We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Spanish Garden Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Presidio Motel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson House Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
787
249
69
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
249
69
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolfinch and forkfour poster bedstate streetwine houroutdoor fireplacedowntown santa barbaracomplimentary winebeautiful hoteldog friendly hotelhardwood floorsvalet staffupgraded to a suiteour honeymoonshops and restaurantshot tubmorning coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
998 - 1,003 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I went to Santa Barbara with two 'girlfriends' for a get-a-way. We picked the Canary Hotel because it's a Kimpton and it's location. The hotel is located right in the middle of the wonderful State Street shopping area! We arrived to a most welcoming staff who couldn't have been kinder. As our rooms were not ready (we were early) they recommended we have lunch up on the roof where we could enjoy the 360 degree view of Santa Barbara. We ordered our lunch in their restaurant and went up top to enjoy the sun and view. Spectacular and the food was wonderful. Our rooms were lovely with four poster beds, beautiful ammenities such as a warm robe, slippers, turn down service - and the most comfortable hotel! I especially want to compliment David who was our bellman. He was charming, helpful and very kind. He's a wonderful young man and the represents the hotel in a most gracious way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joangosewisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Hi there San_DiegoJoan,

It was such a treat having you and your girlfriends stay with us. From the moment you checked in we could tell you were here to enjoy everything we could offer to you and I am glad to see you took full advantage! Thank you for the kudos regarding David as well! It is our employees who go above and beyond that truly make a difference. We hope to see you and the rest of the ladies the next time you decide on getting away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

From the moment we arrived, this place exceeded any and every expectation. Parents were upgraded to a suite as a birthday treat and even got cakes! We were lucky to arrive on the last wine tasting evening of the season, which was on the roof top terrace. What a superb sophisticated evening to set off our stay.
The bedrooms were beautiful. I'm not sure the pictures even do them justice.
We got to use the free bikes to ride around SB - great fun.
Any and every staff member encountered genuinely behaved with care and service was exceptional.
I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: There can't be any bad rooms at this hotel!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Hi handif,

We are so happy to hear about your wonderful experience with us. I am sure the cupcakes from one of our local faves didn't hurt but it is great to hear how much you enjoyed your time. It is memories like yours that we take great pride in creating. Thank you so much for the phenomenal review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel certainly lived up to it's "Kimpton" standards, which keeping withing the traditional Spanish vibe of Santa Barbara. Everything was clean, lovely, staff was very attentive and helpful, and wine hour is always a plus (everyday from 5-6, wine is served in the lobby!). Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3, but they checked our bags and being so close to State street, we decided to walk around a bit. When we came back to finally check in, they had upgraded our room for being so patient. Nice touch and a great start to a getaway. The rooftop pool area was the perfect quiet lounge (and would be a great party spot). We took full advantage of having "room service" deliver us lunch while we lounged one day.

The only negative I can think of was, there was a strange smell to the tap water in the bathroom. Otherwise, our stay here couldn't have been more perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Hi o_nate_o,

Thanks for sharing that we meet the high expectations of being a Kimpton hotel. We are new to the Kimpton brand but have enjoyed adding the nice touches like wine hour. Our staff is extremely grateful when they hear how much their kind efforts help make people's stay and we couldn't be happier to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Great welcome from the team and we were immediatley moved when seeing that our room was on the corner of the main street and we feared traffic noise. The add-on was USD205 and we charged USD75, a nice touch. Room was very efficient and clean, bed comfortable.

Great roof terrace with pool and wonderful views.

This place is a little gem in the heart of town, giving easy access to explore.

Super efficient staff, go there if staying in Santa Barbara. We had to ove on the the Harbor View Hotel, see seprate review and would have preferred to stary here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thanks for the review WFN!

We sincerely appreciate the recommendation and are happy you were able to move to a room that met your needs. While we are located in a downtown location which brings louder ambient noise at times, it is nice to hear we could find a quieter spot for you to enjoy your stay from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Great location in the heart of downtown. Friendly and cooperative staff. Rooms were a bit small and hard for a couple to spread out in. The wine tasting should have had local wines rather than Argentina. Roof top pool and lounge area gave an amazing whew of the city. Would stay again

Room Tip: Small sum for upgrade might be worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steverA8718SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Greetings rozfishski,

We are excited to hear our location and staff were a treat for you to encounter during your stay! In response to your wine comment, we feature wines as a nationwide Kimpton effort to support wineries that have significant philanthropic programs as well as eco-friendly wines which speaks to this month's wine, Sensual, from Argentina. As we would love to feature wines that speak to our local area it is pretty cool that our entire company is supporting those wineries that give back in some way.

Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews