We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not As Expected”
Review of Bath Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bath Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not As Expected”
Reviewed 16 September 2006

We were very disappointed when we checked into this B&B. The inn is quaint but a little scruffy. The rooms are very small. We are veteran B&B people and I was taken aback at how small and plain the rooms were.

The innkeeper, Kate, was great though!

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — Scruffy, small rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — n/a
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    135
    27
    10
    0
See reviews for
64
414
39
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2006

We recently stayed at the Bath Street Inn with our daughter. We loved the Inn -- it was beautiful and we had a charming and spacious room on third floor. The inn keepers kindly set up a small bed for our daughter. Our family especially enjoyed the video library and TV lounge on the third floor.
We loved the breakfast, a very tasty french toast with strawberries. At tea, the apple cake that Kate baked was so good I asked for the recipe. Our daughter particularly loved all the differerent varieties of hot cocoa.
The relaxed but gracious atmosphere and helpful inn keeper, Kate made our stay a very nice one. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — charming atmosphere
  • Disliked — longish walk to beach
  • Tips/Secrets — stay for more than a night
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2006

Everyone needs that special retreat - mine is the Bath Street Inn. I've been going there annually for several years & have always found it epitomizes the B & B experience. You truly feel as though you are visiting the home of a good friend. The guest rooms are comfortable & attractive, the staff attentive and happy, the breakfasts on the deck, under the wisteria, glorious. The granola itself is worth the trip. Exaggeration? No. I would ( & often do) recommend the Bath Street Inn to anyone who is looking for a soul-refreshing get-away.

  • Liked — The whole B & B experience.
  • Disliked — Small private bathrooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Purchase granola to take home.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank retireyoung99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

No love for this B&B. Stayed in a room in the front of the house during the recent July heat wave in California. We were given a decrepit table fan which was on its last legs and did nothing to cool the room. Shower was also literally in the room next to the bed which added to the heat in the room when used. The bathroom was small and cramped and had a foul odor upon arrival. B&B food was OK but there many other much better B&B's in Santa Barbara. Save your money.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciblex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathStreetInn, Deborah Gentry, Owner at Bath Street Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2006
We’re sorry that these guests were so unhappy when they stayed with us. While the heat wave took Santa Barbara by surprise (our average temperature for July is normally 77 degrees) we own many fans (none of them decrepit) including box fans and would have been happy to give them a box fan, or, even better, put two fans in the room to cool it off more quickly, had they let us know they were dissatisfied. The year round cooling ocean breezes and our moderate climate mean that air conditioning is typically only used in some business and professional offices here. These folks stayed in the 1890s house and we do rely on fans and cross ventilation in our historic buildings and, for that matter, the majority of homes in Santa Barbara.

When we confirmed their Hotels.com on-line reservation for a Jacuzzi room, we indicated which room we had reserved for them so they could look it up on our website if they wanted additional information. The room they had reserved does have a double Jacuzzi and shower in the bedroom area as is the case with other B&Bs in town. Many couples find this setting romantic. The room was remodeled in January of this year. Also, because guest comfort and cleanliness is so important to us, we put considerable effort to ensuring that every room is attractive, clean and sanitary. Consequently, it is hard to believe that there was an odor problem with the bathroom. However, if the guests had brought that to our attention, we would have promptly remedied the situation. Believe it, we have plenty of cleaning products at the inn.

As other reviews show, most guests think our food is excellent; it takes a lot of positive comments before a recipe for a dish makes it into our permanent menu. Our reviews do show that we are among the highest lodging providers in the area.

We know that we cannot please all of the people all of the time and when it is clear that we are just not a match for guests’ expectations we don’t get huffy. We simply refund their money, release them from the reservation, and help them to find something that is better for them if we can. We love Santa Barbara and we really do want people to enjoy it, no matter where they stay. It’s a pity these folk didn’t speak up, because the experience they desired was within their power to obtain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2006

The inn was spotless, charming and very comfortable. The staff
members were so sweet and the breakfasts were delicious!!! I loved sitting on the backporch sipping on coffee and eating some of the great sweets that were left out for guests in the afternoon and all night, in case of overnigh hunger. The wine and cheese in the late afternoon was a very special treat and allowed time for guests to visit. It was a bed and breakfast that had different tables for guests so that we had the option of visiting or not. The location was a bit of a walk to the shopping district on State Street but it was quite close to bus service. Lovely experience. RH

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank rfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 July 2006

My wife Carol and I stayed at the Bath Street Inn (1720 Bath Street) in Santa Barbara, California while I was attending a conference. Our entire week there was heavenly. Hosts Marie and Deborah treated us like family. The Inn was immaculate. The breakfasts were outstanding. Fresh baked cakes (I loved the Apple Cinnamon, it was so moist) and cookies were set out every evening in case we got hungry at Midnight or 2:00 a.m. (Of course, I was always sound alseep by 2:00 a.m., the beds were so comfortable.) I cannot describe how comforting it is to sit on the back patio and catch the aroma of fresh pears being poached in apple cider and spices--a real breakfast treat. Fresh-baked banana muffins, too. Lots of flowers. Lots of peace and quiet. Best of all, Marie and Deborah. They are angels. Stay at the Bath Street Inn once and you'll never stay anywhere else. Carol and I have already made reservations for next year. It's as close to heaven as you can get without an invitation. Pat & Carol Fagan, Newburgh, Indiana

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2006

My husband and I had the best B&B experience ever at the Bath Street Inn. We saw a write-up about it in the Alberta Motor Association magazine and knew we had to stay there. Wonderful, warm reception on arrival followed by tea, cookies, cake and the best lemonade! We were going to a concert at the Santa Barbara Bowl and didn't have time for supper but the wine and cheese were more than enough to see us through. Super comfortable bed and the breakfasts were fantastic, especially the homemade granola. Although I couldn't get the recipe, I did bring home a pound of it which we are rationing to make it last as long as possible. This B&B takes service to the next level and we can't recommend it highly enough. Do yourself a favour and stay there. You will love it!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RichardinDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheshire Cat Inn
Cheshire Cat Inn
#1 of 18 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Street Inn

Property: Bath Street Inn
Address: 1720 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bath Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Street Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing