We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brophy Bros.

Brophy Bros.
Ranked #10 of 528 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a casual seafood house that is located right on the dock in the Santa Barbara Harbor. You’ll find a bustling scene of fisherman, young professionals and sand-sprinkled beach-goers nearly every night of the week at this true-blue waterfront institution. Dungeness crab cocktail, oysters on the half-shell and fried shrimp round out the “small” menu offerings. Fresh fish specials, such as grilled white sea bass from local waters, mahi mahi dusted in Cajun spices and pan-blackened local yellowtail, are highlights on the “long” menu. No matter what, libations are always in order at this locals’ favorite gathering place. Everyone is welcome at Brophy's, hope to see you soon.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
301 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

What better place to have seafood than at a harbor side restaurant? We've eaten at Brophy Brothers many times because the food is fresh, service is good, and the setting is splendid. It is just basic seafood, plain and simple, but dependably fresh and delicious .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank L6953YVpaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    627
    205
    41
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
423 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Idle away the hours with sea view and see food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Brophy Bros is another of those places we always take visitors. Try and NOT go during the main meal times. The wait can be a bit long....but worth it. Get your clicker when you check in and then go the outside deck and belly up to the bar. In fact, if your wait seems too long-- just eat and drink there, if you don't mind standing.
Brophy's wins the best clam chowder year after year. Big debate always is whether to have the dozen oysters on the half shell first and then clam chowder of the reverse order. Neither is a bad choice.
A full bar with wicked Bloody Mary. Beer and wine; shooters, and a gorgeous view of the harbor, ocean and SB hills. What more could you ask for?
Enjoy

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDD1967_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Long Wait but Worth It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We went on a Tuesday evening not expecting the restaurant to be too crowded, and boy were we wrong! They have a great bar downstairs where we waited and ordered an app from the bar's small menu. Once we were seated upstairs, the meals we ordered were delicious! Very fresh seafood cooked with delicious flavors! We sat indoors (first available) but the outdoor tables look to have great views.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
230 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great View-Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a great restaurant right on the waterfront. We sat outside and really enjoyed the view. The food was great. The oyster shooters were spicy. The fish and chips were fantastic as well as the clam chowder. The service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Long wait, but freshest fish around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

You'll have to wait awhile, but the seafood is really wonderful. This is not an intimate restaurant, but best place to go for fresh fish. Wine list could use some help.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathe599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brophy Bros. also viewed

 

Been to Brophy Bros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing