We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, perfectly adequate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Beachside Inn
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Stayed for 1 night, in the lovely Santa Barbara (wish we'd had more time to explore it! Such a beautiful place) at the Best Western.

Not a huge amount to report, free wifi was great, parking ample, room spacious, and they had no problem changing us to a twin bedded room at the last moment, due to a booking error by our travel agent.

Location is good, on the beachfront, just a short walk to the Wharf, which is lovely, well worth seeing. The restaurant right that the end of the Wharf (I think it was called Moby Dicks?? Or the Blue Whale?) was lovely, had a lobster, plus starter, plus glass of champagne, for 29 dollars.

Easy to check in, easy to check out, perfect for a simple overnight stay. Only gripes would be that firstly, part of the bathroom isn't behind a door (the sink is in the room, just separated by a wall) which is a little intimate if you're sharing with a friend! Also, the mugs in the room tasted of coffee, even when I'd filled them with hot water and tea! I don't think they were cleaned enough, and perhaps new mugs are needed, as they seem to be impregnated with the taste of coffee!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizpeters01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

The hotel ws rundown and shabby looking. The pool was small and no one picked up the towels so the same dirty towels were by the pool the next day. While I stayed at the hotel, they left a note on my door saying they would be cleaning the carpets the next day and to be careful when I got back to my room because the floor might be slippery. When I returned that afternoon my door was wide open and anyone could have walked in.
When I let the front desk know of the situation, they acted swiftly to correct the situation but it definitely undermined my confidence in the security of my room.
The location and price were great but I will never stay here again. It's just not worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKDennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

PROS:
The location of the hotel was great. It was easy to get to from the 101. It was in walking distance to many attractions and restaurants.

The continential breakfast was probably the best of our one week trip of California.

The staff was friendly.

Clean and fairly well maintained.

Reasonable price for Santa Barbara.

CONS:
Room was a little cramped.

Outside noises made it a loud stay. I am a light sleeper, and this made it a little hard to sleep. We had to open the windows to stand the temperature, which definitely added to the noise.

No airconditioning. They had a ceiling fan and some kind of air recirculation system, but it, for sure, was not air conditioning. Because we had inside facing bottom floor room, the air flow from open windows was limited. The room was pretty hot and stuffy even though the temperature outside was cool.

At checkout they sprung a $3.00 parking fee on us. It wasn't that big a deal cost-wise, but it pisses me off that they would do that when we had no expectation of that. Just another way to nickel and dime us. Because of this last point, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend. It's the tipping point.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanTheContinental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed here expecting a horrible stay due to the other reviews but were pleasantly suprised at the quaility of the hotel. Other reviews talked about paper thin walls, we heard no noise except car traffic as the hotel is right near the road. Also, the management has signs posted about noise and if someone is reported they will have to pay for the offended parties room. All hotels near sterns warf are right next to the road, so you can't complain about noise. The beds were comfy, rooms were clean. There is no AC. That was our only complaint. It got a little to warm for comfort. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelin_fam4571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This little gem was everything I was looking for. It was convenient to the beach,harbor and shopping. Awesome FREE breakfast and congenial staff. I would stay here again!!

Room Tip: Front desk will give you upgrades based on avail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenaj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

You know what you book when stay at BW Hotels. Clean, Nice Staff and good value. A Bit noisy but have a basic breakfast and a pool. Room is big with refrigerator and microwave. The only complaint we had was take our big luggages and up stairs to 2nd floor without elevator.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I had a wonderful stay. It is so close to the water and the breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelgal1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
506 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
1.5 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beachside Inn

Address: 336 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £94 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing