We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Casa Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Del Mar
Ranked #8 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

It all about the location! Walking distance to the beach and plenty of restaurants around. It's just a bike ride away to State Street where the shops and boutiques are.

This B&B is nice and quaint. The property is clean and well maintained. The rooms are small but nice, with clean sheets and soft pillows. They serve wine and cheese every afternoon, which I think is a wonderful touch. The breakfast on the other hand is mediocre at best. Just your typical bread and jam, coffee, banana, juice...

Overall, we had a great stay and would come back here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank deelynn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    121
    52
    10
    8
See reviews for
45
138
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

There is a lovely ambience to this place. The courtyard is very pretty and well kept, and we enjoyed the complimentary Californian wine and cheese before heading out to dinner. The man on reception (wish I'd got his name!) was really helpful as we had a million questions about the area!

We stayed in September so weren't too affected by the heat issue. However, the rooms are quite small, and I realised how important a full length mirror is to me, since there isn't one anywhere in the room or bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, and I appreciated the magazine about the area provided, and good quality bathroom products.

Location is great - so near the wharf and beach. It was a shame that it wasn't walking distance to the main action, but you can't have it all!

Room Tip: I would maybe prefer up from ground floor so I could open the blinds (privacy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel is nice enough( good linens, comfortable beds) but the room we booked was a king with a balcony. The hotel advertisement says they have a shared balcony but actually it was only one small table & 2 chairs between two rooms. Our "balcony" was a walkway that the other room used to get to their table & chairs. We ask about this and they said that's just how it was and would not move us to a different room. They also did not offer to provide additional chairs our table for us.
The location is great but this hotel is overpriced.

Room Tip: Room 25 was the closest to the ocean & had the "shared balcony" with the table & c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCMGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fornebu, Akershus, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A resident of Oslo, Norway, I spend several weeks each fall at CDMI. This year was my 10th anniversary there. I have tried a couple of other neighboring hotels when CDMI has fully booked. I love CDMI because of the vicinity to the beach, pier and harbbor, the cozy atmosphere, very nice staff, nice and clean rooms, social wine & cheese happy-hours and ok breakfast. I feel safe there, and hardly ever get disturbed by noisy people during the nights. No swimming pool, but 2 min walk to the beach. A nice patio. I can definitely recommend this hotel - my home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We frequent this hotel regularly because we have dogs and they are really dog friendly. The location is very nice because it is very close to the beach and State street. The staff is for the most part very friendly. Once in awhile, there seems to be a frustrated front desk person. This was not the case with my last visit. Everyone was great! Although, the rooms are basic, they do vary. Some rooms are terribly simple, so I would suggest an upgrade for a room with a king bed.The bathrooms are clean but they have issues. Only soap and shampoo from dispenser in shower bath tub area. The hair dryer are the mini types. Toilets sometimes sound that they may get clogged. Minimal amount of towels.
Some the rooms have TV sets the size of a computer screen. Rooms have large metal keys an Last time our room was facing the street. I would not feel safe leaving valuables in the room, because I think it could be easily broken into In general, unless you budget more than you usually do for a hotel room, Santa Barbara hotel rooms tend to be very basic and a little out dated.. There are very few 4/5 star hotels that are close to the action and do not cost a lot of money $250 and up. Most hotels require 2 day stay on the weekends.

Room Tip: I 2nd floor rooms. are little quieter than first floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlenelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very close to the wharf and to the beach the hotel offers a really good location to stay in Santa Barbara. Our room was pretty good and when arrived we had the chance to enjoy the aperitif with wine and cheese they offer to their guests. Maybe a bit expensive like everything else in SB.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in August 2013 on a west coast road trip. On arrival we were very pleasantly surprised, super friendly staff and a beautiful boutique hotel. Plus wine and cheese every evening for guests to enjoy! Each room has its own entrance from the street and there is a charming courtyard for guests to sit in and enjoy. The rate was high compared to other areas we had stayed but all accommodation in Santa Barbara is high. Free wifi and buffet breakfast. The room was decorated beautifully and well maintained. Excellent location right next to the beach and a short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar

Property: Casa Del Mar
Address: 18 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3803
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Casa Del Mar Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing