We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing exceptional”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Nicely located Hotel (even if it is not at the beach), but I could not find anything special. And for this the Price is simply too high. The Hotel is also nicely made, a bit old fashioned. Out of the 15 Hotels during my 24 day trip in the U.S. one of the few which I would not Chose again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Florian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you very much for our review. I am so sorry that your visit from us was lacking. The Team at the Canary prides themselves on taking the extra step to make someone's time here that much more special. It seems as a group that we missed the mark with your stay and again, for that we do apologize. I will review your visit with our team so we can discuss how to improve for future guests and hopefully a return trip from you:)
Thank you again for your honest feedback and we hope to see you back on Santa Barbara again soon. I know you mentioned that you would not likely return, but we would love to show you how truly wonderful the Canary really is.

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    216
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
200
554
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary-fabulous! Our room was upgraded to a junior suite with champagne. The staff was awesome - thank you Miles, Meaghan, Sierra, everyone in housekeeping & valet guys! Anything we needed or asked about was addressed immediately. The room had small binnoculars for guests use as you toured the area. The roof top deck is not to be missed. It's like being in an extended living room with comfy sofas and chairs and heat lamps. There is also an outdoor fireplace with cozy seating. Go up a few steps and there's the pool with tons of lounge chairs. The view from the deck is wonderful. This is a pet friendly hotel (we only saw dogs) with water and biscuits available in the lobby. Even the front desk staff had their dogs with them (super well behaved!). The hotel is well situated - just a block off State Street (the main street) and within walking distance of tons of restaurants and shopping. You won't go wrong staying here - everyone was great!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseLady54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

$620 + tax for one night's stay in December for a decent sized room and a disgusting bathroom. This hotel is fraught with disaster. Extremely old-fashioned and in need of some personality. Front desk staff not what you expect in the US. This hotel allows guests with dogs and nearly every guest we witnessed had their dog. Maybe this is what the hotel is for! Overpriced, out-dated and the most disgusting bathroom we have come across in a very long while. Kimpton sort it out!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lux_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you very much for your candid response and I am truly sorry about the experience you encountered. We are a dog friendly property, seeing that we are a Kimpton Hotel, and many of our guests do bring thier pets with them. We do also spend a lot of time cleaning our property and making sure that people who are not pet lovers also feel comfortable. I would also like to know a little more about your concerns with our bathrooms. We frequently recieve very good feedback about our rooms and bathrooms, so I am concerned with what happened in yours. I will schedule a meeting with my housekeeping team, first thing Monday morning, and have an intensive deep cleaning program to identify any issues. Our entire team have reviewed your comments and I am very sorry that we missed the mark with your stay. This is not the standard for our property. We hope that next time you are in Santa Barbara that you would give us another chance to serve you.

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Can't say enough good about this hotel. Old-world charm, up-to-date amenities. Terrific staff. Perfect for anyone who wants to visit all the shops on State St. but still be reasonably close to the waterfront. Dog friendly is fun even if you leave your pet at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Glass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Everything about this hotel is well thought out with the exception of the "pet friendly" policy. The rooms are lovely although a bit small, and the location in the center of town is especially good for first time visitors to the city. The place also has a hip, easy-going vibe that works well in Santa Barbara. Definitely request a room on the upper floors for light and less noise, but the thing that sells this place is the roof top pool and deck. It is just a beautiful spot to relax and look out over the vista of mountains and sea. The staff were also exceptionally friendly and helpful. My only beef was the dogs - and I own dogs so I'm pretty happy to be in their company, but as always, it is the owners, not the animals that are the problem. Who brings a 50+ pound aggressive pit bull that barks and strains on his leash into a luxury hotel? What kind of owner walks away from their dog depositing several enormous poops in the front lobby entrance that literally blocks the way of other guests waiting to leave the building? Kind of have to wonder how the staff manages to keep the property clean - which it appears to be - but in a small boutique hotel environment like this with no park or garden near by for dogs to be walked, I think this Kimpton policy seems ill placed.

Room Tip: Upper floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at this downtown Santa Barbara property between Christmas and New Years 2013. The hotel is in an excellent location and very easy to locate after exiting off Hwy 101. As many other reviews indicated, the property’s location right off State Street is ideal.

From the moment we drove into the property, I was treated with some of the best customer service I’ve ever experienced. From the first encounter with the valet staff to the front desk, the check in was speedy, efficient and hassle free. One nuance for this property is the valet team also acts as concierge; so if you need dinner reservations, recommendations etc, the valet team handles these requests. They never failed to point me in the right direction or make a great dining recommendation. While the entire valet team provided us with outstanding service, Greg in particular went out of his way to ensure we were treated in a very professional and timely manner; always addressing both of us by name.

I was not totally impressed with the onsite restaurant Fitch & Fork. Breakfast on two occasions were the only means taken in the restaurant. I felt a bit over priced when it came to their breakfast prices. The bar provided fast and friendly service, no complaints there!

The room (while a bit small) was clean and tidy. Their beds beat the Westin “Heavenly Bed” by a mile. If you think the Westin beds are wonderful; you need to try the Kimpton version, at least the version found at the Canary Hotel.

Due to the chilly weather, did not spend much time on the rooftop bar; however it does provide great views of the surrounding area.

Because of the holidays, the the hotel was fully occupied; however I saw no degradation in the level of service.

I highly recommend the Canary Hotel, as they say “location, location, location”. I was not disappointed in any way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXtravler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It's a gorgeous hotel with beautifully furnished rooms and public spaces. Staff is extremely nice and efficient without being too formal. The rooftop terrace is just amazing with a big swimming pool, lots of seating areas and a romantic fireplace corner. Loved the restaurant with great creative dishes, nice staff and great advice on wines. If we would have known we would definitely have stayed longer so we will come back one day.

Only minus was housekeeping waking us up both mornings by knocking on the door for a very long time. Second night it was our mistake since we forgot the privacy sign but in that case she came back every half our and knocked on the door 5 times in total.

Still, the place is so perfect that even despite housekeeping it surely deserves a 5/5 score.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
553 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing