We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here!!!! Trust me”

AAE Santa Barbara Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AAE Santa Barbara Guest House
Ranked #13 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Ok first of all this opinion is from someone who has stayed in there fair share of hostels so I'm not one to expect a lot butttttt this place took the biscuit.... We stayed here for 4 nights and I wanted to leave the first night but we had already paid... So here are the issues... 1.the places is not clean there was ants all over the bathroom floor disgusting there's only 2 bathrooms in the place and one sink didn't work so people were getting frustrated at waiting to use the bathroom ...2. The "breakfast is a joke make ure own pancakes ... Please! We woke up went down the a tiny kitchen to a bowl of pancake mix for the whole hostel I might add and instructions on how to make ure own pancakes what a joke...3. We payed a lot of money to stay here cos everywhere was booked out we booked at 4 bed dorm but it was joined onto anther room for 5 ppl so they had to walk In and out of our room to get to there so we might as well have been In a 10 bed dorm!!!.... Overall this place is a joke I know most ppl Travelling only want the basics but this is below that trust me... Lots more issues to tell lack of toilet paper in bathroom .. Owners never at reception always in tere rv at the back of the hostel. Overall terrible experience !

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hostel is in a very small and old house. The rooms are tiny and the walls so thin that you can hear everybody arriving, leaving, talking, laughing.... Our room was next to the common room/tv room which practically meant that we could follow all the dialogs of the movie they were watching next door and that we had no privacy what so ever. The beds were crappy and squeaked everytime you turned. In our room it smelled like fried food...all night. On our floor there was a tiny toilet and a bathroom with a tub and a nonfunctioning sink. Breakfast was: make your own pancake. And last but not least: as a couple we paid 130 Dollars which was definitely too much!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangerine0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a great hostel/guesthouse. It's in a smaller house but has around 10 nice rooms. Each pretty new. It's very clean and you get great pancakes for breakfast. The staff is really easy going and will help you make your stay as comfy as possible. They know a lot of good tips for going out or having a nice dinner. And the atmosphere is great! You have a nice kitchen to meet people and a pretty decent living room with TV, lots of movie and book for your entertainment. Definitely to recommend!

Room Tip: Room number 4 or 5 has a little garden which is pretty decent or one of the rooms upstairs, since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovro141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Let's start with the positives, the area is fine and safe with places to eat and a supermarket close by. Also only 15mins walk to downtown state street. The front door is secured by code and the doors and locks on the private rooms seemed relatively secure. It was also generally clean and the staff were fine if a bit abrupt.

However, when it comes to any facillities the hostel/guest house offers it fails to impress on every account. The website suggest a european feel however the all white paint work of walls, floors, stairways, sinks, showers, showers looks almost hospital like and doesn't resemble anything european. There is two bathrooms for potentially around 30people. No soap is provided. It is the first hostel I have ever stayed in which you have to make your bed in a private double room - as well as this they don't even provide a duvet cover! The website suggests a cable tv in the room, this is not the case. Nor does the room have heating or a/c which is a problem when the days are warm and nights are cold as in our stay. The kitchen has one new fridge and one new oven. That is about it. No saucepans. One frying pan for 30people. No utensils, can openers, chopping boards etc. No toaster, no microwave, no oven trays. Yes the hostel is only 3weeks old but it isn't an excuse to get this most basic amenities that can be found in $1 hostels in S.e Asia. The shower was a dribble and the taps stopped working if someone else in the hostel was using them at the same time, this needs to be rectified. It may seem like I picking but I don't want people to spend a high rate expecting something that this place isn't.

My last issue is their sneakyness with tax. All properties in usa charge a tax, so included this in the booking, others don't. But if it isn't included it is generally stated (this is what I have encountered on booking.com, hostelworld etc for years). This is the first hostel/guest house/hotel/motel where the booking page mentions nothing of tax but when you arrive you must pay it. I didn't argue as I know tax has to be paid but it confused us and many others who were told they had a balance to pay to then be told it is 12% more. Just be aware of that when booking. If it is an absolute bargain wwhen you book then it is live able in however I warn you I won't be coming back, nor staying in an aae hostel again if this hostel is the benchmark. There is much better out there for cheaper or less.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a private I think but you have to walk through a dorm to get there... We stayed in room 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALUK1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Javier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbresius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
1.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AAE Santa Barbara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Santa Barbara Guest House

Address: 111 North Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing