We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING STAY AND WEDDING VENUE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING STAY AND WEDDING VENUE”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

WE recently got married at the Canary hotel and took over more than half of the rooms. The Hotel its self was amazing and all of our guests were treated like family. we hosted 2 party's, one in the bar and the wedding on the roof top. Both were outstanding and the team was terriffic to work with! Everyone kept asking me how i could be so relaxed- and i have to say it was the incredible team that took care of everything detail. we can not wait to go back!
THANK YOU Canary for making our special day AMAZING!

Room Tip: we have stayed several times and have not had a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egianini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    213
    61
    17
    6
See reviews for
195
546
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a room every one walked in with the room key but they told me to come back at 4 pm that is after 4 hrs.
Very rigid and scripted answers just not very well coming.

Gave me the tiniest cramped room with wet floor close to the service room. With dog smell.

Went down to change the room with minimal luck. They want to change to room but it's not clean so 2 more hrs.

The guy Miles was trying to help but was struggling. Well the start is not good at all.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhardas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

If the cost of one night in the Canary was around $250/$300(max), I would be writing a different review. However, since an average weekend room in February 2014 seems to be in the $450/$500 (w/tax) range I believe that it warrants to be reviewed on an entirely different level.

The quality of the Canary is not the same as other $500/night hotels in the area such as the Four Seasons Biltmore or the El Encanto. The rooms are pleasant enough, but showing wear; the dressers are chipped and nicked, and the carpet has that dull haze of wear and soil that can't be cleaned. The bathrooms are a bit worn and not to the standards of a $500/night hotel. They are stocked with only basic standard supplies; there are no towel bars which seemed strange and the doors are louvered closet-like doors which do not provide sound privacy.

Rooms in the back of the hotel have views of the parking garage next door that is brightly lit all night long. These rooms are also subject to noise from people who live in the alley and parking garage stairways, the disposal of garbage and sorting of bottles from the hotel restaurant, and subsequent early morning trash truck pick-ups.

The staff was friendly and helpful which is always nice; I find this to be true at the majority of Kimpton hotels that I stay at.

If going to Santa Barbara, book early and find a hotel at a lower price point; it will probably be the same as this Kimpton in terms of quality, because this hotel is nothing special. If you are going to splurge on an expensive hotel, stay elsewhere even if it means driving into downtown to eat or shop.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the alley are noisy and lack any sort of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jjnla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback and also for taking the time to share your experience. It is obvious that there were areas for opportunity among our team and facilities during your time here. We will be discussing your comments in full with all of the department heads of the property tomorrow morning. This is not the standard experience here at the Canary we never want anyone leaving our property feeling that our value was lower than what they paid for. Our property offers one the most amazing vantage points in the city(our roof top pool) and we have a fabulous restaurant that not only is becoming a local favorite, but continually we get rants and raves from you guests in-house. Our Rooms are beautfully appointed with four poster beds, tile work in the bathrooms, and all the comfort and fun that Kimpton Hotels love to provide. I hope you will give us another chance to show you how amazing we know our property to be. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon in Santa Barabara!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canary.santabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Wonderful California hotel. Rooms are great. Staff is so nice--our bags did not come with our flight and they were so attentive in getting them to us. Rooftop pool, hot tub and fireplace are lovely.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdvicefromMe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
These are some beautiful pictures you have taken! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled you had a nice time with us in Santa Barbara and that you were able to enjoy the pool and our staff did what they do best; bend over backwards to make sure you feel ridiculously comfortable. We hope to see you again very soon and thank you again for your wonderful review!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

From the friendly Valet to the first rate barman and taking in the picturesque rooftop pool, cool and quirky decor and massive bed. .. This hotel really is great. A stones throw from the action on state Street and with free bikes for getting around, we couldn't have found a better place for our short stay in Santa Barbera.
Oh and it's crazy dig friendly. . There was a dog behind the reception desk helping check us in when we arrived. Next time we'll bring our pooch.... she'd love it too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mrandmrssmith32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
I am so glad that you had the chance to meet Wiley! He is our resident pooch and is always excited to see our two legged and four legged guests. Our roof top pool is amazing and most likelt one of the best outdoor spaces in downtown. And make sure to come back soon, because we are upgrading our bike fleet and we will have some very stylish Canary Cycles for you to lend in the near future. Thank you again for your fabulous feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puglia, Italy
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I'll start with the positives: the staff were excellent, happy and friendly and only too eager to help in every way. I would have liked to give the hotel 4 stars but the poorly fitted bedroom reduces my stars to 3. The restaurant whilst having a slightly unusual menu is excellent but the atmosphere is one of upmarket pub and not a place if you want fine dining or relaxed comfortable atmosphere. Happy hour in the foyer is a good idea as is the complimentary tea and coffee in the morning, however my experience was that the tea was old and tasted foul.

The negatives: in my opinion the hotel needs a minor makeover, it's beginning to tire round the edges. The bathroom had no rails to put your towel but had a tv screen? The main bedroom had virtually nowhere to put clothes, just 3 small drawers for two of us and perhaps 3 hangers each. As we were travelling and had two large suitcases we had to live out of the cases which is definitely not satisfactory, oh and a single bedside table with no drawers. For me there seems to be too many hotels with pathetically inadequate hanging and drawer space. This is one of them. The hotel is located about a mile from the beach on a busy junction so lots of traffic about.

Don't be put off coming to this hotel it is a reasonable place to stay if you are not too fussy, will I come back, not sure.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have refuse collection and the noisy vehicles wake you at 6:00am
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Hetravels,
First off, thank you so much for the positive opener! I am thrilled you found the staff happy, friendly and helpful during your stay. We hope that all of our guests experience that version of welcome when they visit us! I am sorry, however, that we did not meet your expectations in other ways. You will be happy to know that we are embarking on a slight makeover to remedy some of the tired edges noted in your review so you will see some improvements during your next visit! Also, to keep you in the know, there are rooms within our property with a greater amount of storage space, so please be sure to inquire next time you book so we can better accommodate your travel needs. Better yet, contact us here on property so we can learn how to best prepare the right space for your stay. We are here for you! Thank you again so much for your valuable feedback. If you are open or available to discuss further, I would absolutely welcome the opportunity! My e-mail address is caroline.dyal@canarysantabarbara.com. I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

From check in to check out, we had the best time at this hotel. The property is gorgeous and the rooms don't disappoint. We were there celebrating my husband's birthday, and they upgraded our room and even sent champagne to the room, above & beyond what most hotels would do.

All of the staff was so friendly and welcoming, especially the front desk.

Make sure to have a drink on the rooftop around sunset!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Happy Birthday to your Husband and thank you for your wonderful comments! We are thrilled that you had a relaxing stay with us! Thank you also for mentioning our Roof Top Terrace and Pool! It is one of our favorite thing that we offer at our property, and it typically puts the cherry on top of your Santa Barbara experience that you encounter at the Canary. Thank you again for spending your important moments with us and please come back and visit often.

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing