boutique hotel. Our sleek, modern, micro guest rooms feature comfy beds with premium linens, usb-media-ready tvs, ergonomic workstations, space-efficient storage, wet bathrooms with spa-inspired showers with 8 ft. high showerheads and Aveda products, and yet the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness studio, boardroom, art library, open-air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum with free Wifi throughout the hotel. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing