We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second home.”
Review of Bath Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bath Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My second home.”
Reviewed 27 October 2008

For future visitors, I would like to reccomend Bath Street Inn as an excellant second home to come to when you need to go to school, work, conferences and or just to have fun. The ladies, Marie, Debra, Kate and Marti, and their wondeful helpers make your stay a welcome one with lots of extra attention, care, and love! I always feel at home and very safe . Its a perfect respite for friends, family gatherings, and couples. The food is wonderful and sure to satisfy the inner soul! This is the most charming residence and within walking distance to all the cites.What can I continue to say except to rave about Bath Street Inn! It is quiet, and peaceful, and with grace. Yvonne Hart

  • Liked — peaceful and quiet setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yohart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    137
    27
    10
    0
See reviews for
65
416
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
huntington beach, ca
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2008

I stayed at the Bath Street Inn with my fiance over Columbus Day Weekend. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly but not intrusive. Our room was very small but we knew that from the room descriptions on the website and it was clean and comfortable. The location was good though not ideal if you do not have a car or plan on mostly walking as it is a bit far from the main part of state street and the pier. They do have a parking lot but it was pretty cramped so we parked on the street and didn't have a problem. The best part was the food! The breakfasts were really, really good and very filling. One morning we had granola and fresh watermelon followed by a french toast casserole. The next morning they served poached pears (incredibly good!) and a quiche-like egg dish. Every afternoon they have cookies and cakes followed by wine and cheese -- you will definitely not go hungry if you stay here. Overall we had a great stay and would definitely go back (although would probably choose a larger room).

  • Liked — the food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbtraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here because we were broke, and it was one of the cheapest places we could find; we also spent HOURS on the internet, and this place got so many excellent reviews. We were THRILLED with everything! The house itself was so beautiful and surrounded by flowers. The people were so warm and friendly (but not in a hovering kind of way), they went out of their way to help us find places we wanted to go in Santa Barbara, and the way they feed you, you almost don't want to go out to eat--we had a huge breakfast of all homemade and fabulous food, and in the afternoon, they serve cookies & lemonade (& tea & coffee), and in the early evening, there's a great spread of cheese (GOOD cheese) and crackers and assorted wines. The location was wonderfully quiet, away from the touristy areas, yet walking distance to restaurants, museums, and shopping (very close to State Street). The room was so clean and fresh and lovely ~ we were delighted by everything, and the next time we go, we are staying there again. I also liked that breakfast was NOT family style ~ we were able to eat at our own private table. It was private, romantic, and an amazing deal considering it's Santa Barbara!

  • Liked — The filling and homemade breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing ~ it was great!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bones47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2008

I just returned from a 4 day stay at the Bath Street Inn and it is absolutely lovely! Beautifully decorated, very peaceful, quiet and friendly. It is also in a great location, within walking distance to downtown State Street, or you can pick up the trolley.

The breakfasts are not only delicious but beautifully presented in a Victorian atmosphere with lovely floral place settings on antique tables.

The staff is very friendly and helpful regarding inquiries about the area. I will definitely stay there again! If you are looking to spend some relaxing time in beautiful Santa Barbara and would like to stay where you are made to feel right at home, the Bath Street Inn is the place to be!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and great breakfasts!
  • Disliked — No elevators
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalFromNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2008

i loved staying here and i will return! i loved the victorian style and it had a homey feel, i felt very at home here.

each room had their own bathroom. i stayed in the Tiffany room and the Rose room. the Rose room fit me better, personality wise, it was more me. both of the bathrooms i loved. they both had wonderful shower heads that had great water pressure. it wasnt like some places where they dribble water.

their breakfast was amazing! you sit down at a table and they serve you like a resturant and they give you a few things to choose from or you can have all the choices if you want. personally i love the yogurt and granola.

then there's tea time! they put out tea, cookies, and a few cakes. those are out all night! and these cakes, i think, were homemade! im not sure if they were homemade but i think they were. anyway, they are all low calorie, light, cakes. they were delicious!

after tea time they have a wine and cheese hour. i never attended the wine and cheese since i dont drink wine and i was out at the time they had wine and cheese.

the staff are friendly and always willing to accomodate all your needs. they made me feel at home. i love the Bath Street Inn and i definately want to return!

  • Liked — the shower, breakfast, and friendly staff
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank idk_chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We stayed for one night and had a wonderful experience. We had the Jacaranda Room, which was cozy but comfortable and clean. Being farthest from the street ensured a quiet stay, even though it was adjacent to the rear parking lot. Breakfast was delicious as were baked goodies, tea and coffee left out in the evening for an after-dinner treat. We've stayed in chain hotels near UCSB and found this inn to be far superior in quality and comfort, at a price that is not much higher. We'll be back.

  • Liked — The food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjkela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2008

The Bath Street Inn is warm and welcoming and the staff is friendly and accommodating. Starting the day with one of the Bath Street Inn breakfasts is a wonderful treat--if you are a foody, you will be thrilled with the creative and culinary talents of your hosts. At the end of the day, there is an array of desserts in the parlor. We poured some decaf coffee and made of plate of some delectable sweets and proceeded to our room to relax. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Warm and friendly atmosphere, wonderful breakfasts.
  • Disliked — Street setting.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaKad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
553 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheshire Cat Inn
Cheshire Cat Inn
#1 of 18 in Santa Barbara
716 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Street Inn

Property: Bath Street Inn
Address: 1720 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bath Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Street Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing