We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Barbara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa Barbara Tourist Hostel
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Greetings:

The SB Tourist Hostel was referred to me by folks at a writing conference/workshop that I was attending.

I booked my stay well in advance, called to indicate that I needed a bottom bunk with a good bed due to my disability.
When I arrived approx. 3:20 p.m., I was greeted by a young woman/desk clerk who spoke in 'circles'. She told both me and my friend that regardless of my 5 day reservation priority is given to international visitors. Say what?
**No mention of this was expressed in the ' reservation confirmation' email.
She also said that she had just started the job 1 month ago....so we were extra patient.

Thankfully, my friend Steve was there to hear and witness this amazing turn of events.
After 10 minutes of listening to 'stuff' that made absolutely no sense we requested a conversation with the manager.
This person could not be located, according to the desk clerk.
Finally, the desk clerk showed us an upper bunk where 'I may' stay for one night @ $52.64.
"This is worse than the county jail", said my friend.

I had just traveled 3,600+ miles via airplane and automobile 'after' making a reservation which was denied at the front desk. Then, the desk clerk claims that I had paid for one night. The attitude was 'take it or leave it'.
Still, NO Manager to talk to.
We asked if there was another place to stay. The clerk suggested "cottage 2A" on Halley Street for another $91.84.
After driving over there, putting the key into the door and walking inside - we broke up laughing in disgust.

By this time, I couldn't move due to exhaustion and spine pain. The 'cottage' place was filthy, stained and stinking carpets, cold running shower water and a cheap bed complete with plastic cover and dirty sheets.
At a cost of $144.48, this is HORRID, unconscionable.

A refund of $91.84 will be appreciated. Please inform. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Thank you for your consideration of this request.

Sincerely,
Carole

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dartdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    14
    23
    65
See reviews for
3
22
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I cannot recommend this hostels. I've stayed in lots of hostels in my life. This one was the worst.
It is expensive, untidy and the guys at the front desk impersonal. The private rooms are even too small to open a suitcase. The bath rooms are not nice and the floors cold.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 223Anonymus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed a couple of days at SB Tourist Hostel in the beginning of January with a few friends, in a room for four people. The room was super cold at night, the furnitures really old and we had a big problem getting any (wifi) service in our room. Some rooms (like the one we stayed in) had an entrance outside the building so we had to walk around the building to get to the common shower room. It was pretty inconvenient when you had to use the loo at night. The kitchen looked pretty nasty and unclean so I never used it during my stay. The staff that worked and stayed there would sometimes use it, so it seems usable.

The positive thing I would say is that the location is big plus: the train station just on the other side of the road, the pier and state street only a three minutes walking distance away. The staff were also really friendly. The staff I talked to were all students at the college nearby. And it is also the usual place many international students would stay to find permanent accomodation before the school semester starts.

That was my first experience of staying at a hostel, more experienced travelers that stayed at the hostel said that the hostel was not decent enough, compared to other hostel at the same price range. Personally I would rather pay more to stay in a hotel, at least I wouldn't wake because of the cold in the middle of the night or a train running by.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walt Disney World, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hostel is so neglected. I've stayed in many hostels worldwide, this was by far the worst ever. I had a private room, cleanliness level barely acceptable, but the biggest problem is safety. The hostel is completely unsafe. I had a homeless man knocking on my window at 3 am, and won't go away, there's no one at the reception at night and no emergency number to call. I had to call the police, who arrived 15 mins later, took a walk around, found no one, then the police officer told me "In full disclosure, if he wanted to open this window, he can just pull it open". It was a horrible experience, thank God I was leaving the next morning. I was up all night of course, and as soon as someone from the staff arrived, I left.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler_world77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

we stayed in a private room in SB tourist hostel, the one (I guess they only have one) with a private bathroom for a night. all good and clean and quiet, it was a bit inconvenient that there were no bedlights, only one light on the ceilng. the second night we had to remove ourselves to a room without a private bathroom (it was known beforehand), and it was totally cool. communcal bathroom spacious and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhuGurragchaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djibouti, Djibouti
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

When we showed up we were told that we were in luck, they were down to their last private room and they had just told someone on the phone they still had it, but they weren't there yet so we could have it. Sucked for them I guess? Private room was about $100, didn't have an ensuite bathroom, and to get to the bathroom you had to go outside, all the way to the entrance, and then to the bathroom. Absolute rip off, could've stayed in much nicer places for the same price. Only good part is that the hostel was in walking distance of the State St bars...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMA_decky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This place sucks ... It's stinks ... The staff people are a bunch of snobs and for no reason... Place needs to be condemned!!! This hostel is only suitable for the roches that will crawl in bed with you while your sleeping... The people that were sleeping outside of this place in there sleeping bags had the right idea. Why pay to sleep in an outside environment, when u can do it for free!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M1dn1ghtR1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#28 of 52 in Santa Barbara
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.2 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Tourist Hostel

Property: Santa Barbara Tourist Hostel
Address: 134 Chapala Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3510
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new hostel located two blocks from the beach and one block to State Street, famous for it's nightlife, restaurants, Spanish architecture and shopping. We are directly opposite the train station and walking distance from the bus station, with plenty of bike parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Tourist Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing