We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave.... I'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 October 2012

From the moment we arrived, this place exceeded any and every expectation. Parents were upgraded to a suite as a birthday treat and even got cakes! We were lucky to arrive on the last wine tasting evening of the season, which was on the roof top terrace. What a superb sophisticated evening to set off our stay.
The bedrooms were beautiful. I'm not sure the pictures even do them justice.
We got to use the free bikes to ride around SB - great fun.
Any and every staff member encountered genuinely behaved with care and service was exceptional.
I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: There can't be any bad rooms at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Hi handif,

We are so happy to hear about your wonderful experience with us. I am sure the cupcakes from one of our local faves didn't hurt but it is great to hear how much you enjoyed your time. It is memories like yours that we take great pride in creating. Thank you so much for the phenomenal review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel certainly lived up to it's "Kimpton" standards, which keeping withing the traditional Spanish vibe of Santa Barbara. Everything was clean, lovely, staff was very attentive and helpful, and wine hour is always a plus (everyday from 5-6, wine is served in the lobby!). Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3, but they checked our bags and being so close to State street, we decided to walk around a bit. When we came back to finally check in, they had upgraded our room for being so patient. Nice touch and a great start to a getaway. The rooftop pool area was the perfect quiet lounge (and would be a great party spot). We took full advantage of having "room service" deliver us lunch while we lounged one day.

The only negative I can think of was, there was a strange smell to the tap water in the bathroom. Otherwise, our stay here couldn't have been more perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Hi o_nate_o,

Thanks for sharing that we meet the high expectations of being a Kimpton hotel. We are new to the Kimpton brand but have enjoyed adding the nice touches like wine hour. Our staff is extremely grateful when they hear how much their kind efforts help make people's stay and we couldn't be happier to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Great welcome from the team and we were immediatley moved when seeing that our room was on the corner of the main street and we feared traffic noise. The add-on was USD205 and we charged USD75, a nice touch. Room was very efficient and clean, bed comfortable.

Great roof terrace with pool and wonderful views.

This place is a little gem in the heart of town, giving easy access to explore.

Super efficient staff, go there if staying in Santa Barbara. We had to ove on the the Harbor View Hotel, see seprate review and would have preferred to stary here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thanks for the review WFN!

We sincerely appreciate the recommendation and are happy you were able to move to a room that met your needs. While we are located in a downtown location which brings louder ambient noise at times, it is nice to hear we could find a quieter spot for you to enjoy your stay from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Great location in the heart of downtown. Friendly and cooperative staff. Rooms were a bit small and hard for a couple to spread out in. The wine tasting should have had local wines rather than Argentina. Roof top pool and lounge area gave an amazing whew of the city. Would stay again

Room Tip: Small sum for upgrade might be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steverA8718SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Greetings rozfishski,

We are excited to hear our location and staff were a treat for you to encounter during your stay! In response to your wine comment, we feature wines as a nationwide Kimpton effort to support wineries that have significant philanthropic programs as well as eco-friendly wines which speaks to this month's wine, Sensual, from Argentina. As we would love to feature wines that speak to our local area it is pretty cool that our entire company is supporting those wineries that give back in some way.

Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is a lovely hotel right in the heart of Santa Barbara, easy walking to all the shops and restaurants. We were warmluy welcomed from the valet to the front desk and were personally welcomed by the GM who proceeded to offer a glass of wine and appetiser. When we finally ambled up to our room, we were again pleased with what we found a tastefully decorated room with four poster bed, fabulous bedding, a feeling of a bedroom rather than a hotel room. The bath amenities especially the soap were all lovely. Check out the mini bar and dresser drawer; this place has thought of everything !
Our only regret was that we hadn't booked an additional night. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Hi sheila h,

We too wish you could have stayed for another night! It is fantastic to hear you felt the warmth of our hospitality through everyone's efforts. Seeing as how Tustin is not that far from us we hope you will get a chance to return sooner than later. Thanks for the kind words and we hope to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

[I would give it 3-1/2 stars, definitely not 4.]

The good:
- We stayed in a one bedroom suite--it was comfortable, spacious, and charming.
- The bed was very comfortable.
- Well located in town, walking distance to many lovely restaurants and nice shopping.
- 1.5 miles from Stearns Wharf/ the beach.
- Free access to outstanding gym next door.
- Excellent chocolate chip cookies packed in boxed lunch.
- The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

The bad:
- Flat screen TVs, not high definition. How can a hotel like this ($545/ night) not have high definition? Not even in the bar?! When I inquired at the front desk I was told that they were a "boutique hotel" and people who stay in places like this don't watch TV. (There were three TVs in our room--no one watches them?!!) Who in this day and age does not watch high definition in their home? Why would you expect less in a "boutique hotel"?
- Not very quiet. The room overlooked Carrillo Street. Windows are not double paned so you hear every noise--including the garbage truck backing up under your window at 6 on Saturday morning. (Two sides of the hotel overlook busy streets.)
- Not very quiet part 2: not much room to room privacy. The antics of our neighbors could be heard--at first my husband thought he should call the police, truly thought an assault was going on. Eventually realized his error.
- Car from valet parking/ taxi never available when requested...be sure to build in extra time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cathleenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Greetings cathleenmarie,

Thank you for your valuable feedback noting both the highs and lows of your stay. You have spoken and we have listened! As a part of our recent transition to Kimpton one of our projects is to have all our guest rooms outfitted with HD programming in the very near future. We understand technology is for important for everyone and regardless of our boutique environment it is unacceptable to not meet the expectations of our guests. Thanks for noting that, our goal is to be a leader in our industry and exceed every single one of our guest's expectations. Your feedback is essential in us completing that goal, thanks so much for providing us with your voice. Please come see us again in the future so you can see the updates that have taken place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Our family stayed 3 nights at this hotel, if only we could stay longer. If I could write a negative remark, I would, so all I can say is, stay at this hotel. Lovely appointed fresh rooms, clean with up to date cooling/heating. Quiet rooms, with attentive and welcoming staff. The bar / restaurant was lovely also.
As for the pool on the roof, amazing views, clean and just a lovely place to be. The position must also be considered at it is minutes from shops, restaurants and everything you need.
I have stayed in some top hotels, this is one of our favorites and if we get the chance to return to this part of the world, we will be staying at this hotel, longer.
This view is also the view of my wife and 8 year old twin daughters. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thanks a million for the review Nick A!

It is great to hear you enjoyed everything the property has to offer. We too hope you, your wife and the twins can come visit us again. Thanks for the wonderful words, we will keep working to ensure many more people have the same experience as you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,060 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £252 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing