We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly”
Review of Bath Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bath Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was my third time staying at the Bath Street Inn, so you know that I love this place. It is an old Victorian house with quaint rooms and charming decor. Although many of the rooms are small and some could use a little updating, the fabulous service and incredibly friendly staff more than make up for it. The food is hard to beat: wonderful, fresh-baked breakfasts, wine & cheese in the afternoons and cakes and cookies all evening! There is wifi, which was important to me. However, if tv is important to you (which to me it wasn't) this is probably not the place for you. The inn is located in a nice residential neighborhood but is still relatively close to downtown. I will be back on my next trip to Santa Barbara!

Room Tip: The stairs to the second and third floors are very narrow and relatively steep. Keep this in mind i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Spent one night at Bath Street Inn, First time at a B&B. The room was very nice and very clean. The Inn is in a quaint old house in an established neighborhood and is beautifully decorated. There was cake and cookies set out for afternoon tea as well as wine and cheese early in the evening. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit and homemade granola for starters. You could eat indoors or in the garden which was very relaxing. Also enjoyed the several sitting areas through out the house where you could sit and read a book or just relax. the staff was great and very friendly. Thanks to Vicky and Marie for a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinWilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I just returned to San Diego from a wonderful weekend in Santa Barbara. Our stay at the Bath Street Inn made this one of the best weekend getaway experiences we've had. From the moment we arrived at this comfortable, beautiful Inn, we were treated with love and genuine kindness by Marie, who greeted us warmly and was extemely attentive. I am dairy and gluten free and Marie assured me that my food will be prepared with that in mind. I was happy to hear that but did not expect what was to follow. Breakfasts were superb, with mine being specially prepared to meet my dietary needs. That was just the beginnng of each day. At 4:00 each afternoon, there was a wonderful spread of fresh baked goods served with coffee and tea. Low and behold, in the midst of all those goodies was a beautifully prepared and incredible tasting, freshly baked dairy and gluten free cake. I was told by other guests that they were instructed not to touch that cake until I got there and had the first piece. It was so nice to feel so special and be so well taken care of. It was also nice to know that when we returned from dinner at the end of the evening we could grab another piece of cake for dessert. What a treat!

The Inn was very conveniently located within walking distance to lots of restaurants and the beautiful sights of downtown Santa Barbara. Our room was charming and comfortable...a nice place to rest at the end of busy, fun and food-filled days. I wish I could wake up tomorrow to the smell of fresh coffee and yummy freshly cooked breakfast. Thanks for the great memories. We will be back, and really look forward to it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis92130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

we spent two nights there, friendly hostesses, great food, nice quiet setting/rooms - we will be back!! Within walking distance of State St. restaurants.

Vicki was especially helpful with hiking/biking area info as well as restaurant information.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bicyclist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Bath Street Inn is a tastefully decorated charming house probably built in early mid 1900's and its decor reflects that period. Exceptionally well maintained with beautiful gardens, From your initial warm welcome to a friendly goodbye, this B & B accentuates the very best in customer service. A healthy and home made breakfast accentuates the exceptional quality and uniqueness of the Bath Street Inn. The recipes are willingly shared and greatly appreciated. All in all, a wonderful B &B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papastretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is B&B is charming, the rooms are small but nice. I stayed for 2 nights and would go back again. The breakfast on the sunny, orange treed patio was delicious and quite a treat. I especially loved having tea ready in the evening with cakes & cookies for an after dinner treat. Very relaxing and the inn keepers made you feel so welcome. A great find in Santa Barbara.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Bath Street Inn we set apart from all others. We have visited numerous times in route to the central coast, and each time we stay in a different room. We just visited for our anniversary en route to Cambria, a night in Susan's Loft, which is the only room on the third floor. Gorgeous views of the Santa Barbara mountains, VERY quaint, private balcony, and super cozy and quiet. The girls even put together breakfast plates for us to take to our balcony in the morning. These breakfasts are award-winning dishes. The entire staff we love. Servant's hearts, all of them. That's the beauty of the Inn. Not over bearing and doting, but always there to welcome you, offer a tasty treat from the kitchen (they are gourmet cooks, hands-down), or simply chat about the day. All rooms are tastefully appointed, not overdone or over-whimsical, and super clean. This is clearly not your everyday B&B. A historic, restored inn that has stood the test of time. These women have a gift of hospitality! We've stayed at several places in SB, this is our #1.

Room Tip: Susan's Loft is unique to the Inn. Upstairs on a third floor, no attached walls, superb views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
573 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,255 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Street Inn

Address: 1720 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £141 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bath Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Street Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing