We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and varied menu”

Santa Barbara FisHouse
Ranked #21 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and varied menu”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This lively spot directly across from the beach offers great food and reasonable prices. The staff was attentive and accommodating and the food was really good. We enjoyed a late lunch and I'd go back. Santa Barbara FisHouse is a keeper.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    316
    105
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newark, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Food”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you want to eat at this place in the evening, get there early. It fills up. The prices are a bit much but the food quality, attentiveness, and amount is well worth the effort. Parking can be interesting so plan ahead.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoy the treasures of the sea in a lovely spot.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have reviewed this place before but it is worth more comment. Lynda and I just enjoyed another great meal there accompanied by a delicious wine and wonderful old fashioned bread.
Lynda enjoyed one of her favorites, oysters Rockefeller. She had about 8 large half/shell oysters on a large plate. They were each covered in a special vegetable sauce which was delightful. My first dish was fried scallops which just melted in the mouth. There were 6 or 8 of them and I wished it was a dozen. This was followed by a dish of chopped sea food which was perfectly prepared. Between the wine and the food we just floated home in a magical state of mind.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrBud_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“good food, strange service”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

our hostess seated us on the front patio and had to move us since the table had been reserved for someone else. no big deal to move but she should have known this.

we were still outside which is a treat when i come from northern california and can't eat outside often.

our server was not very knowledgeable about the wine list and couldn't talk about certain dishes since she was lactose intolerant. even if she can't try them, she should be able to share some words about the taste, etc.

my linguini and clams was really good but was too large to eat in one sitting. the mud pie dessert was tasty but also too big.

our server brought our check as we were eating dessert which is a huge no no in my book. we were still eating and she asked if she could close us out. my friend said "we aren't done" and was a lot nicer than i would have been at that point... two servers, neither of which was ours, were hovering on the patio waiting to close out our bill. what the hell? it was ONLY 930pm on a Thursday night.

i'd probably go back. maybe...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good spot for couples”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Fell into this place for lunch with my husband and daughter who is a toddler. The options were good, just a bit on the pricey side. Coconut mojito - Good, Coconut Shrimp - OK, I wouldn't order again. The fish and chips looked good we didn't order that though. Not really a place to bring a child, too much on the pricey side. Sole meal - was good.

I might return but for the price I am sure there are other options.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RCL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Barbara FisHouse also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Santa Barbara FisHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing