We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I come back to Santa Barbara - this IS where I will stay again!”
Review of Bath Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bath Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If I come back to Santa Barbara - this IS where I will stay again!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The inn keepers are super friendly, breakfast was great, the room as in the pictures. This place as has a lot or charm, is certainly decorated as a house might have been decorated 30 years ago... I love places that are as unique as this one. One of the great B&B I have stayed in over the past years.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MABC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    137
    27
    10
    0
See reviews for
65
416
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The Bath Street Inn is so homie that you think you're in the wrong place and disturbing at someone else's home when you first arrive. But soon you get used to it and its cozyness. Staff is sweet, food is delicious. It was the ideal place for taking care of my husband who got sick during our San Fran - LA trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monica_Bornschein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Everything was great! We checked in very late but the innkeeper was very accommodating. The room was good, clean and comfortable, maybe a bit small and dated. The breakfast service was the standout. The food was beautiful and we were waited on hand and foot! Would not hesitate to book again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neurlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Me, my wife and our 1 year old daughter stayed two nights at Bath Street Inn in the end of July. We had only planned to stay in Santa Barbara for one night but this lovely B&B got us to change our mind and stay one extra night. The entire staff was a bliss and we had some of the best breakfasts we have had in a long time. The afternoon cake and wine made everything perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a lovely vacation at the Bath Street Inn. Our room on the third floor in the Summer House was cozy and private. We enjoyed the mountain views from our own little balcony.

Within easy walking distance to State Street and a little longer walk or easy trolley ride to the beach. Amazingly delicious homemade breakfasts and afternoon desserts (loved the chocolate cake and the lemon bars, oh my goodness!) We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We came to Santa Barbara for a wedding. The reviews for Bath Street Inn were excellent so we gave it a try. From the moment we walked in the door we felt so comfortable; from the wonderful baking smells coming from the kitchen to the warm greetings.
Our room was Summer, on the third floor. If you are not able to do stairs you would probably want to choose another floor. But for us, we enjoyed the little bit of exercising. We hung out one morning in the third floor alcove. What a lovely retreat. Felt kind of like being in the "captain's loft" due to the view. The bed was very comfortable. I slept very well, which I don't do most of the time we travel.
Both of us have different dietary restrictions. It always pains me when I try to explain what we cannot have, what we can have. But, our beautiful hostesses questioned us until they felt they could serve delicious food yet within our restrictions. They did admirably. Our breakfasts were adjusted to mean our needs, yet still served as pretty as a picture and very tasty. By the way, my husband, the pie apple aficionado, really liked the baked apple. I think I have a couple of ideas for our menu at home. Do watch out for the triple chocolate brownies. Even though that is on my no-no list they were too good to pass up. I actually passed on the wedding cake so I could have a brownie that evening (sh, don't tell the bride and groom). I think I am addicted. I am having a terrible craving for one right now!
One morning we had breakfast at the window in the dining room, the other morning was cool so we sat in front of the fireplace. There is an outside patio that we enjoyed the first afternoon we were there.
The hostesses were kind, helpful,and truly made us feel comfortable. They gave us the grand tour and filled us in on some good information. State Street, the main street, was a short three blocks from Bath Street Inn. Although we walked, rather than take the trolley, the trolley does service State Street and goes to the wharf. Much better the 50 cents person one way than paying $2 an hour at the wharf to park the car.
There is free WiFi, but the connection only came in at 31-36%. But, I wasn't there to do business. Perhaps being on a lower floor might make a different, might be closer to the router.
The bride had arranged special rates at a nearby hotel, which were higher than what we paid. Plus, we had the benefit of the breakfasts. The Inn was quiet, and much more comfortable and homey than what I saw the other wedding guests had at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Bath Street Inn was located in a very convenient area for us. (Our daughter just moved down the street.) The staff really go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. They gave us tips on restaurants, things to do and even specific details on certain retail stores. Breakfast is out of this world. All homemade and incredible. (Our daughter joined us a couple of mornings at the last minute and the owners were so gracious!) They have afternoon tea and wine and cheese and sweets left out all night. It is very secure and safe. The place was sold out when we were there yet I rarely saw the other guests! It never felt crowded. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it did get a little warm and stuffy when we showered and got ready for dinner. (It also was in August-the hottest month.) The fans cooled the room at night with no problem. The 3rd floor has 2 sitting areas which is very nice.
Two thumbs up!!!

Room Tip: The Wedgewood Room is the smallest room on the 3rd floor. I prefer the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasLaurie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
551 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheshire Cat Inn
Cheshire Cat Inn
#1 of 18 in Santa Barbara
713 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Street Inn

Property: Bath Street Inn
Address: 1720 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bath Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Street Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing