We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A really nice hotel, with lovely, helpful staff. I have been fortunate to stay several times, and it never disappoints. Great location with all the amenities of State Street just round the corner. Great night's sleep in a very comfortable room. My room had a lovely large bathroom. Roof top terrace has lovely views, perfect for unwinding.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoatfieldBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We are so glad your enjoyed our location and beautiful ambiance of our property and city! Thank you so much for the great review and we hope to see you back in Santa Barbara again soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    213
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
195
548
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed recently for a family event. Our room was well appointed, clean, with a large bathroom (good when traveling with children!). The beds were excellent, and made up very quickly each day. We had a couple of oops moments needing sewing supplies, etc. and the front desk was fast, funny, and kind. I have little negative to say about our three day experience. The roof top pool is small, and elbows a bar, but ok. The valet services were wonderful. The breakfast was WAAAAY over priced, and with so many good breakfast options very close by, I'd skip it. Over all, in such an expensive place as Santa Barbara, this centrally located hotel is extremely useful and a good choice.

Room Tip: We didn't see a bad room
See more room tips
Green Features: Considerate without being off-putting, the green efforts of the Canary are to be commended.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OranVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our wonderful property! I am so sorry to hear about your experience with Finch and Fork! this is not the standard and I will make sure to pass your comments on to the Food and Beverage team. Thank you again for your review and staying with us! hope to see you back in Santa Barbara soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We loved this hotel. Smallish and friendly. Rooms are lovely, clean and comfy. The restaurant is great and the cocktail bar a must. Hotel staff and restaurant/bar staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, just off the main shopping street making it a little quieter at night. Nice roof top pool with views across Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for thew great feedback! I feel like you should start to write some of our marketing materials with a great review like that :)
we are thrilled you had a good time and we do hope to see you back in Santa Barbara very soon. Thank you again and have a great rest of your week.

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We recently stayed two nights having moved from the pepper inn which was not of the standard expected. The kimpton was a lovely comfortable hotel. The bed was the best we have slept in away from home. As others have commented the rooms are showing some signs of wea, the bathrooms are vefy small but generally this is a lovely hotel with wonderful pool area.Parking is difficult in Santa Barbara and the hotel charges 25 rollers a night for parking which does seem a little excessive. We booked last minute and had a very good rate, the hotel woll always match the proces on third party sites so best to ask. This is the first Kimpton hotel we have stayed in hope to stay again in future trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room many overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your great review and we are glad you enjoyed your time here with us. We are glad that you are excited to stay with more Kimpton properties, because let me tell you, they are all amazing. Thank you again so much for the great response, and we hope to see you back in Santa Barbara soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The best hotel stay of our honeymoon. As soon as you enter the lobby the decor, staff and aroma make it a very welcoming environment. We got a beautiful suite with a great four poster bed and lots of space. The pool area on the roof was great too, and it's only a block from the main shops and restaurants area at State Street. Will be telling all my friends and family to stay here when in Santa Barbara and hope we'll be back some day!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
we are so glad to hear that you will be back soon! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time, and the four poster beds really do make the experience in the rooms truly great! Thank you so much for the great review and we hope to see you back here soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in the heart of Santa Barbara. It is located just steps from State Street and the many shops and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and well kept, as is the hotel on a whole. Hershey, our Newfoundland, was welcomed by all. Valet parking was easy, and check-in a breeze. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Santa Barbara. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and we loved hosting Hershey! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our pet friendly enviroment and also our perfect location for city and beach activities. We hope you will come back soon to Santa Barbara and bring back Hershey!!!!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and great location for all things Santa Barbaran. Our room was lovely and the bed was very very comfy. The staff were very helpful without being 'in your face' and we got good advice in things to do when we looked for it. The rooftop area is a little oasis also.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruairi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are all thrilled that you had an enjoyable time here at the Canary and that the staff took good care of you while you were here. We hope to see you again very soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing