We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bath Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2007

We stayed at The Bath Street Inn for one night and it was the best Bed and Breakfast we have been to. The staff is very friendly and the rooms were very nice. Our bed was very comfortable. We loved that there was fresh cookies and cake in the afternoon. Then later on there was wince and cheese. They were also really helpful in selecting a restaurant for dinner. We would reccomend this Inn to anyone going to Santa Barbara. You cant go wrong here. It is a short walk to the main street.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank liketotravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2007

Stayed at this little B&B with a friend. We shared an upstairs twin room with a shower. Charming room with a windowseat. The TV/DVD area was a common area upstairs and when others were watching TV out there it could be heard in our room. But after the other guests left it was like having a large livingroom off our room. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious. Homemade cake and cookies are served in the afternoon along with wine. It's a nice touch. Common area downstairs was a good place to meet other travelers. Nice outdoor dining in the back garden. We used this B&B as our base for a visit to the Santa Ynez wine country and visits to the Missions in Santa Ynez and Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallulahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon after spending 4 nights at the Bath Street Inn. My husband was a bit on the concerned side about staying in a B&B for our honeymoon, but after 5 minutes of being at Bath Street, his anxieties were put to rest. We cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay there! Kate and Marie were warm, inviting, and exceptional. The breakfasts blew us away and kept us stuffed way into the afternoon! The staff was extremely open to answering questions about the area, giving suggestions, etc...
The room we stayed in was very nice (The Partrige room) and extremely comfortable. They offer a Tea time daily around 4:30, which we were unable to attend, but did make it back to the afternoon wine and cheese, which was also daily. Homemade cookies, cakes, coffee was set out and available on a daily basis as well.
The location is fantastic. Just a walk to downtown Santa Barbara and the Beach.
We will definitely go back when we are in the area and we both highly recommend the experience!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We stayed at this B & B for two nights during the week, and it was very busy both nights, I generally agree with the positive comments of other reviewers, although a few things should be noted. It's in a residential area, with a long walk (or drive) to the nearest decent restaurants. Also, it's not air conditioned (standard, I guess, for Santa Barbara B & B"s), and the rooms facing busy Bath Street can be noisy at night with the window open. I noted this to the innkeeper as we were checking in, and she instead gave us the best room they had for a great price. The breakfast is eclectic and generally well done, but the atmosphere at breakfast is a little frenetic---not a great time to meet and get to know other guests. The offstreet parking is ample, and a real plus. Overall, a nice stay, although not a "friendly" as other B & B's we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathStreetInn, Owner at Bath Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2007

We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your taking the time to share your experience. Since we've read a couple of reviews that refer to the distance to downtown and restaurants, we thought it might be helpful to clarify our location. We are in a quiet residential neighborhood 6 regular-sized blocks from State and Sola, considered by both the Downtown Association and the City of Santa Barbara to be the official beginning of the historic main part of downtown. At that point, you will be at the 1300 block of State, home to Downey's Restaurant, (rated #1 in Santa Barbara by Zagat Survey) as well as Opal Restaurant, a long time favorite of both locals and visitors, and the Arlington Theater, a popular venue for live performances in addition to movies. One more block takes you to Bouchon, Olio e Limone, Tupelo Junction (all very highly rated by Zagat) and the Granada Performing Arts Center, currently nearing the end of a $50 million restoration. The city operates an old-fashioned electric trolley from State and Sola to the waterfront just 13 blocks away, and the trolley passes many fine restaurants en route to the wharf and beach. Also, parking is generally quite good with something like nine parking lots serving our relatively small downtown area.

We do have two rooms that have air conditioning. To our knowledge, no B&Bs in town are air conditioned throughout, and, in fact, the same may be said of most homes in town. Our climate is typically so moderate that it isn’t necessary (or even desirable for many people), and we are fortunate in that the inn is located in an area where there is almost always a lovely ocean breeze.

We appreciate your letting us know at check-in of your concerns about sound from the street as it gave us to opportunity to address your concerns in advance as we care a great deal about our guests’ comfort.

It sounds like you were with us at a very busy time. It is our experience, actually, that our guests connect and interact much more from about 4pm to 7pm when we are serving Afternoon Refreshment (lemonade, iced tea, cakes and cookies) and evening Wine and Cheese. For those who want to meet and interact with other guests, this is a great opportunity to relax, make new friends and share recommendations and discoveries. At breakfast there are certainly times when people are interacting from table to table although some guests prefer to breakfast as a couple. Since we don’t serve breakfast family style, or have time-specific “seatings”, it can get a little hectic if we have a full house and everyone shows up at the same time. Overall, we feel that the majority of our guests appreciate the flexibility of our breakfast service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We went to the Bath Street Inn for a mid-week romantic 4-day/3-night get-away within a larger family vacation. Based on the Trip Advisor reviews, we had a very good idea of what the property would be like...but reviews didn't even cover it fully!

First off, the food. They feed you so much and so well here that, truthfully, all you'd need is a light lunch after the wonderful 2-course breakfast and right before the fabulous afternoon tea. Between the tea and the wine and cheese hour that follows, a late, light dinner is almost over-kill. (But we let the staff make dinner reservations for us anyway -- which they always offered to do and would switch for us as well, always with a smile.)

The food was uniformly excellent -- all homemade at the Inn. From the cakes and cookies to the various egg dishes to the granola and everything in between, everything was worth gorging on. You know a place is good when ALL the guests are racing back to get "home" in time for afternoon tea!

We stayed in the Rose Room and based on reviews we were expecting it to be much smaller than it actually was. Not that this is a huge room, but there was plenty of space for a queen bed, an armoire, a desk, two chairs and a small table with a TV. The private bathroom had a large jacuzzi tub, which was wonderful. We found the room to be very comfortable -- we'd definitely choose it again. We thought the entire property was quite spacious for being a restored Victorian -- small enough to be intimate, large enough not to feel crowded.

The staff were great -- helpful, friendly and knowledgable. Marti and Kate both went out of their way to ensure that everyone had a great time and made good restaurant and excursion recommendations.

We had daily linen changes, both bed and bathroom. Maybe this happens at other B&Bs, too, but we've never experienced it before and were, frankly, impressed.

The grounds are lovely, and you can eat inside or outside. We spent as much time as possible outside, since the weather was lovely and much cooler than home (Phoenix, AZ). The common areas, both inside and outside, were nicely decorated and comfortable.

We thought the prices were very reasonable for what you get, particularly since there is triple the expected food and daily housekeeping.

All in all, we loved this place and it's vying between our #1 and #2 best-loved B&B ever. We truly can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanneTGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

Someone gave us a weekend here in Susan's loft for our first anniversary. I’m kind of surprised with the number of very high reviews for the Bath Street Inn. Perhaps if we had stayed in another room we would have had a different experience or perhaps this just isn’t the BnB for us. It was a bit like staying at Great Grandma's house and that’s not our particular idea of romantic.

The staff was friendly, but not overly so. I had a feeling they thought we were just a couple of dumb kids. The food for the most part was good, very homey.

I have to say I was a bit disappointed with the room. For the amount the room goes for I would have expected more. Had this trip not been a gift we would have left the moment we saw the room and battery operated candle.

There was, as other reviews mentioned, carpeting right up to the old pink Jacuzi bathtub which was also kinda of loud and scary. Another user mentioned the half full bottles of V05...

The bed was about on par with most hotels. The private patio was nice and the view of the mountains was beautiful but the view into the neighbor’s junkyard was not. All in all, nothing really amazing.

I would have hoped for something a little more special for that much money and for our first anniversary.

I do have to commend them though, everything was very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tinabeeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathStreetInn, Owner at Bath Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2007

We regret that we were not a match for these particular guests and would have been happy to release them from their reservation had they advised us of their dissatisfaction. They mention they did not say anything since their stay was a gift, and while we can appreciate that as a complicating factor; for our part, we would have been happy to create a discreet solution, because it really is our goal that people have a wonderful time in Santa Barbara whether it is with us or elsewhere. As far as their sense that it was like staying at “Great Grandma’s house”, we are a Victorian B&B, and that aspect is part of the charm (and the romanticism) for so very many people, so perhaps this was a well-intended but not apt gift for these particular guests.

We were very surprised to read they felt they were being thought of as “just a couple of dumb kids”. Wow! We apologize if there was some misunderstanding. We choose our innkeepers with great care so that they will be welcoming and caring and attentive to all of our guests. In fact, several weeks previously we had hosted a group of thirteen year olds who came to celebrate a birthday. The mom of the birthday girl made a point of telling us in person and also in writing that they really appreciated how well we treated them all and how much they loved their time with us.

The Santa Barbara Fire Department does not wish there to be any lit candles in any of the rooms. We supply battery operated candles in some of the rooms as an alternative which a goodly number of other guests have enjoyed and appreciated.

The Jacuzzi does make some sound. This is the first time anyone has described it as loud and scary. Bed and Breakfasts, unlike hotels, are permitted to offer multiple use containers of shampoo and conditioner. We did experiment with individual use shampoo and conditioner bottles in both glass and recyclable plastic. We returned to the larger sized bottles because we believe it is a more sustainable and environmentally friendly practice.

We buy our beds from a gentleman in Los Angeles who supplies the same unit to the Ritz Carlton.

It is true that the view of the mountains from the Loft balcony is beautiful. As far as our neighbor’s yard, it is valid to say that it is more functional in appearance than it is decorative, but it has never been described as a junkyard before. Also, we have placed our own decorative trellis planter boxes on the balcony to minimize the view of the neighbor’s yard.

As noted in other Trip Advisor reviews and also in the guidebook California for Dummies, our rates are very competitive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

We chose the Bath Inn based on tripadvisor's recs, which we've come to trust. And we were very pleased with it. We were on the highest floor of the new wing, Susan's Room? and, as the innkeeper promised, we had a gorgeous view of the SB mountains when they came out from the clouds. Also had a tiny patio for more sun and privacy. The room itself came with a pretty and quite powerful franklin-stove contraption. One odd thing: the bathtub was part of the bedroom, hidden only by a showercurtain, which felt awkward, esp as room was carpeted. Breakfasts, which we had outdoors in the cool SB mornings, were delicious, coursed, and plentiful, but it was the teatime that overflowed our cups. Wonderful and varied cakes, cookies and other fattening delicacies, and upon our departure, the staff, who saw how much we liked them, invited us to cut a few more slices. The staff were terrific and had great recommendations for eating on the high and low end. recommend highly!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank crepessuzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cheshire Cat Inn
Cheshire Cat Inn
#1 of 18 in Santa Barbara
750 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
371 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Eagle Inn
The Eagle Inn
#2 of 18 in Santa Barbara
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Street Inn

Address: 1720 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £101 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bath Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Street Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing