We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I am a fan of Kimpton, but The Canary has exceeded my expectations.

I just had a wonderful faultless stay. I was fortunate enough to get an upgrade to a fantastic corner room (Jr. Suite actually), which was spacious, beautifully decorated, and had panoramic views over Santa Barbara and to the ocean. The service was typical Kimpton, easygoing but efficient and gracious and welcoming. Valet Parking was easy and prompt, and the door staff was excellent. The rooftop pool area is a nice added touch. The location is in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, one block from State Street, which was nice. Turndown service was nicely done as well. The room itself was the nicest Kimpton room I have ever stayed in.

I continue to be impressed with the value Kimpton offers in all their properties; they have these four-star properties that somehow feel more like five-stars to me.

Unfortunately, I was born and raised with the hyper-critical gene; I am perpetually looking for fault, no matter how minor; but in this case, I had a perfect stay. There is nothing to criticize about this fantastic property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    211
    61
    17
    6
See reviews for
194
541
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Nice clean hotel in a great location close to State St and everything you need. The beds were comfortable and the staff, as always in Kimpton hotels, was fantastic. If I could make a change, I would add more light in the bathrooms. Our bathroom was dimly lit; not great for make up applications or putting on contact lenses! Breakfast in their restaurant was very good. Try the Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Blueberries. You will not be disappointed. Smoothie was a child size portion, so not so happy about that.

Room Tip: We had room 508 which had a nice balcony and tree views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights -we were in Santa Barbara for a wedding. Room was very nice although small for 4 people- we had 2 double beds.
Woman at front desk had an attitude but was helpful. Rooftop pool area was great. There is no little shop to buy things in the hotel but we were directed to a supermarket which is on the opposite corner

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Canary is such a beautiful, cozy hotel. It is beautifully decorated, large rooms with canopy beds. The roof top with the pool, hot tub and fireplace overlooking the mountains in one direction and the beach in another. Every day from 5 to 6pm there is free wine in the quaint lobby. the bar and restaurant was also excellent. Just a great place to stay.!!!!

Room Tip: When asked if we could get a break on the valet fee ($25. per day) the man could not but upgraded ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay at the Canary Hotel Santa Barbara! Outstanding service from the front door to the late night dinner! With my girlfriends for my sons wedding! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Santa Barbara!!
Thank you Canary for the epic experience...

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Silverbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My spouse and I spent a weekend in California and our first stop was the Canary Hotel. Since I am an Inner Circle member with Kimpton's loyalty program, I was able to experience this night for free under their "new hotels" perks. The free stay also included a $50 dining credit that we could use at their in-house restaurant (Finch and Fork). First off, the location is great - only a minute or so from the main freeway right in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara. There is valet parking at the hotel for a fee, but we chose to park on the street for free a block away. We were given a nice JR suite upgrade at check in and a delicious welcome amenity of red-velvet cupcakes. The restaurant was delicious and all of the staff were fantastic and friendly. The bed in the room was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in (I travel about 70-80 nights a year in hotels)! You can walk to many shops and restaurants from the hotel and they have a partnership with the full-service gym next door for a great workout. Next time I am in town I won't hesitate to stay with Kimpton again at the Canary!

Room Tip: As for a goldfish if you're lonely - :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaucello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames IA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We went to Santa Barbara to celebrate the end of a long medical journey, opting for the Canary because Kimpton has always met my desire for unique, intimate and interesting hotels. The Canary set a new standard for excellence: a knowledgeable, enthusiastic and welcoming staff, a great location, a stunning room, great views and oh, that rooftop deck! I stay at Kimptons because they value quality and service; the staff of the Canary exemplified -- and exceeded-- Kimpton's standards. I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dschumac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#22 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing