We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stagecoach tavern serves delicious food!”
Review of Cold Spring Tavern

Cold Spring Tavern
Ranked #30 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stagecoach tavern serves delicious food!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stopped here en route to the Santa Ynez Valley. It had been recommended by friends. We each had a hamburger, mine with chili. Very good meat and the chili was tasty. Potato salad was okay, could have used a wee bit more seasoning, but I did not want to eat it all anyway. Service was excellent. We arrived at one on a Friday and did not have to wait at all. The road is scenic. The setting is woodsy. The ambience is historic and rustic...it is well over 100 years old. We loved it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizcraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    118
    24
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worst meal at a restaurant in a very long time!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The setting and the ambiance is wonderful but the compliments stop there.
I ordered the special which was Pecan crusted salmon. The wait was long for the food. The salmon was truly uncooked. The topping was not browned at all and the the fish was raw! The plate, however, was hot. Of course, I sent it back and waited again for a long time while my companions were eating their meal. The second time it came, it was at least cooked but lacking flavor and just not very good at all. My friend had the pork chop which she said was lousy with no taste as well. My son had the ribs which he loved! So....stick to the basics if you go there. The service was below average and it was pricey to boot!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cold Springs Run Eternal”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On our journey from San Luis Obispo to Santa Barbara, we decided to veer off our path a bit to check out Cold Springs Tavern, and we were all very happy we did! First of all, it's not that far out of the way, and it's a beautiful drive. My husband was afraid that it would be filled with tourists, and it was, but that's the point! It's primarily a dining destination for travelers, as it was when it was founded as a stagecoach tavern a hundred years ago, so it has stayed true to it's roots. (One reviewer complained that it is dirty and dusty. Really?! It's a hundred years old. See how you look when you're 100!)

When we arrived for lunch, there were several cars and motorcycles parked by the side of the road. Luckily, we had called ahead for a reservation, and they had a nice table waiting for us by the fireplace in the main room (a very welcome sight on a chilly day). The server immediately greeted us and took our drink order (a surprisingly decent wine/beer menu for such a small venue). When we perused the menu, we were surprised by how many items we wanted to try. Finally, we decided to order a cup of the wild game chile for the table, so we could all sample it, and it was a big hit all the way around. My husband ordered the biggest winner of the meal - the tender BBQ ribs simply fell off the bone and their sauce was flavorful and zesty, but not overly spicy. Two of us ordered the tri-tip sandwich, highly-recommended by TripAdvisor reviewers, and it was excellent, as promised. Not fancy, but deliciously prepared (remember: it's tri-tip, not tenderloin). Our daughter ordered the pulled pork sandwich and devoured it, also raving about the BBQ sauce. Their fare is simply prepared and very tasty, but not flashy. If you want gourmet, trendy fare, this isn't your place. But if you want a good quality, satisfying lunch in an historic setting, make the drive to Cold Springs, and you won't be sorry!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHound_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive to excellent lunch”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The drive is definitely part of the experience at Cold Spring Tavern. Pick a clear day for excellent views. We visited for lunch and everyone was very happy with their orders. The tri-tip sandwich with potato salad was a real winner. Highly recommended if you are in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TroyTeegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
269 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Gem in the Woods”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Loved this place. Set deep in a woodsy valley, it is hard to find down a steep and windy road (Stagecoach Road) but well worth the drive. Old wooden buildings that ooze character. Even on a Thursday in March for a late lunch it was quite busy. We had a 15 min\ute wait for a table which was acute table tucked in beside the fireplace. Service was very good. We ordered beers which included some large (22oz) local selections. The menu included chili and tritip (the specialities) as well as burgers and salads. I had the chili burger and wife had the tritp sandwich – both options on the lunch specials at $10.25 each. Both were excellent. Total cost was $46 including tax and tip – the large beer at $11 cost more than the burger??
A great little gem that is well worth a visit. It is all about the atmosphere

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whistledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cold Spring Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Cold Spring Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing