We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doggone Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Doggone Wonderful”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I brought my elderly mother and two little dogs here for two nights in November. We were treated like royalty from the moment we pulled into the valet until the moment we left. Each and every member of the staff was so accommodating and kind and the hotel itself is GORGEOUS.

(I had never traveled with my dogs before so was nervous about what kind of establishment actually allows dogs. You would never have known a dog had ever stayed in our pristine room. And aside from seeing one or two pups now and then in the lobby, we felt like the only dog-owners in the place.)

It is wonderfully located and within easy walking distance of loads of fantastic shops and restaurants and is about 2 minutes off the 101.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieMLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    213
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
195
548
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We just stayed here last week for three nights. We had the top floor suite for about $440 per night. It was a special birthday celebration. The people who work at this hotel are all terrific. They really go the extra mile - no one had that "I can't be bothered" attitude. The room was very spacious and clean. I have a dust allergy and they went the extra mile to get the room super clean. Very comfy bed - very beautiful dark wood four poster. We had views in three directions. Very nice.

The food in their restaurant, Fork and Finch, was terrific too.

Excellent valet guys, though price of $25/night was a bit steep we thought for Santa Barbara.

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this Hotel. It is about a block off the main shopping street (State Street), and very convenient. A little too close to Nordstrom!

Room Tip: Room 517 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Do yourself a favor and make The Canary your Santa Barbara headquarters.

The location is superb. We parked the car and didn't use it all weekend. You can walk everywhere, but the tough part is leaving the room.

Here's our story: Grandaughter turned 9 years old and wanted to stay in a grown-up hotel with room service. Her mommy, my daughter, invited me to join them. The Canary chimed in with special birthday treats - beautiful cupcakes and goblets of milk delivered, with a Happy Birthday note from the hotel, soon after we checked in.

A bit later, we shared The Canary's delightful tradition for children: They brought up a fish in an exotic container, with fish food and instructions for taking care of him all weekend. Grandaughter called him "Maurice" and wherever we went that weekend, she was eager to get back to the room to visit Maurice.

In fact, the room was her favorite part of the weekend. She soaked in a big tub while watching TV in the bathroom, which is quite spa-like. She also thought the bed was great. And room service lived up to her expectations. (Side note - the burger I had from the restaurant just off the hotel lobby was one of the best I've ever had.)

The staff was charming, friendly and helpful.

We met guests of all ages and everyone we encountered seemed to be having a lovely time. Though we didn't bring the pets along this time, it was good to see that The Canary is pet friendly.

We ended our stay on Sunday morning with a swim in the rooftop pool (where you can enjoy a glass of wine by a fireplace at sundown) and we have now vowed to make The Canary a family tradition.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, with a balcony facing onto Carillo Street. We enjoyed stepping outside on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have spent the Thanksgiving holidays at the Canary and have to share our experience. I should preface this by saying that we travel a lot...our stay her was fabulous. The staff could not be nicer...so helpful, know your name, and go way out of their way to be helpful ! The food is the restaurant is among the best in Santa Barbara ...even down to the delicious strawberry lime jam in the morning ! A big salute to all !!

Room Tip: We loved 225...great corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

friendly staff. Comfortable room. Beautifully maintained hotel in historic building. Large rooftop deck and pool very inviting. Very good restaurant. Complimentary evening wine service. Great location for walking downtown.

Room Tip: Our room facing Carrillo Street was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred44SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here last month for our anniversary. It didn't live up to the hype of the reviews seen here. Service throughout was listless. The room was average in size and smelled like stale pets. I understand if you are a pet friendly hotel but the rooms should then be cleaned so those who don't own pets can enjoy a romantic getaway.

There are many other options in town and next time we will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betheball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night at the Canary in Santa Barbara and was so impressed. It's a beautifully designed hotel, traditional but eclectic and stylish. Excellent service straight from arrival, the valet and front desk super quick and friendly. The bar here is gorgeous too, with a great happy hour!

Our room was stunning, huge four poster bed and lovely view across the city. It's perfectly located for State Street and a walk to the pier.

Wished we had stayed longer!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing