We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy boutique hotel walking distance to the beach in gorgeous Santa Barbara, enough said.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pico Rivera, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cozy boutique hotel walking distance to the beach in gorgeous Santa Barbara, enough said.”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Fantastic artsy hotel less than 2 blocks from beach & 5 minute walk to restaurants & shops on State Street so what more could you ask for. Hotel looks brand new & staff is extremely courteous, attentive, and very professional.

Our room had a cozy garden patio too (first floor only) and we took full advantage of it in the mornings. Rooms are small like some rooms in Europe, but come on you're in Santa Barbara & the price was great so quit whining. Hotel is near the Amtrak train station, but we never heard the train at night and it did not bother us at all. Besides we only used our room for sleeping or for not sleeping. Bottom line is we had problem free stay and would gladly stay there again!!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the first floor rooms, but make sure to tell them you want a King size bed with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MundoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    177
    62
    37
    6
See reviews for
68
255
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Reviews on TA brought us to this hotel and we were not disapointed. Situated at the bottom end of State St it commands a great position for either the sea-front or the bars and restaurants 'up-state'

Rooms were clean and cosy with lots of comtemporary art adorning the walls. One slight down side is tha the rooms are lablled as accessible friendly and yes they doo have widened doorways for wheelchair access, but the layout of the room means that access is not posible for a wheelchair user who requires acces to the patio area. This could easily be rearranged to accommodate.

Overall a great place to stay and good value for money...thouh be wary of price increase once restaurant is finished this year

Room Tip: disabled users ensure to ask for fully accessible room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard_CRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I returned to Hotel Indigo for a wedding in Santa Barbara. Frank and the other girls at the front desk were so helpful. I am nine months pregnant and checked in before my husband got to town. They didn't hesitate helping me with my bags and making sure I had everything I needed. They are currently doing construction on the new restaurant and I thought it was going to be very noisy but it wasn't bad at all. I couldn't hear anything! I'm looking forward to returning when the restaurant is up and running! Thank you Frank and Hotel Indigo for another relaxing stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for visiting us a second time, and for recognizing Frank and the whole staff. We can't wait for Anchor Wood Fire Kitchen and Bar to open either. It should be open soon, so come back and see us with the new baby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location. It's close to the Main Street and also a few minutes walk to beach. Helpful staff and nothing was a problem for them. Complimentary wine in the evening was fab. Our room was small which was ok Bathroom was even smaller and no shower tray so it meant wet towels all over the bathroom floor. Would stay again though

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Went memorial day weekend with my husband. The hotel is very clean and new which is extremely important to me. The front desk staff are very nice and extremely helpful the location is perfect you can walk to the urban wine trail, heart of state street as well as the wharf. The hotel also has a few nice common areas like the rooftop and library which is a must because the rooms are very small. The workout room is also very small but has what you need for a decent cardio workout. They report they will be getting a restaurant soon. The small rooms are the only downside to the hotel. This is probably the smallest room I've ever stayed in even smaller than rooms in Europe. Not alot of space for luggage and as the reviews mentioned the shower is literally right on the toilet. Despite the small room I probably would stay here again because of all of the other positive factors I mentioned and in Santa Barbra you really shouldn't spend too much time in your room. Just too much to experience and explore.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bribriUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed the weekend of Sept. 14th, had a wonderful time. Very very clean hotel, the front desk staff was extremely helpful. THANK U Brandon, Dan, Frank and Amanda, u made our stay very enjoyable. The location was perfect, 2 blocks from the beach, and close to everything we enjoyed. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
We shared your excellent comments with the whole staff. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A few of my girl friends and I stayed the weekend at Hotel Indigo, its in a perfect location.. 2 blocks from the beach and 2 blocks from the downtown shopping area. The hotel was very clean, modernly decorated, very European, even though the rooms were a little small, they were cozy. The hotel served wine in the lobby in the evening, what a great touch! Frank at the front desk was awesome! He suggested restaurants and bars to us and was just overall very friendly. The room even had an outdoor patio which was great! Don't listen to the reviews about the train noise, in the 2 days we were there we only noticed the train pass through a few times during the day, not throughout the night. I couldn't ask for anything more. The room even had an outdoor patio which was great! I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with patio are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Property: Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Address: 121 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, art library, living wall, open air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing