We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Decent Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Barbara House by Hyatt
Ranked #51 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a separate building that is part of the Hyatt Santa Barbara which makes it nice as they permit you to use their pool, spa and workout facilities, all of which are nice! The only drawback is the main hotel is about a block away so you have to walk to go to the pool/spa.The spa could have been a little warmer and they pool attendant needs to make sure there are enough towels for guests. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Everything worked just fine and the Internet was fast & reliable. Fairly quiet location (although there are train tracks about a block away and you can hear the train horn once and a while). Overall, this is nice hotel that is well maintained and close to the beach!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Santa Barbara House by Hyatt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Big room, almost seemed an apartment, with living room and balcony, very comfortable bed. Quiet, good location, free parking but you need to check in at the Hyatt. Breakfast not included.
Only stayed for 1 night but would go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CristinaLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Pros- The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Free parking. Hyatt amenities included.

Cons- Dingy, dated, tiny, only somewhat clean, and very old bathroom. The TV reception was terrible. Santa Barbara or not, $100 a night should get you better than this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a very basic hotel annex for the Hyatt.
Staff allowed us early check in and will escort you to the rooms if needed, but its very straightforward & easy to find.
It was not noisy despite being close to the RR tracks.
Did NOT hear noise from elevator , nor other rooms.
Pretty standard room, good size, clean bathroom, linens and acceptably decorated.
It is close to the beach and the Child's Estate Zoo.
Regardless Santa Barbara isn't that big and you will find easy access to anything whether you are walking or driving.
The beach scene is great, broad palm lined boulevard, nice harbor, easy access to State Street [ the main street ].
I got what I thought was a great deal for a New Years weekend, less than $100 per night.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, obviously end units on the second floor your best best. Ample par...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

First, the pluses: The King bed was very comfortable. The check in staff and everyone else including the maids were very friendly and did their jobs well. We had a room near the elevator which some people have complained about, but we found if we kept the fan on all the time, the 'white noise' kept us from hearing anything. With so many good restaurants in SB, it's a shame to eat at a Happy Hour, but the Bistro at the Hyatt has great deals on it's drinks and excellant quality appetizers for $5 each, and a nice atmosphere and view of the beach. The staff there is also incredibly nice to talk with, and were hard working and efficient.
Now, the minuses: It's an older building and there's just so much you can do with it. The bathroom was Totally inadequate....tiny, with no room to store anything there bigger than your toothbrush. Had to keep my shaving kit and everything else out on the table with the tv on it in the living room. The hot water pressure in the sink was just a trickle, but the shower was pretty good. The biggest negative? The carpeting was disgusting....beyond threadbare with stains all over it. Yuck. I don't see how a hospitality company could allow such a thing to exist. You wouldn't find that at the recently renovated Motel 6 just down the street, and next time I'm in town, I think I'd just as soon stay there. Not replacing those carpets makes me wonder if they plan on knocking the whole thing down soon and put up a new building. I really wanted to like this place more, but I just can't give it a very good rating.

Room Tip: If you don't mind 'white noise', keep the fan on and you should have no problems with th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZcatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for 1 night with our 3 young children in a large size room with 2 queen beds and a baby crib. The baby crib was high quality and super clean. The crib was beautifully made up with a padded mattress and crib sheets, as well as, a lovely travel size assortment of baby toiletries! We thought this motel was fantastic value for money given its location, free parking and that it is owned and managed by the Hyatt which is 100m away. Guests have full access to the Hyatt's pool and facilities for fraction of the cost and the motel is 2 blocks from the beachfront. The mattresses, pillows, sheets, toiletries and towels are all high quality as they are the same as the Hyatt and we found the room and bathroom to be super clean. There is no front desk at the Motel as guests need to check-in at the Hyatt but for we had no issue with this as we didn't require assistance during our stay. We stayed on the 1st floor (top floor) of the motel and heard no noise from the corridors or our neighbors. We enjoyed our stay and felt our car was safe in the parking even though it wasn't secure (no homeless people in the empty parking lot across the street as reported by a previous reviewer). Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor (top floor) room to guarantee no noise from the room above.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Clean, quiet, great beds, great location, plenty of parking, friendly staff. You have full access to the Hyatt which is about 100 yards away. There is a park across the street. You can walk to the zoo and wildl

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Groverbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,444 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
427 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara House by Hyatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara House by Hyatt

Address: 424 Por La Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly The Parkside Inn)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £152 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara House by Hyatt 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Barbara House by Hyatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parkside Hotel Santa Barbara
Parkside Hotel Santa Barbara
Parkside Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing