We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely basic hotel right off the beach”
Review of Casa Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Del Mar
Ranked #9 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in Room 27 for one night in February. It's a Queen room with an entrance right off of Mason. The room itself felt like a studio cottage minus a kitchen. Very cozy, modern, clean and quiet. AND NO CARPET! YAY! The sink was located in the bedroom. The bathroom had a window, towel rack, toilet and shower. The bed was super comfortable. One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Absolutely loved the bed.

Reception closes at 10pm. But This wasn't a problem as I didn't have any issues after hours. Every room has it's own entrance, apartment style, so the early closing doesn't affect your ability to come and go as you please.

The wine and cheese hour was nice. Didn't partake in the breakfast. The wifi was secure.

If you're expecting a Four Seasons type experience you should look elsewhere. This hotel was clean, well maintained, but very basic. There was nothing posh about it. Other than perhaps the bed. The price reflects the fact that the hotel is located near the beach in Santa Barbara. Santa Barbara is EXPENSIVE.

There is no swimming pool.

The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. There were a few fountains and lots of trees and flowers.

The location is good, but not excellent. There are no balconies over looking the sea or overlooking anything for that matter. It's about a block off of Cabrillo which is the beach road. So you can easily walk down there in about 3 minutes to sit on the beach near the harbor. Lower State is about a 15 minute walk. I took cabs everywhere 'cause I'm lazy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RestlessRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay, staff very friendly and welcoming. Wine and cheese in afternoon, milk and cookies later! Nice breakfast. Also a free bottle of champagne! Best were free bike use to ride down to beach. Only negative is that the hotel is quite a distance from beach area and shops; long walk but a nice bike ride

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Casa Del Mar Inn is certainly ideally located, however, it does not offer the amenities I expected given the price we were paying. For example, there are only a few dedicated parking spots. Otherwise, you are on your own to locate street parking and must get a parking pass from them early Saturday morning if you don't want to get towed. Secondly, there was no air conditioning. Thankfully this ended up not being a problem because the weather was cool. It did make me nervous sleeping with our first floor windows wide open, though, in a city I was unfamiliar with. The rooms themselves were sparsely decorated, which is fine with me. They had everything you need - bed, small fridge, hair dryer, iron. The morning buffet was plain continental. No frills there. We chose to go out to eat instead. I have no plans on returning to Santa Barbara any time soon and if I did, I would probably try out another one of the many many choices of hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The privacy here is amazing! So quaint, cozy and quiet, perfect for the Business Traveler. The layout of the rooms facilitate a great work environment. Beds are comfy, everything is pristine. Liked it so much I booked another week! Really glad my co-worker referred me to this hidden Gem!

Room Tip: The Courtyard King is an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OHopke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We arrived from the train and were tired as we had been travelling all day. Lizzie who was on reception was very welcoming and answered all our questions fully.
It is a lovely hotel with lovely rooms and a beautiful courtyard area. The breakfast is just what you want and the evening reception of wine and cheese is a fantastic bonus.

We had a lovely stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maurren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Recently stayed overnight at the Casa Del Mar Hotel. Only a 5 minute walk to the waterfront and a 10 minute walk to State Street and all the shops and restaurants that line that street. The hotel was clean and the room was large (as was the bathroom). There was no problem with noise even though the entrance to our room was on Bath Street. The breakfast was fresh and enough to get you going for the day. Located in a convenient spot in Santa Barbara and not too far away from anything. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsettingaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

It all about the location! Walking distance to the beach and plenty of restaurants around. It's just a bike ride away to State Street where the shops and boutiques are.

This B&B is nice and quaint. The property is clean and well maintained. The rooms are small but nice, with clean sheets and soft pillows. They serve wine and cheese every afternoon, which I think is a wonderful touch. The breakfast on the other hand is mediocre at best. Just your typical bread and jam, coffee, banana, juice...

Overall, we had a great stay and would come back here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank deelynn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar

Address: 18 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3803
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £106 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Casa Del Mar Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing