We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my kids loved it!”

Santa Barbara Maritime Museum
Ranked #22 of 172 things to do in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the water's edge of the Santa Barbara Harbor, the Santa Barbara Maritime Museum contains exciting & educational exhibits set inside of nearly 8,000 square feet of Museum space. The Maritime Museum also offers a wide range of educational programs including docent tours, and Tall Ship tours. Admission also includes a series of films shown daily in our large screen, high-definition Munger Theater. Fun for the whole family!
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“my kids loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were lucky enough to visit on their monthly "free visit" day, so we didnt have pay-although we would have. My kids (8&10)enjoyed the treasure hunt that they were given upon arrival. The museum although on the smaller side, had some great displays. The staff was very nice and kind to my girls. We enjoyed walking around and searching for the answers to the hunt. We had fun visiting there, and would recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMSALYMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    57
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Found this place by accident it is not well advertised. Worth a visit and they do a quiz for kids which keeps them interested in the exhibits.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Les D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A lot of informative displays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The two-story museum doesn't seem very big, but they have a bunch of great displays packed into that space. Very cool section on diving helmets, showing the evolution of the technology. The area dedicated to surfing could be bigger, but still informative. There's a beautiful board on display with an abalone motif. The environmental exhibit was good - with a section describing the huge oil spill in Santa Barbara in 1969. The museum far exceeded my expectations.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JEBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of the harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you love things nautical, you'll find your way to the Santa Barbara Harbor anyway. Do yourself a favor and check out this place with its excellent displays and an elevator to the observation deck that affords you the best view in Santa Barbara!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Umbeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool museum.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

A lot of interesting things, if you have a lot of time in Santa Barbara and want to explore the whole nautical thing then check it out!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CreoleCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Barbara Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing