We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favorite Hotel in Santa Barbara!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Favorite Hotel in Santa Barbara!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I had the chance to spend one night here during March 2014 (as a late birthday celebration) -- everything about the stay was terrific! Beautiful room with a four-poster bed and hardwood floors -- very thoughtful amenity waiting for us when we arrived . . . and we had a wonderful meal in the "Finch & Fork" farm-to-table restaurant downstairs. The hotel isn't super-close to the beach, but just off State Street, so we loved the location. It was a little chilly for the pool when we were there, but we brought a drink up to the rooftop deck and relaxed overlooking the town. Highly recommended on all fronts!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boulder_Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Happy belated brithday! I am glad you had a chance to enjoy Finch and Fork. We have just been awarded top ten restaurants in Santa Barbara by Zagat, and I am thrilled you you had a chance to enjoy what they are so famous for! We hope you come back and visit us soon, and thank you again for staying with us!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    212
    61
    17
    6
See reviews for
194
541
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Yet again Kimpton comes up trumps. The staff were fantastic. So friendly without being over the top. The rooftop pool area is beautiful. Be sure to head up there for couple of hours to chill. Just off State St so close to all the attractions. Our room was great with lovely decor although the beds are a little high. So much so they supply a little wooden step as a helping hand. Overall can't beat this place

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamMcFTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! I really appreciate the kind comments and I am glad you enjoyed the small details such as our foot stools:) Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon in Santa Barbara!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed over Memorial Day holiday 2014. I noticed that all employees seemed genuinely happy to be there. Good vibes started from when we first pulled up to the valet and continued with the front desk staff when we checked in (which was quick and efficient). The hotel is located just one block from State Street which was VERY convenient to great shopping and restaurants. We ate breakfast in the hotel all 3 days and had their lemon-ricotta pancakes every day! (Initially recommended by our server - best pancakes I've ever had. Seriously!) Our room (216) was on the 2nd floor and the housekeeping staff kept it impeccably clean. Included night-time turn-down service with chocolates. Bathroom was huge and had a separate bathtub and separate shower. They also have a beautiful pool and hot tub on the roof with lovely furniture, a fireplace, and great views. Great place to watch the sun set. Will definitely return to this hotel as I highly recommend it and its staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 216, which had two queen beds. It overlooked the driveway, but was extremely quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntyBeeTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Those pancakes are to die for! we hear this from a lot of our guests and I am thrilled you had the chance to experience them also. Thank you for the great review and we love to hear about all of the great things you encountered on property! we hope to see you back here soon and thank you again for such great comments!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and we had a fantastic stay! On arrival in our room, we had been left a bottle of prosecco on ice and a congratulations card, really nice touch!

The room was clean and comfortable, the four poster bed was amazing and soo comfy! The room was slightly smaller than we're used to but really nice.

The food in the restaurant was gorgeous. On our first night we sat at the bar and had a flatbread and some drinks - amazing! We received breakfast vouchers too that we weren't expecting and the breakfast was really good!

The pool is sooo nice! The pool bar staff are very attentive. Only downside is that if there is an event on up at the rooftop bar, then it's closed to the public. This happened on our first night which was disappointing as we were really looking forward to going straight up there.

Overall - loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the great review and we are so lucky to have served you during such an important time. If you need anything else from the property, please do not hesitate to ask and we hope to see you again soon in Santa Barbara!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a 4-night stay at the Canary on our first trip to Santa Barbara. All of the staff from the front desk to valet to the bartenders and house keeping are very friendly and helpful and often offered great tips and suggestions. Our superior king bed room on the 5th floor was comfortable with nice doors that opened up to a shallow balcony (standing room only). The modest size room met our needs although did not have a sizeable sitting area. Very comfortable bed. We appreciated the special touches in the room (wine country guide, yoga mat, and binoculars). Loved the rooftop pool and views. Guests can use the health club next door. Good complimentary coffee, tea and a variety of newspapers are available in the morning and complimentary wine is offered from 5 to 6 p.m. The plastic wine glasses (stemless and regular) make it easy to take wine up to the pool area, too. The hotel is in walking distance to several excellent restaurants, shops, the Art Museum, and is about a 20-minute walk to the beach. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rshoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the great review of our property! I am so glad that you enjoyed all of the fun that we try to bring to our property daily. I will share your great comments with our team and we hope to see you back in Santa Barbara soon!
~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Another great stay with Kimpton hotel. This hotel is very centrally located. Right next door to State Street shops, restaurants. It was far enough from the nightlife so that it was nice and quiet. Staff was attentive, responsive and helpful. The room was clean, modern and well maintained. i would definitely stay again. The room rate is expensive, but if your company is footing the bill, this place is a must stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelLover731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
And we still heart you!!!!! Thank you for the great review and we love to hear about experiences likes these. We hope to see you again soon and often!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We decided to ask Canary to host our niece's wedding there in April, 2013 and what a tremendous experience. The staff were simply extraordinary from event planning, food choices, setup for a rooftop wedding and a stunning ballroom for dinner and dancing. The staff simply have no way of saying no. They find the way! Excellent rooms with luxury amenities in an charming, updated and upgraded hotel. Everyone was exceedingly polite, helpful and accommodating. Best place for a vacation, get away and tremendous wedding venue. Thoroughly delighted with the entire experience. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Try the Junior Suite for a bit more room
See more room tips
Green Features: Top notch, they practice what they preach! Including, Temperature set to save energy Organic/local food & beverages Education for guests on green practices Energy-efficient lightbulbs Linen reuse program Water-efficient bathroom fixtures
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for remembering your stay with us! we strive to make lasting memories with our guests and it seems that we hit the nail on the head with your stay. And thank you so much for highlighting our wedding services. We believe we have some of the best facilities and staff in Southern California and I am glad that you agree. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#21 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing