We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, great location, if away from the construction!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this hotel. Yes I'd agree with other reviewers that the rooms are small, but they are very nicely decorated, clean, and there is everything there that you need. The Blue Tavern next door was an unexpected bonus and did great tapas style food which we enjoyed on our first night. In our first room (and our 2 daughters' room) there was noise from the train (not until 8am) and the construction site which was more of a problem. I spoke to the front desk and asked if we could move over to the other side of the hotel. They were very helpful and when we returned from a day at the beach all our stuff (from both rooms) had been moved across, and it was much more peaceful, Many Thanks for that, would love to return one day.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side away from the construction sight (until 2016)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Walkercjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Walkergjg,
It was our pleasure to have your family as our guests while on holiday in Santa Barbara! We’re glad you enjoyed the great location and efficient design of the hotel. Our front desk associates were happy to assist with room move to ensure a very comfortable stay. The Children’s Museum of Santa Barbra will be a wonderful addition to our neighborhood and a fun place to check out on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely decor, interesting design, rooms bijou but worked well, loved the roof terrace where you could sit out & easy walk to beach/pier or shops.
Only downside was noise from adjacent building site (forget using the garden/yard) & the train which sounds it's horn v v loudly in the middle of the night & early morning. Ask for a room on the opposite side!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Hilbags,
Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re glad you enjoyed the hotel’s easy walking-distance location and modern design. Please call Hotel Indigo directly when making your next reservation; our associates will be happy to accommodate you on the non-train side of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Overall, this hotel is a great choice: it's clean, modern, in a super convenient location and there is free wifi!

Pros:
- 2 blocks to the beach
- walking distance to the urban wine trail
- nice spa products in the bathroom
- dog treats in the lobby for your furry friend
- saltwater taffy in the lobby for you :)
- convenient parking lot at the property
- nice outdoor nook areas for lounging
- clean
- new / modern design
- free wifi
- good on-site restaurant
- very clever use of space in the bathroom
- right next to the Amtrak station (also see cons)


Cons:
(None of these were a big deal for us)
- right next to the Amtrak station: horn noise when the train comes through, but the trains don't seem to come earlier than 9am or later than 9pm and the hotel does provide ear plugs
- no elevator (but the hotel only has 2 floors)
- crazy small rooms and bathrooms

Note: this hotel is really great for couples and anyone who isn't going to spend a ton of time at the hotel, but I wouldn't recommend it for families or older couples because of the really small rooms and because of the steps (no elevator)

Stayed: August 2014
Thank dlr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear dlr03,
Thank you for the wonderful review of Hotel Indigo and Blue Tavern! We’re glad you enjoyed the hotel including our pet-friendly amenities and convenient walking location to the Urban Wine Trail. I appreciate your detailed feedback which I’m sure future guests will find very helpful as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room is colorful and patio is lovely. The bathroom is tiny with maximization of use of space to create a shower stall. Glass door slides in front of toilet. The coffee service is in the closet. Space use was very efficient and we did not feel crowded. Neighborhood is the funk zone. We were there a night before the Spanish fiesta parade. The Blue Tavern restaurant exceeded our expectations. Great Food! The hotel is near Amtrak station but the night was quiet and no noise interrupted our sleep.

Room Tip: patio room gives extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear dziran,
We appreciate your eye for design and small space efficiency! Our modern rooms utilize their original compact size and reduce our ecological footprint while providing all the necessary amenities. We’re glad you enjoyed a taste of Old Spanish Days, the Funk Zone, and Blue Tavern! Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here a few days ago. "We" included our dog, who was welcomed with a goodie bag upon check in. Room was immaculate! Hotel is walking distance from State St. shopping and steps from cool places to eat. The beach is also nearby. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Jeanine,
It was a pleasure to have the two of you and your dog as our guests; we love being pet friendly! Our prime location is great for a relaxing walk and really feeling like a Santa Barbara local. We look forward to providing even more recommendations during your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have stayed in different hotels up and down state street. Let me start by saying, the welcome feeling that we received from Frank at the front desk was a great way to start. The History of the hotel was that it used to be a hostel and was converted. I asked.

The restroom is a great space saving idea. It functioned well with the space given. Has a nice europen feel to it. The shower has a door that folds out and does block the toilet, but I usually don't "go" while showering. lol. Overall, very clean and modern with all the amenities needed.

The room itself has a keurig with various coffee options to chose from The pillows and the bed feel amazing. Again, it is a compact room, but I usually only use the room to sleep, shower and get ready. Any more thatn that and you are missing out on the Santa Barbara experience.

The Location is great, it is within walking distance to the beach and to the nightlife that Santa Barbara offers.

I reserved the conference room for the World Cup Final and "How"(front desk rep) Was more than accomodating and helpful. He made sure that all my needs were met. The group of 11 kids and adults that were with me loved the hotel and the accomodations. This place is a definite for a return visit for my wife and I. I spent some time in the library one evening and was pleasently surprised by the collection.

Overall, my experience was great. I had only one issue which was the A/C was not the coldest, but it still did well. My sunburn I'm sure didn't help. That's my two cents. A great couples hotel. Pricey for some, but we do prefer elegance and atmosphere this hotel had to offer.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 126. It was perfect for us. Not too much of a view, but nice patio and we were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ruben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Ruben,
It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests at the hotel and we also enjoyed hosting your exciting private World Cup party! We value the comments and tips you've provided for future guests regarding the design, location, and unique amenities such as the art library. Hao and Frank were especially pleased to be mentioned and look forward to welcoming you back to your new Santa Barbara spot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A fun cutting edge hotel, close to everything. Front desk staff exceptional! Rooms though small are comfortable and exceptionally clean. Definitely will return. Thank you Frank (front desk)for all you great recommendations!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank adacomstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear adacomstock,
We’re happy Hotel Indigo’s modern accommodations and prime location were a great fit for your travel style! Our staff loves providing recommendations to our favorite local spots and Frank was especially pleased to be mentioned. We look forward to your next getaway to Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#9 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £118 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Amtrak station, MOXI, Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art and colorful murals grace this 41-room, pet-friendly, boutique hotel. Our sleek, modern, micro guest rooms feature comfy beds with premium linens, usb-media-ready tvs, ergonomic workstations, space-efficient storage, wet bathrooms with spa-inspired showers with 8 ft. high showerheads and Aveda products, and yet the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness studio, boardroom, art library, open-air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum with free Wifi throughout the hotel. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing