We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adorable”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We had a one night stay in Santa Barbara and came across this kingpin hotel and I am sure glad we did! Staff is pleasant room size is perfect. Pool area has amazing views I would stay here again in a heart beat

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    227
    63
    17
    6
See reviews for
212
569
35
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed two nights at this very charming boutique hotel. Booked two Superior Guest Rooms.

Hubbie and I requested for, and were designated Rm 422 (a non-pet room) and our friends who were traveling with two small dogs were given a corner room, 405.

Pros:
• We couldn’t be happier with our rooms – very clean (exception was the fur balls under a drawer unit in our friend’s pet-friendly room), charming decor and lovely ambient lighting, quality toiletries and a King sized bed in each room.

• Every window was double-glazed which we appreciated as the hotel is located a stone’s throw from State Street. Once the windows were shut, we heard absolutely no noise from outside.

• Front staff and valets were excellent. Wesley at the Reception especially, who checked us in (and out!) and answered all our inquiries patiently. Mahalo Wesley!

• Rooftop deck with pool area, jacuzzi and fireplace was gorgeous. The day we arrived, there was a private event taking place at the rooftop area adjacent to the pool. Thus we thought we were not allowed up. The next day we found out that we could have in fact, enjoyed the pool area then but no one informed us about it.

Cons:
• What we found lacking, as mentioned by other reviewers, was a Hotel Directory of Services in our rooms. When we needed any information about the Hotel Facilities and Rooftop area usage, we had to inquire with the Front Desk or just find out about it after the fact.

• No complimentary bottled water or coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Sure, as Kimpton InTouch members, we were given a once-visit allowance to ‘Raid the Bar’. With the usual mini-bar prices, $10 translated to a bottle of spring water and a juice per stay. Hmm. Sure, coffee and tea were served in the lobby in the mornings and water thereafter throughout the day, but nothing compares to making your own hot chocolate in your room on a cold Santa Barbara evening!

Overall, we had a terrific stay. We enjoyed especially dinner at Jane Restaurant, killer ice creams at McConnell’s and shopping at Plum Goods, all located on State Street.

Room Tip: Our Superior rooms were both lovely with city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happy2bealive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here this month. All the hotel staff we encountered welcomed us like family and were genuinely excited to meet our 2 dogs. We were thrilled that they upgraded us to a one-bedroom suite and surprised us with champagne in our room. The room was very quiet even though it was close to the elevators and above the front door with valet parking. The hotel's location is perfect because it's very close to the activity of State Street. We've visited Santa Barbara every year for the last 6 years and have stayed at some of the top-rated hotels in the city but this hotel far surpasses any of them. We have never been disappointed with a Kimpton hotel and we will stay at the Canary Hotel on our next visit to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wetravelwith2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had not been to Santa Barbara before so we chose this hotel as we have always had good experiences at other Kimpton properties.
No surprise when this stay was just as good!
From a wonderful greet at the front desk by the young and enthusiastic staff member, to the fantastic roof top pool and bar and finally a stunning room we enjoyed every minute of out stay.
It's in the middle of the city so there is plenty to walk to!!
Don't pass up a chance to stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We only had one night at this hotel and would love to go back. Very pretty, gorgeous roof pool and deck with great views. Loved Santa Barbara - very picturesque. Hotel was very nice, lovely spacious room, great bed, nice amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lullu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here last month for our anniversary. We had an awesome experience. We love this place. We stayed here 7 years ago when it was under different name/management so we were familiar with the locale. We wanted to go back because of it being the best location to explore State Street shops and restaurants. The Spanish style architecture and decor made me feel like I was back in Seville. The Kimpton takes it to a new level. We have stayed at other Kimpton hotels from Chicago to San Francisco and have always been confident in and happy with our Kimpton experiences. The Finch and Fork restaurant in the hotel has great food and top notch service. We thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary dinner there. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a romantic weekend in a terrific location. It was a flawless experience. We will be back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for a few nights for our honeymoon. The hotel itself is incredible. My wife loved how it was decorated, both in the lobby and in our room.

The front desk and valet were always amazingly friendly and helpful. Always had a nice word to say and suggestions for us during our stay. They even had a bottle of champagne chilled in our room when we got there to help us celebrate our honeymoon (although the card said Happy Anniversary :) it was a very nice thought - thanks guys!).

The beds were very comfortable, and the room was big enough to settle in for a few days, although not much of a view from where we were.

I absolutely loved the rooftop. Friendly bartender, breathtaking views, nice pool to wade in, comfortable lounge chairs, nice hot tub (perfect in the evenings), and just an overall very cool vibe.

We used the bikes to go to down to the water one evening, and walked the rest of the time (about a 20 minute walk down fun streets to walk on).

Amazing dining and shopping nearby.

One of our favorite hotels, and would definitely go back again, even if it isn't the cheapest place to stay!

Probably the only criticism was that there isn't a solid door to the bathroom, so not very soundproof!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
563 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing