We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel choice with friendly, knowledgable staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel choice with friendly, knowledgable staff”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed at the Canary this past week and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The location is just off State Street, the main street with stores/restaurants. It was located about 1/2 mile from the beach but the hotel offers complimentary beach cruisers or there is a shuttle for 50 cents that runs from the wharf if you don't want to walk. There did not seem to be any higher end hotels along the beach.

The rooftop pool was great and offered amazing views of the Santa Ynez mountains and the ocean. There is also a fireplace up there surrounded by comfortable couches and lounge chairs.

The front desk and valet staff were really the highlight of our stay. They were so friendly and gave great ideas/advice on restaurants and what to do. The hotel also has great touches such as complimentary wine in the evening and yoga mats in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear merboston,
Thank you so much! We are so pleased you chose us as well! I really appreciate what you said about our super friendly front desk and valet teams. They really are awesome and so knowledgeable about the area - it’s great you gave yourself the time to take advantage of it all!
Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    222
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
203
562
35
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to Santa Barbara for our year anniversary and the Canary made it such a wonderful experience. The hotel itself is so nice that I felt like we really didn't have to leave since there's the wine reception, restaurant and roof top pool/lounge. It was a perfect place to just relax and enjoy. The concierge was able to find us a restaurant that had vegetarian cuisine (for me) and meat (for him) so we were both happy with the choice. Plus, because of the downtown location of the hotel, we could walk to the restaurant and pretty much anywhere we wanted to go. I love Kimpton and this hotel is a perfect addition to the Kimpton family. All the staff are willing to make every attempt to make your stay special, and for us, they did. I can't wait to go back to my home away from home.

Room Tip: We asked for an ocean view and it was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekah16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Hi Bekah16,
I am so glad you had such a wonderful anniversary…and that you spent it with us! It sounds like your boyfriend knew just what you needed for a relaxing getaway and we are so happy to have helped. Please give him a big hug from us! Happy anniversary – we hope to see you for the next one!
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I have stayed at the Canary several times in the past on romantic getaways. It is in my opinion the best property in Santa Barbara. Easily located in downtown, in close proximity to shopping and restaurants. You walk out the lobby doors and you are there. The beds are out of the world and the decor is exquisite. Everything from the rugs and tapestries on the walls to the beautiful four poster beds and comfy linens is fabulous. Beyond this, the level of customer service provided should be appreciated. A greeting from Ivania, welcoming us back and remembering us from our last trip almost 6 months ago was remarkable. Everyone from the bell staff to valet, to front desk and management, a trip to the Canary is a true hotel experience that will satisfy all your senses.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachCaliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear BeachCaliGirl,
Oh my gosh, you are amazing! Thank you so much for your review and especially for calling us the best property in Santa Barbara! Wow! You are so sweet to write about our hotel and our team and specifically about our wonderful Ivania. She is very special to us and I’m so glad you got to experience the reasons why. Thank you again so much! We hope to see you again very soon!
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We chose Canary over other high-end Santa Barbara hotels in part because it is a member of the Kimpton chain. It certainly is a high-quality facility in a fabulous location, but it only recently joined Kimpton and still has a way to go before getting fully up to what I view as Kimpton standards.

First, the good. As already noted, the location is great! The facilities are spotlessly clean, and the canopy bed in our room was both beautiful and supremely comfortable. The room was a bit cramped, but adequate in size.

Our first disappointment was that the members of the staff, while very friendly, simply did not seem able to be as helpful as they perhaps wanted to be. They were very short on information. I suspect it is a generally inexperienced staff, and improvement will come with experience.

Perhaps our biggest complaint was with the in-room lighting. The light both in the bedroom and the bath was simply inadequate. I will admit that lighting is a pet complaint of ours, but I am continually mystified that hotels, especially expensive hotels like Canary, fail to understand that lights are for the primary purpose of allowing people to see.

As my wife was quick to point out, they also came up short on some of the decor. In particular, we were amazed that they could have possibly chosen that particular wallpaper to go with the lovely tile work in the bathroom. Both the style and the color failed to match, or even blend. Perhaps that's a nit-picking point, but it is after all a rather expensive facility.

That all said, were we returning to Santa Barbara, we would probably return to Canary because of the location. And, I feel confident that, given more time, Kimpton will iron out the wrinkles.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Ronald G,
First off, thank you for all the kind words – both about The Canary and Kimpton! You are right, our location and facilities are wonderfully situated in the middle of the action as well as clean & comfortable – especially our beautiful canopy beds! While I am grateful for the compliments, I am sorry you experienced our growing pains and so appreciate the optimism for change and our opportunities to grow here. Our team is especially friendly and indeed still learning a bit so their true personalities and “Kimpton-ness” will show through in time. You will also be happy to know that our design team has already been hard at work here and we have some new installations to enhance both design and lighting so you will have to come visit us again to see all we are up to! So again, thank you for the feedback and the confidence. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
All my best,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed at The Canary Hotel as part of trip from San Fransico to Los Angeles - and completely loved it. It's right in the centre of Santa Barbara, close to everything - but the real enjoyment is in the detail.

The staff are friendly and welcoming: there's free wine in the lobby every evening (hurrah!) and there are free gym passes for all guests to next door's Spectrum (more Average Joe's than Global Gym for Dodgeball fans).

But this is a hotel where we wanted to touch everything and pick everything up, such is the attention to detail. The fabulous Spanish/US design combination is complemented by tiny touches: a plastic frog to play with in the bath: funky zebra-striped bath robes: a yoga mat and yoga DVD in the closet: beautiful mirrors in the hall and some lovely art in the bedrooms.

But the real joy is the rooftop terrace. Sitting up here with a glass of wine watching the sun set over the Santa Ynez mountains was one of the standout moments of the trip. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 416 was absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trainers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Trainers1,
We are so glad you had such a lovely time here at the Canary! We really have a great time coming up with the little details that make a big difference and I am thrilled that you loved them as much as we do. As you found out, fun and balance are both important to us too, so I’m glad you took advantage of the yoga and fitness opportunities next door as well the wine hour! Capped off by a gorgeous rooftop sunset? It really doesn’t get any better than that. Thank you so much for taking the time to write. I hope we get to see you again soon!
Best,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanmore
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We have just spent a couple of days at this wonderful hotel. As you walk though the door you are greeted by the most friendly staff who cannot do enough to help you. I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel with friendlier staff. The rooms are beautiful as are all the common parts of the hotel. The rooftop pool is gorgeous and the sunbeds are so comfortable.
Breakfast too was lovely, this hotel is a real gem!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Melissa1611,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! Our team takes pride in taking care and connecting with our guests and I am so glad you felt the love! We are incredibly fortunate to have the perfect combination of a great team, beautiful hotel and restaurant and gorgeous views. So glad you enjoyed it! Can't wait to have you back!
All my best,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I went to Santa Barbara with two 'girlfriends' for a get-a-way. We picked the Canary Hotel because it's a Kimpton and it's location. The hotel is located right in the middle of the wonderful State Street shopping area! We arrived to a most welcoming staff who couldn't have been kinder. As our rooms were not ready (we were early) they recommended we have lunch up on the roof where we could enjoy the 360 degree view of Santa Barbara. We ordered our lunch in their restaurant and went up top to enjoy the sun and view. Spectacular and the food was wonderful. Our rooms were lovely with four poster beds, beautiful ammenities such as a warm robe, slippers, turn down service - and the most comfortable hotel! I especially want to compliment David who was our bellman. He was charming, helpful and very kind. He's a wonderful young man and the represents the hotel in a most gracious way.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joangosewisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Hi there San_DiegoJoan,

It was such a treat having you and your girlfriends stay with us. From the moment you checked in we could tell you were here to enjoy everything we could offer to you and I am glad to see you took full advantage! Thank you for the kudos regarding David as well! It is our employees who go above and beyond that truly make a difference. We hope to see you and the rest of the ladies the next time you decide on getting away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
998 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing