We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View and value”

Breakwater Restaurant
Ranked #176 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Walnut Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“View and value”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

On our recent road trip we stopped to meet friends for lunch at the Breakwater in Santa Barbara. The food wasn't and good as the view and the beautiful weather but it was reasonable in price and better than most. My fish taco's were generous in size and made with fresh fish. It's an easy stop from route 101 in either direction.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam101645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    54
    23
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“What A Jewel in the Harbor”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Nailbanger Here Again;Our last night in Santa Barbara and we wanted to have seafood before we left town.Breakwater is an affordable and yet delicious choice, many of the seafood places around town are a lot more expensive. Winter hours 7-7 daily.They have a big menu here serving Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.This is a locals favorite place. We had dinner and seafood is what they do along with other comfort foods. The Clam Chowder is not to be missed, it is outstanding.I had the Fish & Chips and the fish is fresh.The Bread is also very good. Some of the dinners are $2 off from 4-6 PM and the have daily specials. Our server Susan was extremely attentive as well as pleasant.The atmosphere is a little dated but still acceptable. There is a lot to see at the Harbor and they have almost 100 outdoor seat to view it and the Santa Barbara Maritime Museum next door.The bathroom is thru the kitchen, but clean and updated. 90 minute free parking is available if you get lucky, we had no problem finding spots, but there is plenty of well lighted parking at the Harbor.They also offer McConnell`s Ice Cream a local purveyor here in Santa Barbara, with ten or so flavors.Enjoy

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Ate breakfast here on both days we were visiting Santa Barbara. Food was very good and the service even better. We had the same waitress both times, she was awesome! The prices were really reasonable, especially considering the location. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaraCambria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Breakfast in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We just had the most perfect breakfast in Santa Barbara at the Breakwater Restaurant on their outdoor patio, overlooking the harbor. The view was awesome! The food was great! (The French Toast even came on a warm plate with warm syrup ... very thoughtful and kept it perfect until the end.) The waitress (Krista) could not have been nicer and more attentive - always sure our coffee was full and everything just right. We highly recommend this for a great Santa Barbara breakfast experience!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredKonaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Habra, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sea food, eat food, have great time”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Sea food, eat food, have great time

Say "Santa Barbara" to most people and they picture touristy places with restaurants long on atmosphere and short on food quality and value.

Happily, not the case with the Breakwater Restaurant. My wife and I had lunch on their patio this past Sunday; we had eaten here once before, several years ago, with friends who were living in the area, and remembered the food being good.

Good choice. The food and service (Junior had our table) were both superb. My wife had Caesar salad with five very large shrimp—and, please, no jokes about “jumbo shrimp” being an oxymoron. I had the Crispy Shrimp and a glass of very good Riesling. We came up on Amtrak, so no worries about drinking and driving.

Prices are more or less comparable to Red Lobster specials, but the food is fresher and portions are more generous. Fish and chips, for example, is a couple of dollars more at Breakwater, but you get three pieces of fish instead of one, plus coleslaw, and more fries.

True, the plastic chairs and casual décor may not appeal to everybody, but as my uncle used to say, there’s no nourishment in the décor.

Superb food, great informal dining atmosphere, zillion-dollar view of the harbor. Can’t beat it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnMacMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breakwater Restaurant also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Breakwater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing