We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Teaching Opportunity”

Santa Barbara Maritime Museum
Ranked #21 of 172 things to do in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the water's edge of the Santa Barbara Harbor, the Santa Barbara Maritime Museum contains exciting & educational exhibits set inside of nearly 8,000 square feet of Museum space. The Maritime Museum also offers a wide range of educational programs including docent tours, and Tall Ship tours. Admission also includes a series of films shown daily in our large screen, high-definition Munger Theater. Fun for the whole family!
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Teaching Opportunity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you have youngsters with an interest in the oceans, the museum offers many many chances to broaden and deepen their enthusiasm. Touching sea otter fur, models, working periscope, videos, a fishing station simulator, so many we'll conceived displays. Check it out!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    57
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good fun place to spend a couple of hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were late getting there in afternoon so they let us in for half price. Very interesting lots of info and exhibits Worth the visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome, manageable museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Great spot, kid friendly, very high quality, small museum. Treasure Hunt and prize for kids keeps them interested! Good combo of interactive exhibits and older historical ones.

Helpful?
Thank WLYER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this museum and were surprised at its coverage. It covered early Santa Barbara and its trading, the Chumash and their contributions, Point Conception with stories about its previous Keepers, disasters at sea, and had a full range of diving helmets and suits. Upstairs it had a neat periscope trained on the ocean outside the museum, a model of an oil rig showing how much is below the ocean surface, an interactive display where you can maneuver a boat into the harbor, surfing history, navigational tools, a section about the Santa Barbara oil spill and other things. We like the explanation of why they need to continually dredge the harbor. Very interesting, informative and fun. We also walked up to the tower for a great view of the harbor.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
1,069 reviews
531 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
“Much better than I expected.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I was expecting a small, out of date and very limited museum. What I got was a fabulous and wonderful small museum which had a great display. Wide variety of material on display from an incredible collection of early diving gear including multiple rate helmets to Important local and historic shipwrecks; even an interesting video on surfing. I have no interest in surfing but I found the movie so interesting I sat through the entire thing. I would also recommend the museum gift shop which was much better than most.

This is a place you should take the family especially children. I give it five stars easily. Then go next-door and have a great lunch. Or just go for a wonderful walk along the breakwater. The whole experience down there is wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Barbara Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing