We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise!!”

Santa Barbara Maritime Museum
Ranked #22 of 172 things to do in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the water's edge of the Santa Barbara Harbor, the Santa Barbara Maritime Museum contains exciting & educational exhibits set inside of nearly 8,000 square feet of Museum space. The Maritime Museum also offers a wide range of educational programs including docent tours, and Tall Ship tours. Admission also includes a series of films shown daily in our large screen, high-definition Munger Theater. Fun for the whole family!
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprise!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

What a gem!! This Maritime Museum is a Hidden Treasure!! I learned things about Santa Barbara that I never knew before, even information on the history of the Channel Islands. After the Museum head to the Endless Summer for a Drink, the best view in Santa Barbara and the drinks and food were great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmsjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    57
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice museum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Very nice and interesting museum in front of the sea. I have been there lots times. Friendly staff. They organise many events during the year for children and families!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vaneila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Nautical theme, but with a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

TA reviews steered us to this hidden gem tucked away in a beautiful harbor setting. The fee to enter is well worth the couple hours needed to see all of the exhibits.

Favorites include: antiquated diving suits; Langlo the Boy Scout; area shipwrecks; Chumash, the early settlers; hands-on fishing.

Highlight was viewing the temporary Jack London, Photographer exhibit, a wonder surprise! A world-renowned journalist with a eye for the camera...magical photos depicting his life and travels, a must-see before Dec 2013.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shimadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This museum is great for older kids, teens and adults. There are very interesting exhibits and this is a must see for anyone who loves anything maritime. There are 2 levels and interactive exhibits to enjoy. We spent about 2 hours here, there were no crowds (we went on a Wednesday) and I would recommend this museum to others.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetowinbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“my kids loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were lucky enough to visit on their monthly "free visit" day, so we didnt have pay-although we would have. My kids (8&10)enjoyed the treasure hunt that they were given upon arrival. The museum although on the smaller side, had some great displays. The staff was very nice and kind to my girls. We enjoyed walking around and searching for the answers to the hunt. We had fun visiting there, and would recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMSALYMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Barbara Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing