We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing meal”

Toma Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Toma Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 529 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An amazing meal”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We were able to get a 6pm table and proceeded to have a 2+ hour dining experience. The waitstaff was knowledge and friendly. When our waiter was pulled away before we could order, another member of the staff covered and made sure we were assisted.

This is truly fine dining and worth the top rating. We had four courses of splitting dishes which gave us a chance to experience a number of their great flavors. We loved the Ahi cones as subtle and flavorful. The chopped Mediterranean salad was fresh with a dressing that we sopped up with the fresh house made the brought. The black spaghetti had a wonderful mix of flavors. The strawberry mousse finished the meal perfectly. A great meal. We would gladly go again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MC994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    991
    250
    77
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great food and attentive staff . Highly recommend. Loved the black spaghetti with calamari and clams and the chopped Mediterranean salad.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lucky find....”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently had a sumptuous dinner here. We were visiting friends and were staying at a nearby hotel and just happened to be passing Toma, read their menu and decided to take a chance, without asking friends their opinion. The food was delicious. Service was wonderful and the waiter really knew the menu and was able to describe the choices so we were confident in what to order. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone with discriminating taste. Its a favorite of locals which tells you a lot. Recommend reservations as they are usually very busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Best food of the trip. Not cheap but not outrageous either. Wait staff was great, but make a reservation. They fill up fast even on the weekdays!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greenclover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunn, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I had the first dinner of our honeymoon here last month. I had the black spaghetti (with squid ink!) and he had the lasagne. Both were OUTSTANDING. The service was friendly and attentive. The atmosphere is typical of any small Italian-type restaurant...and typically loud and close! But very nice - with the beach across the street and walking -paths it was a lovely stroll after dinner. The only thing I wishwe had done was order the tuna cones! The presentation is beautiful and so unique...and they looked delicious too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodNeighbors0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toma Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Toma Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing