We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Santa Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Beachside Inn
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay at Santa Barbara”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nice hotel, excellent service, very well located (in front of the beach, not far away the main street), near an excellent restaurant! I will come back, for sure! Highly recommended. Just in front the beach. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 478christiand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks 478christiand...
All I can say is Gracias and see you next time...And thanks for recognizing Toma as our amazing restaurant...It surely is as everyone knows by now!!

See you soon

HJRobbins -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    347
    148
    51
    36
See reviews for
315
367
34
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geyserville, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Young man who checked us in was delightful! So nice, helpful and cheerful with out being annoying or intrusive! He made me love this place! I can't give it more then three based on age. But room was very comfortable and spotless. It is an old hotel but has fresh paint and title and good bed. Was a bit noisy at first being on a busy road and our balcony is located very close but I was not disturbed all night. it is nice to have the big sliding door for fresh air! Grounds of hotel are very clean. Pool looked inviting. Breakfast had a lot to offer though we did not eat. Coffee is out all day and was VERY good! Nice fruit water available all day too. We' llreturn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiannaC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks Diannac20,
We all try and pamper our 67 year old little hotel everyday with a touch of kindness. She deserves it and we love what we do. As you experienced, its reflected in the demeanor of our staff. Also happy to say a nice upgrade has begun for our little hotel with lot's of great new upgrades scheduled for now and the future. Come back and visit and I'm sure that 3 can be stretched to a 4 or beyond next time. Thanks for the kind words.
See you soon..HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

stayed only one night in late March - really nice room, great location - had room with view of Marina etc. Staff was especially helpful with excellent fish and Mexican restaurant suggestions, directions to those and other sites, answered numerous questions, just a very good and pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 218stewartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks 218stewartj,
We all work very hard every day working in this great city. We enjoy what we do so I'm glad it was able to be reflected in our attention to your needs. "Thats what we live for"... Really, taking care of our guests..

HJRobbins- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Location: Good location across from the docks and an easy walk along the beachfront.

Price: More reasonable than other waterfront places.

Room: Got a room facing the pool which was tiny and noisy. Half the size, and a similar style, of a room at Motel 6 but twice the price. Bathroom and shower were very small. A microwave and fridge are in the room. Bed was comfortable.

Breakfast: Better than most "continentals" but quite limited with options (and yes the egg/cheese dish looked disgusting but tasted ok). They could make a few simple easy changes to make breakfast a better experience.

Staff: Front desk staff were TERRIFIC (except for the one Caucasian man who was yelling at an employee late in the evening...he didn't hear me walk up to the front desk. I'm Caucasian and found it embarrassing. The young man being yelled at was exceptionally pleasant to me and my colleagues earlier in the evening. I'm not sure if it was a supervisor or another employee...but no one should be treated this way.)

My room on the first floor next to the pool was way too small, a limited value compared to the cost, breakfast was quite marginal, and (in the end) an employee (supervisor?) talking very disrespectfully to another employee (who was GREAT to the customers) was just not OK for me. I'll try a different location next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi CharlotteAnne,
Thanks for the positive feedback about MOST of the staff. I heard about the incident in question and have addressed it personally with the person involved. You are absolutely right regardless.
Please accept out apologies.
As for the rooms...GREAT news, I have secured significant funding to upgrade the entire hotel which is underway as we speak. I wasn't able to increase the room sizes on the few smaller rooms we have but we are modernizing everything as best as we can.
Please give us another try and I'm confident you will be pleasantly surprised.

Thanks HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

i just returned from a 3 night stay at the Best Western Beachside and i was really happy with our hotel choice.

pros:
the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. in particular, Nick and Mohamed at the front desk shared many tips about places to visit and things to see.

location, location, location. nearly everything we wanted to see and do was within walking distance and the water is right across the street.

super comfy bed! they had 4 pillows on each bed, of different comfort levels so you could mix and match or use all 4!

clean room! i felt that i could walk around barefoot on the carpets.

bright room during the day but really great room darkening curtains for nighttime. nice touch!

cons:
housekeeping knocking at our door at 9am Friday to see if they could clean our room. on Saturday, they had not cleaned our room when we returned at 230pm. why did they not know the specifics of the length of our stay?

breakfast would be so much better with a waffle maker. the sausage links and cheese + egg dish looked disgusting. it wasn't until our last morning that we saw the oatmeal packets and those would have been preferred to the cereal choices.

super thin walls. 1) a group was partying in the room next to us and i had to call the front desk at 3am to complain. in fairness, the person i spoke to was really understanding and expected that of the group and offered to kick them out if they didn't quiet down. 2) we had kids screaming and yelling in the room on the other side of us two nights. 3) screaming kids at the pool were audible at 830am on weekend mornings. i was on vacation and didn't want to hear that in the morning.

all in all i would go back. definitely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi harbrs!

Thanks SO much for the great feedback and the mentioning Nick and Mohammed. They are great!!
As for the noise;;" I can not tell a lie" It happens more often than I would like, however we deal with it as best as possible every time as you had experienced. People have just to much fun at our hotel so they often lose their minds and the parties begin..It''s a catch 22 scenario and we're trying to help everyone!! Glad you're coming back, that's what matters.

See you soon...HJRobbins -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Awsome management--so worth it to get a harborview room however rooms on the parkside are good and the park was quiet. We walked to sterns wharf, brophys fish house on the marina warf and many other good spots to eat. Will come back to stay here again! Breakfast and night cookies were very good. People were being upgraded to nicer rooms as they checked in and hotel was 95% full. Parking was only 3.00 and well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Kay,

I guess you had a good/great time..That's it. It always happens when you come to the Beachside Inn. Its just too much fun here. And wait until our upgrades and renovations get completed. Heaven on earth with be right here on the Santa Barbara waterfront.

Of course, there is an occasional cosmic glitch in the universe causing us to faulter so to those involved we apologize in advance and know we always try our best!!

Thanks so much! HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Lovely accommodations good view of harbor and beach, close to fun activities. In walking distance of wine tasting rooms, the wharf and harbor our in walking distance. The good news, is the hotel has parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Beverly,

Fun, food, location and parking..What else can you need? We just add the best staff in Santa Barbara and you are all set. See you soon and thanks for the kind words...

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beachside Inn

Property: Best Western Beachside Inn
Address: 336 W Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing