We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent coffee from own roasted beans!”

Handlebar Coffee Roasters
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee from own roasted beans!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It's really hard to find good coffee in the USA, so we did a little research and found this place.
Not only the coffee is superb, the pastry is excellent too and the owners are wonderful people!
We could even watch how the beans are roasted within the shop and Aaron explained us every detail, very authentic and a great experience even for our kids!
We enjoyed our coffee and pastry and had great chats with the owners, will definitely come back here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Micha-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    32
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great coffee, wonderful staff and wonderful location”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I was introduced to Handlebar by a local on a recent trip. After my first cappuccino, I knew this is one of the best coffee stops I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. Along with Backporch Coffee in Bend Oregon, it represents the closest espresso to what you get in Italy. The taste of their own roasted beans is wonderful! You can really tell the barista's have been well trained and are very dedicated to their craft. Once discovered, I went back every day, sometimes twice a day, to enjoy the beverages. I spoke with the owner and he shared his vision of bringing a Euro style cafe to Santa Barbara, he has done it with great success. Overall very highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Top Top Top Coffee. Soooooo hard to find in the USA”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Cannot rave enough as a well travelled Aussie, there are very few coffee places I enjoy in my constant travels in the US, these guys have the right equipment, and know how to use it. It's sad that Starbucks down the street is busier!

No burnt beans, great balance and temperature and presentation.

Stoked to support them and to have them in my US base.

Adding a Renaud's Almond Croissant which they sell is pretty much a perfect combo. While sitting a looking at the 200 plus year old Presidio and mountains ain't bad either.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Join the locals for coffee...”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Handlebar is a small, out of the way, coffee bar you should definitely try when visiting Santa Barbara. The coffees and pastries are great and the service is very warm and friendly. They'll know you are a visitor because everyone else there is a local regular. It reminds me of a small neighborhood coffee bar in Rome or Paris. This is a great place to start your day in Santa Barbara.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PapaT0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“High quality coffee in delightfully inviting setting”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The owners and staff make customers feel genuinely welcomed and cared for. They roast their own beans and really take pride in the quality of the coffee and presentation. Not to mention selling Reanuad's amazing pastries!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Handlebar Coffee Roasters also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Handlebar Coffee Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing