We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

From the moment I walked into the hotel, I was happy to be staying at the Canary. I think this is one of the nicest Kimptons I have ever stayed in. The lobby and the rooms have wonderful character and are clean and inviting. The roof top deck and pool have views over the city. The location, although across from a gas station, is down the block from State Street, which, after walking it, appears to me to be an outdoor version of a mall, as most of the stores are ones that I find in a typical American shopping mall.
The staff is friendly and were able to furnish me with a cord and wall adapter for my iPhone when I discovered, after the Apple Store had closed, that my adapter was missing.
The high four-poster bed was a lot of fun to sleep in, and most comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank constablegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
What a compliment! thank you so much for saying that we are one of the nicest Kimptons and I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope to see back at the Canary very soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    213
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
195
548
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great old building that has been updated into a hotel. Our room was a small suite that was cozily decorated in a homey understated way. The roof deck offered fantastic views of the surrounding areas. Location was great right in SB and walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops. Dinner in the restaurants downstairs was ok, though perhaps would have been better if we had eaten in the restaurant section proper as opposed to the bar area.

Room Tip: Make sure to make a reservation for the restaurant downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerty9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your trip to the Canary! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Roof Top and it really does have fabulous views. Pretty soon we will have our roof top bar open and there wont be a better place in town! I am saddened to hear that Finch and Fork did not live up to it's expectations. I will make sure to pass your comments on to our food and beverage team for review. Even though they would be too different experiences, eating in the dinning room vs. the bar, the food, drinks and service should still be memorable. Thank you so much for again taking the time to share with us and I hope you come back to Santa Barbara soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Headed to Santa Barbara with very dear friends to celebrate my birthday. The good times started when we were met by the Valet Staff, continue with the very courteous Front Desk staff, beautiful room, to the staff in the bar and the Finch & Fork restaurant. We especially like to thank Meaghan who works at the Front Desk for making my birthday even more special with the kind gesture of a bottle of champagne left in our room, to her delightful smile, and for helping us with places to see and things to do while we were in Santa Barbara. We highly recommend this hotel, in it's a central location, close to restaurants, shopping, and siteseeing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We love to hear these kinds of stories! Meaghan is a wonderful team member and she really strives to go above and beyond for our team. I am thrilled that the birthday celebration was a success and I hope you come back to the Canary for your next celebration. Have a wonderful rest of your week!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Ridge, Louisiana, Usa
Level Contributor
246 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

After suffering through the unexpected rain on our trip to Southern California, in Santa Barbara the skies were blue and rain free. This hotel is very nicely located and the staff very friendly and helpful, if young and inexperienced. There is a lively bar scene there and a nice restaurant, Finch & Fork (the flatbreads are excellent). The rooms are average I would say, not bad but not outstanding. Actually, the place seemed very European. The star though is the rooftop terrace and pool. The roof offers a great view of the city and nearby mountains. The terrace is well appointed with seating and even an outdoor fireplace.

Room Tip: The lower floors make for a quick egress if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We love the flat breads also! I am thrilled that you were able to sample the menu at Finch and Fork! We did have a bit of rain recently, but I am glad that we missed it and was able to take part in our beautiful sunny days! Please keep us in mind for youe next getaway, and I hope you arte having a great week!
~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Although this hotel is pricy it is worth it. I can not say enough about the staff from the valets when you drive up to the maids who clean up. You are made to feel the most important person on the premises. My daughter and I where traveling with a 6mos old baby. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make our experience one I would repeat. My son had also spent his honeymoon there. This hotel is unbelievable luxury . Just of state Street and close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We loved, loved, loved this hotel. Great location - we left our car with the valet for the whole three days we were there and just walked everywhere. Nice rooms - we were upgraded to a one-bedroom suite and it had lots of space, lots of light, and an incredibly comfortable bed. The rooftop deck and pool area are even nicer than they look in the pictures on the hotel's website; we spent a lot of time just hanging out and relaxing up there. But the best part was the five-star service. Every single employee we encountered, without exception, was friendly, helpful, and just plain nice.
We would stay here again in a heartbeat - can't wait until we get a chance to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night on the recommendations of work colleagues. The service was great...lots of smiles, doors held open & friendly chat from hotel staff. It was approx $40 taxi ride from the airport. The hotel property had a lot of character, which was a refreshing change from the usual big chains.

The room was very cute complete with 2 TVs (1 in the bathroom) and a very comfy king bed. The washroom was a bit dated even with the rain shower installed over the tub. I needed a hair straightener and was really pleased to see that they had a list of supplies they could provide at no charge if you forgot to pack them, this was much appreciated! Room service was quick (10-15 mins) - I highly recommend the grilled rainbow trout dish!

The 6th floor rooftop patio had nice views and lots of outdoor seating for groups.

It was a 30 second walk to State Street where there were endless shopping and dining options. For an overnight business stay, this hotel was located perfectly for an evening stroll.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank carole219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing