We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in Santa Barbara” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Good value in Santa Barbara”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My beachside room was clean and quiet. Wifi was reliable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free parking was a bonus since you can walk to Stearns Wharf and State St. Although there isn't a fitness center on site, the path just outside the hotel is great for running or biking. There's a small playground across the street too.

Room Tip: Views of sunrise and sunset are worth the upgrade to a beachside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2001kms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
The perfect description of our little piece of heaven on the waterfront...And could you believe, we have to suffer and work here also :))) Had to write that!!!!

Thanks so much!!!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    331
    144
    50
    33
See reviews for
299
352
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed there 30 years ago, Last week and would stay there again. Loved the staff, the breakfast, and the location is super. Clost to both wharfs. Excellent trolly system, and found Santa Barbara Very Clean!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi Diane,
How about if we see you in 30 days next time instead of 30 years. I think that's what I heard is happening. Say hello when you get in. Beautiful sunshine is waiting!!

All the best!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This really is right across the street from the marina and beach! A fabulous location for everything there is to do and see in Santa Barbara. We stay there every time we are in town. It's right around the corner from State St....... excellent restaurants and shopping!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank designerladyTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
That's it. The place to stay!!! See you soon designerlady. Santa Barbara awaits your return!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, CA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Nice location across the street from the waterfront; walking distance to beach, pier, harbor and many restaurants.. However, check your location for noise. I was across from ice machine and it was not good. The breakfast was OK and included in the price as well as the wifi which seemed to work OK.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi Robert,
Thanks for mentioning all the great things about us, but we are really sorry the darn ice machine disturbed you. We are actually in the process of moving our vending location to a nice secluded area where those noisy vending machines can go party in privacy and stop harassing my guests.

Sorry again....HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTEE, CA, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very satisfied with experience at this hotel. honored AAA rate as a walkin. Room was nice 1 bedroom apt, not spacoius but fine for our needs. on the beach and close to downtown. staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
My staff and I are so glad you had a good experience. Next time visiting, please ask for one of our larger harborview or parkside rooms. I'm sure we can find you a great rate when you return.

Thanks

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We love Santa Barbara - our 2nd visit (our first being in 2005). The hotel is not the most salubrious or the most glamorous or upmarket but location and price are good. We were given a harbour view room at the same reasonable rate of a standard room as we booked in for 3 nights which we then extended to 5.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with complimentary wi-fi & buffet breakfast (not the best) & very good, helpful staff. We liked our room, it had all we needed and would certainly use the hotel again. The harbour view really added to the experience especially as the weather was so sunny and warm while we were there. Although on the front with a main road running past we did not find it noisy or disturbing.

It's a good 15 to 20 minute walk to State Street where the main shops, dining & drinking establishments can be found. It is also a similar length walk to the pier but it is an enjoyable amble along the sea front - a little perturbing to see signs saying you are entering or are in a Tsunami zone!!!

The buffet breakfast had fruit, yoghurt, cereals, breads, bagels etc. along with a couple of hot items which never varied - the same 2 items every morning (sausage links & cheese omelette) which to me looked unappetising but my husband appreciated them?? Each to their own .....
At least you could fill up on a breakfast which then saw us through to our dinner in the evening.

We would certainly consider returning to the hotel and we certainly hope to return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thanks for all your kind words and most of all many, many thanks for saying you would return.
We can't ask for any better compliment than that!!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed for one night on our way up the coast. Got top floor room at the end; was quiet and had a nice view of the marina and Cabrillo road. Close enough to walk to the wharf and along the water or beautiful Spanish-style hotels lining the line across from the water. Fantastic dinner at the very end of the wharf (try the lobster tacos - yum!). Excellent value and great service. Everything you'd expect from a Best Western, including a very good breakfast (I supplemented what they offered with my own gluten-free options). Only thing I didn't love was the louvered (slats) bathroom doors, not complete privacy but not bad actually as there are two sets of doors and a decent fan.

Room Tip: Top floor room at the end - 322 was good. Quiet, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GForce2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your nice words. And please know we have now added a few gluten free items to our breakfast to accommodate guests such as yourself. We're on it as always, listening to our guests on a daily basis.

Enjoy your day and many thanks!!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
Address: 336 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing