We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the beach so is ideally located. The shops and restaurants of Sanhoteta Barbara are also within walking distance. Its also worth exploring the vicinity of the hotel, known as the "Funk" before heading straight to State Street as there are some cool venues nearby. The hotel design is very stylish, which I liked. It is very modern and has all the amenities you would expect. The on-site restaurant/bar is also very good and a seemingly popular destination. Its worth a visit.

On the downside, the rooms are very small. I don't mean by USA standards either. Being from London, these are small even from a European point of view. While you have to admire the innovative use of space, the queen room we were in felt almost like it was more suitable for a single traveller. I guess it is a symptom of the age of the building. More importantly, we were not aware of the fact (and perhaps that is our fault too) that the hotel is directly next to the train station! The Amtrak trains stop running by 21:30 and although make a fair amount of noise, are not too much of a bother. The real issue is the (albeit occasional) freight train that may run in the middle of the night. The noise of the deafeninlgy loud bells was a pretty rude awakening and size of the train did mean the room was actually shaking a bit.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgurdenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Igurdenli,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hotel Indigo. We’re glad you enjoyed the hotel’s modern design, unique amenities, and location next to the Funk Zone. Part of our ideal location is being next to the Amtrak station which we communicate online/by phone and gives many of our guests a great car-free way to travel to and explore Santa Barbara. You are right, our rooms are compact in size due to our historical building; this has also given us the opportunity to be a Green Engage hotel and reduce our carbon footprint. If you are to return to the hotel, we would be happy to assign a room towards the back of the hotel which is a bit quieter. Thank you for the feedback, we’re glad to have been part of your trip through California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    175
    61
    37
    5
See reviews for
67
251
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

the location was perfect and the Amtrak didn't cause any noise problems ........but the building seemed to resinate a constant noise possible from the air con ? it was difficult to sleep until we found the complimentary ear plugs !!! there are great outside places to sit day or night as the rooms are quiet small . we stayed in 214 try to avoid if sleep is needed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiraz1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Shiraz1989,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us valuable feedback in your review. The comfort of our guests is our number one priority so I was sorry to read about the noise experienced while in that specific room; our maintenance engineer is checking the HVAC unit and vents outside the restaurant below. I was happy to hear you were able to enjoy the hotel’s location and the sunny outdoor terraces upstairs. I greatly appreciate you bringing these positive and negative items to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband, our black lab, and I spent two nights at Hotel Indigo earlier in April. We found the location to be extremely convenient, the staff to be top notch, and the facilities more than adequate. We were very comfortable and, while we heard the trains, we did not find them bothersome. We did request a "quiet room" as suggested by other reviewers and, admittedly, we could still hear the train which would have been louder had we been in a room on the train station side of the hotel. The room was a little small, but we were comfortable and found the space to be very well designed. The bathroom was perfectly functional. It is true that the toilet was unusable while the shower was being used, but that was not a big deal. The shower did not flood the bathroom as one reviewer said. The room and the bathroom had pleasant natural light and the bed was very comfortable. The adjoining restaurant, Blue Tavern, was excellent. It was lively and the food was fantastic as were the drinks. We would definitely recommend both the hotel and the restaurant. I would have given the hotel 5 stars, except the rooms are a little small and some could be bothered by the trains. For travelers who might want to bring their dog, don't hesitate. The staff at the hotel were very dog friendly and it was pleasant to walk the dog along the shore and on State Street. Several restaurants have outside seating that is dog friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Kathy,
Thank you for the wonderful review of Hotel Indigo and Blue Tavern! We’re glad you enjoyed the pet-friendly amenities and convenient walking location; it was great to have you two and your lab as our guests. I appreciate your detailed feedback and valuable tips which I’m sure future guests will find very helpful as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel itself is perfectly fine, the room was great and it's near everything in downtown Sta Barbara. There's not lift, however, which is odd. The main reason for the low score is that the hotel is situation right next to the Amtrak station, so you're woken up by the clanging of the bells as the heavy train trundles down the tracks. Not something you want at 5am.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea will be furthest from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamharrison31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Adam,
I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us at Hotel Indigo. We are proud of our convenient location next to the Amtrak station which we inform guests of through our website, reviews, and on the phone. Our historical building is from the early 1900s and was not originally built with an elevator; our staff is always happy to assist with bags using our functioning luggage lift or assign a room on the ground floor. Thank you again for your honest opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was my third stay at the Hotel Indigo and the staff and location are what bring me back. The rooms, while small, are comfortable and well appointed. The location is excellent with the Funk Zone and other restaurants a couple blocks away and the beach is also very close by. Yes, the passing trains can be annoying (there's ear plugs in the room!), but the 615a Amtrak provides a good wake up call! The one negative, at least this trip, was the value. With the parking fee of $14 and the already healthy nightly rate, I spent much more than I would elsewhere in SB. That said, if I can get a reasonable rate, I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Rgram,
We’re so happy to be your favorite place to stay in Santa Barbara; thank you for being such a great fan of the hotel and fabulous Funk Zone area! I appreciate your humor about the Amtrak as well. Please look on our website, www.indigosantabarbara.com for our Book Early&Save and California Saver specials. We would love to have you as our guest again, thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Had a delightful impromptu overnight stay here.

Friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating staff; free hotel bikes available for use; very clean and well appointed guest room; intimate setting with just a few rooms. Requested and received late checkout (2pm) with zero hassle.

Best location in town for a quick trip: you can catch the tram running up and down State Street, it's directly next to train station for easy transportation access, views of beach, walking distance to great cafes, shops, the wharf, beach, bike path and Santa Barbara landmarks.

Room Tip: Note re Sleep Quality: bed was very comfortable but if you are sensitive to trains, be advised that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for the wonderful review, taking the train is perfect for an impromptu car-free trip to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara! Our staff was happy to point out the best local spots within walking/tram distance for your hassle-free visit. Thanks again, we hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Loved this little boutique hotel - the rooms, though small, are well thought out and organized. Walking distance to the waterfront, train station and State Street shopping. The staff was friendly and welcoming - Thank you, William! We will definitely return. The restaurant below the hotel, The Blue Tavern, was awesome as well! Just can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalPolyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear CalPolyMom,

We’re happy you loved the boutique feel and ideal location of Hotel Indigo! William was especially pleased to be mentioned in this positive review. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next stay at the hotel and Blue Tavern!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#21 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Property: Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Address: 121 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, art library, living wall, open air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing