We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Breakfast, super mellow”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachbreak Cafe

Beachbreak Cafe
Ranked #369 of 528 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, super mellow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Really enjoyed the hawaiian french toast. Good coffee, nice servers. Good prices. Was perfect for a lazy morning in SB. The drawbacks are it is pretty grimy, feels like a diner. Benches are worn and split, They let dogs in the restaurant which is a bit weird, not super comfortable with my two year old walking by huge pit bulls right by the front entrance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel4785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had hoped for more....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This restaurant was within walking distance of our hotel, and there were some favorable reviews so we checked it out. Bad idea.
A group of Sunday morning regulars (evident by the waitress' attention to them and the lack of for us) were seated next to us. I'm sure they are nice folks, but very loud and total disregard for others. We had to wait about ten minutes for coffee because they had none brewed at the time (a breakfast place not having coffee in abundance on a Sunday morning, really?!) The waitress actually kneeled on my wife's side of the bench to serve the table behind her (remember the locals?), and didn't acknowledge the intrusion. An 'excuse me, or I'm sorry' goes a long way in an awkward situation like that.
Maybe we were there for an unusual event, or even hypersensitive to the service, but even if that is the case, good or great restaurants don't have those moments.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sradcolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

There were so many good reviews on trip advisor that we just had to stop for breakfast. The food was OK and the service was slow but friendly. Maybe lunch is better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Liberta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super nice service, pretty good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

A local hangout, this place is always buzzing. The waiters always have their hands full but are really nice when they talk to you. Never been disappointed with the food, a really solid choice for breakfast, especailly if you want to meet or see the locals.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank rooseM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Generous portions, good food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

This a relaxed and informal restaurant, great for breakfast. I ate there twice and got the vegetarian omelette each time, with toast and grilled potatoes. The portions are generous - a good deal for the price. Service can be slow during busy hours, so you may have to get your own menu and take the check to the cashier.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cleolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachbreak Cafe also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Beachbreak Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing